My Guitar Journey: #2

in #music7 years ago (edited)

After @elementm from steemit recommended me an app called Yousician made for learning guitar and other instruments, I decided to give it a try. The app has been super good so far, it's helped me practice with frets and learning how to read music, so thank you for the suggestion! If anyone else has any recommendations for apps, tutorials, or the likes then please comment below!

Also, I was lent another guitar which is this electric acoustic one! Haven't tried it out yet though!

Sort:  

When I started learning guitar there wasn't much for computer programs out yet. I printed off tabs and had binders and binders full of paper to learn songs. I would use cassette tapes and have to rewind the tricky parts trying to figure out how the tablature corresponded to the music.
Then I discovered Guitar Pro in the early 2000's. This program made a big difference in my playing as well as writing music. Back then it sounded horrible but allowed me to repeat sections of songs on repeat so I could practice them and change the tempo if they were too difficult at full speed.
The price has gone up since I first bought it (now $75) but it is worth the investment if you are serious about learning guitar. It's still my go-to program for learning a cover song and great for writing down riffs and writing your own songs so others can learn them to play along. You can find most songs for guitar pro now and each song displays the tab for all instruments(usually). And the sound of the instruments has made huge improvements with their realistic sound engines.
There is a trial version available too so you can always try it out. I start by playing along with the program and then when you think you've got your part down you can mute it on the program and continue to play along with the rest of the instruments.

Ah thanks so much for the suggestion! I'll try checking it out :)

@elementm has entered and earned some steem on Open Mic here. Perhaps you would like to join us and play something.