How music changed my life

in #music6 years ago (edited)

"To send light into the darkness of men's hearts - such is the duty of an artist." - Robert Schumann

pexels-photo-164821.jpeg

Photo courtesy of Pixabay

music
noun
vocal or instrumental sounds (or both) combined in such a way as to produce beauty of form, harmony, and expression of emotion.

melomania
noun
an inordinate liking for music or melody, excessive or abnormal attraction to music.

"Music is my lifestyle" isn't just a quote anymore

Music surrounds us everywhere and that gives us reason to believe that it's quite an important part of our lives. I have never been able to live without it, even if I really tried, because my whole family consists of musicians. My mother is a very good singer, my brother plays the guitar quite well (although he is bad at keeping tempo), my grandfather played the accordion like an above-average unknown man from the pub (I'm sure you've heard one in your life). Likewise, I had to adapt to being a hobby-musician as well - that led me to singing and I play about three instruments (not perfectly, but it's the thought that counts). I also spend most of my day listening to all types of music.

"You can sing? Prove it!"

Please don't do that to me. I am a part of my school's choir, which dates back quite some time. I am a tenor I, which means I am one of the highest male voices in the choir. And since there aren't many tenors in our choir... it's a special feeling! I have been in a children's choir and now it's a high school choir.
koor2.jpg

A picture from a concert in November.

"You can play three instruments? Prove it!"

Actually, let's say I can play one instrument and learning the two others. I sadly had to quit children's choir in 3rd grade, because I got attached to something even more fun - the orchestra! For 10 years now, I have been playing the tuba in various orchestras.
tuuba.jpg

It's a darn big wind instrument, I know. If you get rid of the twists and twirls, this long piece of brass tubing is about 5.5 meters long! And it weighs about 15 kilograms... you can imagine a 150cm tall boy playing it in 5th grade...

So! Tuba is my main instrument... but what else do I play? I am learning trombone right now, which is this weird wind instrument as well... I also try to play a bit of guitar, but I fail miserably. It's okay though, it's the thought that counts.

Why does music help us feel better sometimes?

Researchers have found that listening to music releases dopamine levels. Dopamine is this little hormone-thingy, that makes us feel. Actions such as sleeping and eating increase our dopamine, which usually makes us just... feel a bit more. So basically, music makes us feel less stressed because of our dopamine levels. That is why sometimes even sad music can help us feel better, but at the same time may also make us feel sad and depressed.

My point is - keep listening to music! It's going to help you out one day.

I'll just link some of my favourite songs at the moment (they change quite frequently...)! What are some of yours? Give me links down in the comments and I will honestly comment on them!

Beatenberg - Ithaca

Childish Gambino - Redbone

Nafets - Needles

Sort:  

My favourite all time song (so far):

I feel like that would be a really good song to exercise to or for some hardcore gaming! Love it! Thank you for your answer!

Congratulations @jibspark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!