COVER TIME: obscure Sixpence None the Richer song

in #music6 years ago (edited)

One of my favourites! I listened to this record on repeat after acquiring a hand me down copy from my aunt when I was in my early teens. I loved every song.

At the time, it was still early internet days-ish, so I couldn't find the lyrics to this one (for some reason they weren't in the insert?). So I listened to it on repeat until I had them down! I still probably have that piece of paper somewhere..

It's so easy to learn songs now as they are so available online. Some of you on here don't even remember days like that! This isn't perfect, but it was fun to incorporate some of the quirky progressions.

It's been really cool learning a bunch of my old favourites to post for you all here. It struck me today how so much of my enjoyment and work over the years was in preparation to have so much material ready to go for the right time. I love sharing all of these with you, and singing for you.

Lyrics below.

"I Can't Catch You" by Sixpence None the Richer

I guess you could say I'm a little afraid
What if you go away? I've seen it before,
I've been here before.
If I have to love myself, tell me how to love myself.
What's there to love about myself?
I just wan't to see that as a person you want me.
But I'm feeling the pain of all these bags in the way,
And I'm thinking you're just gonna run away,
And I can't catch you.

I guess I would say that I want you to stay
'Cause you have this strange knack,
Adds a glow to my black as you chase it all away.
And I hope that you can see I will someday leave these things.
I am waiting to be free.
But I'm feeling the pain of all these bags in the way,
And I'm thinking you're just gonna run away,
And I can't catch you.
Oh, I want to catch you.

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
P.S. If you'd like to hear me sing, here is a cover of a Sarah McLachlan song, or a recent original I wrote just for my Steemit audience.

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

yes!! Loving your covers! Keep them coming! I haven't heard sixpence in so long!

Great song, it’s so hard to play & sing at the same time! I’ve been wanting to pick up playing again for some time now!

Yeah, honestly I used to think it was impossible, but the more you do it.. it comes! It is a great song :). One of my old favourites.

i love your voice! ;)

Thank you! :)

You have a very beautiful voice. Great choice for you to sing. I will check out some of your other posts. <3

Thank you! I appreciate that! :)