Sort:  

WEEHOO! The world traveller is settling down :) Why the move to Georgia? Washington State too boring?
Remix: as it says in the title... 'tripping'. Nice one :)

Washington state was great, but I picked a job in the military that was good for my career and sets me and my family up for the next phase in my life. The one where I'm pulling a pension from the military at 39.

39 and pension! weehoo! 🥳 that's so early in life... I did something wrong, for sure 😂

Military pays out a pension when you retire if you pass 20 years in. It took a while to get there, but I'm 3 years away from retiring from the military and can't wait to start a normal job.

owww really, you have to serve 20 years for a pension. euhm, that s different in my country. by law any employee gets a pension, ie the employer (that includes state employers like the military) needs to pay into a pension plan. that's next to the state pension every citizen receives. Cool you are so close to the milestone!

It's kind of complicated. I'm grandfathered into an older version of a military pension which pays you half of your base pay monthly for the rest of your life, which still adjusts for inflation over time. Right now that would be roughly 3k a month in passive income. It's not enough to flat out retire, but it's essentially an additional 36K annually to add to whatever job I get after this.

Like, I could go into the nuances of it, but if I retire at 39 I could bring in close to 80K annually just going to school full time when those benefits pay out, which would be pretty nice if I want to pursue my masters.

But younger people joining the military don't get that benefit, they get a 401K style matching pay in, which has it's own set of pros and cons.

Like I said, complicated. Either way, I'm pretty happy to move onto the next thing.

WOW! that grandfather thingy you are part of, sounds much better than what we have in my tiny country. That said, at some point in time our military doesn't have anything to protect anymore, when our dykes break, putting (almost) the entire country under water 😂😂😂

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more