The dilemma of making music that your parents do not like

in #music6 years ago

Hello everyone, first of all, I want to introduce myself, I'm Isa Díaz, I'm currently doing Rap and R & B, I compose and produce Beats.

In this post I want to deal with a topic that to all of us who make music has caused us problems; parents and their hatred towards the music we do, when I was 15 years old (today I'm 26) I started writing songs, I wrote them without the help of an instrument, I just thought "I wish it would sound like this" and recorded them with any device that offered that possibility; from one day to the next and influenced by my rock friends, I started listening to Rock, it was the first encounter I had with my parents, they already know demon music, rebels without cause and so on, I started with the idea of an alternative rock band, crazy, it seemed that my parents hated me during all that time, can not you make music more cheerful? It was one of the questions they asked me, I was thinking, Why would I have to do something just to please them? I love my parents, but they already know "Do what makes you happy and not the rest" so, I lived my rock stage to the fullest, metal bracelets, black clothes, the dark girl, the anarchist.

In 2012, at the age of 21, things changed, I still love Rock, those of us who fell in love with that genre know that it never disappears, but I decided to start listening to other things, that's how I came across Rap, another highly criticized genre. , so go from the diabolic girl to the delinquent girl in a matter of seconds, usually these words describe individually to each gender that I mentioned, the fight began, you're rapper, that's not for women, all rappers consume drugs , you will not get far, anyway. Unlike the previous stage, I was not 15 years old but 21 and that helped me a lot, because I understood how to act before the judgments of my parents, I understood that they did not hate me and I should not seek to contradict them at all costs, it is more about making them understand that you are good or good and regardless of what you do, they will admire you and believe in you.

With the above I want to get to the following: If you are young and your parents hate your music, do not see them as enemies, we have sometimes judged based on what the world says about something, that happens to our parents, so my advice is, show him that what you do is not a game, that you are serious, and sooner or later they will respect you. Today I can tell you that I am a rapper whose parents support 100%, they want to listen to my songs, they want to read my lyrics, it was not difficult I only showed them my determination to do what I love, and that it was not about doing what they hate . Today I can do Rock or Rap and they would respect me in the same way.

Do what you love, not what others suggest and then your music will be the best ...

A hug, blessings.

forgive my english, I try to do my best