HANSON... & my Girlfriend visit London

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Thumbnail.jpg

My girlfriend @queensteem recently came to visit me in London as she lives in Cyprus. She was also to be celebrating her birthday on this weekend so I thought I’d put in the extra effort to be romantic and make it extra special for her.

The weekend started off with me finishing work on Friday evening and heading to Marks & Spencer’s to pick up some late night snacks that I know she loves, as I would be picking her up at 2am on Saturday morning and knew she would be hungry by the time we got home. I also picked up a dozen roses and had the idea to place them on the bed in a heart shape to surprise her with.

20170609_231245.jpg

At 11pm I left the house and took the underground to pick her up at the airport. She arrived just after 2am and we took an Uber back to my place. She loved the heart shaped roses I laid out on the bed for her and the snacks I got her (she’s a big Lasagne fan).

20170610_013700.jpg

So the next day we entered the centre of London and headed off to Harrods to buy her a birthday present. She really wanted a Michael Kors handbag so this was the chosen birthday present that I bought her.

So later that evening was the big surprise and reveal which she had no idea about. Months earlier I had bought tickets for us to see her childhood heroes and all-time favourite band… HANSON. You may recall the heart-throb sensations who had the hit MMMBop.

Now I’ve been told she was completely obsessed with them and had their posters all over her wall. Her dad had told me she even used to kiss the posters goodnight before she went to sleep lol!

So we got outside the venue and she saw a huge line of people and said “What’s going on over there” – I panicked as I didn’t want to ruin the surprise, luckily there was a big red bus blocking the venue’s entrance which had in big letters HANSON.

I told her to turn her back as this was the surprise, I waited for the bus to move away… revealing in bold letters HANSON and then told her to turn around. She was in complete shock, I expected her to go crazy and start screaming as she is very loud and wild… but she was just in shock and couldn’t believe it.

20170611_183550.jpg

I was seriously embarrassed to be at Hanson, but after seeing how many other guys were there too with their girlfriends, I soon got over it… and I have to admit HANSON were great! When they came on I finally got to hear the crazy screams and wild excitement from my girlfriend I was expecting earlier.

HANSON’s performance was amazing and I was seriously impressed with their musicianship. Their set was so tight, not a single note played wrong or sung out of key… they even switched up instruments continuously and each brother would play the other brothers instrument.

All in all it was a great weekend and I’m glad to have given that memory to my girlfriend.

Sort:  

that was so awesome and very thoughtful of you. I hope she appreciated it.

ah thanks @faithmade yeah she loved it!

@queensteem is a very lucky lady. Ha ha. Awesome surprise @leelektrik. ;)

She must realise! haha @owenkay

<3 One of the best memories of my life and truly the best birthday surprise ever... thank you @leelektrik!!

It was also funny that same morning of the surprise I brought them up and was playing their songs whilst we were having breakfast, completely oblivious to what was coming later that day, and then I said "hmm I wonder if they still do any gigs" and you smoothly changed topic and stopped me from looking online!! haha

Best post yet <3 love you xxx

Awww thanks my love :D glad it was one of your best memories of your life @queensteem... Love you

This post received a 4.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @deimus! For more information, click here!

Haha, I can't believe you actually went to Hanson. Thanks for posting

Hanson rock ok! @deimus

Very lucky lady to be spoilt like this @leelektrik - Memories make the best gifts - well done

and I'm very lucky to have a mother like you :D @pandamama