Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Day 4 – my focus is on family and NZ music

in #music6 years ago

Carrying on with @jokossita’s music challenge that I came across on a post by @ravenruis. What will I come up with today?

If you missed the first part of this challenge, you can find it here.

music-challenge.jpg

First of all, I’m backtracking, and revisiting DAY 3

@trevor.george shared a humorous take on Ten Guitars by Billy Connelly (dontcha just love Billy?), which I’m going to repost here, for those of you who visited before Trevor’s comment and missed it.

Once you’ve listened to it, you’ll know why I got thinking about yodelling. And the (older) kiwis amongst you will probably immediately think of our beloved Topp Twins – musicians, country singers and comediennes, all rolled into one delightful kiwi package.

How this relates to Day 3, and music that reminds me of Mum, is that Mum and her BF Gail went to see the Topp Twins in concert last year, and said they were fabulous. I know a little bit of yodelling goes a very long way, but hey, it’s only 2.5 minutes of your life and I wanna see a smile on your dial afterwards.

DAY Four: A song that your brother or sister replayed over and over

Going back into the annals of time, I remember a song that @andysantics48 used to like a lot and I never really got it at the time. But it grew on me. I wonder if she remembers it as a favourite? Yello with Oh Yeah from the album Stella.

Then I had to cheat a bit and ask her what kiwi artists are her favourites. (It was that or wildly guess.) Right now, it’s the duo Broods. Their whole album is great, but her favourite is Four Walls. I hadn’t come across them before, but I’m glad I asked! Enjoy.

Flying off on a tangent, as I’ve been known to do in my music posts…

Although I love singing, I am by no means a soloist. But in my family there are some talented musicians, and since we’ve been talking about family, I want to share some of their work.

Our niece Laura has a beautiful singing voice, and every time we hear her sing @andysantics48 and I cry. This is one of her performances while she was doing her degree in musical theatre at NASDA, NZ’s National Academy of Singing and Dramatic Art.

This is only one of her talents, and we need her here on Steemit, right?

Moving on, my cousin Helen is a renowned NZ composer. Her style is modern classical, which I don’t have the musical capacity to appreciate. More of a rock chick myself. But for those of you who might appreciate it (possibly only @cmp2020) here is "Zingaro" by Helen Bowater, performed by Giselle Hillyer, violin, at the University of Idaho, November 2013

Her brother David is also a musician and back in the 70’s was in a band called Schtüng. They put out an album in 1977, which again I didn’t get at the time. But revisiting this particular song 40 years later, I now appreciate it.

Morton Wilson (guitars) ~ Andrew Hagen (keyboards) ~ David Bowater (saxophones & flutes) ~ Geoff Bowdler (drums & percussion) ~ Paul Jeffery (lead vocals, additional keyboards) ~ Rob Sinclair (bass). Yep, that gorgeous sax sound is my cuzzie {bathes in reflected glory}.

That’s more than enough to be going on with. Maybe some more tomorrow…

Thanks for reading and listening

@jokossita’s Day 4 post – which includes my favourite Stones song – Paint It Black
@jokossita’s most recent music challenge post
@ravenruis’s Day 4 post
@ravenruis’s most recent challenge post

My previous music posts

Benefits of joining a community choir ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~
Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014 ~
60 years of my favourite music – some randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – more randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – Kiwi classics ~
My choir singing on the streets of Wellington ~
Some New Zealand music ~
60 years of music - Musicals I’ve been in ~
Hang out in my kitchen this weekend - help me cook and listen to some music!
What Steemit friends are for
Rest in Peace Dad, and some music to remember you by
Summer music routine for my arthritis class

Videos from Youtube

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location. Remember to use “kiwi” as one of your tag words on posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

I have Paint it Black on my car playlist, I love it too!!! And I also loved Oh Yeah. You have a very talented family. I don't have an ounce of talent in me, but my sister and niece (and even her husband) who live in NZ now have it in spades. They have done quite a bit of musical theatre.

We talked about your sister way back when we first met here, didn't we? I think you posted about how hard it was when she left? But I can't remember where she lives. Was it somewhere in the South Island?

PS I'm sure you just have different talents :-)

She lives in Auckland :)

Your neices voice is incredible :O and that sax is really lovely it makes me melt! Wow your family is mega talented!!!

Yep, Andrea & I wish we got some of it! That means a lot coming from an artist like you.

yip still like Oh Yeah and Broods really need an audience! Laura still makes me cry every time I listen to that. I so want her to sing more!

I've been trying to get her on here with her fitness info, but there is such a strong music community here, she could fit right in there too.

love song challenges.Lovely post thanks for sharing this valuable post.

Song challenges are best if you actually listen to the music. Thanks for the upvote and comment, but please do go and enjoy some of them.

music makes my mood come alive. when sad I can calm down. sometimes when happy I need music as consolation.

Yes, music is wonderful like that. Do any of these songs affect you?

yes, remember the beautiful things. this is very beautiful. if you are happy with me please vote. Thanks you

Gosh, I didn't realise the Topp Twins were still touring.

I used to live near their family home/farm, and even visited their old house a couple of times (long after they'd moved away).

I must go through your 60 years of music lists some time. I bet there's some fab stuff in there. I'm a rock chick too! :D