You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DSound: The launch, what's new now that the 1st alpha is closed and the FULL decentralization of it

in #music7 years ago

some feedback:

I'm a DJ/producer who is interested, though not so technically-inclined on the matter of these back-end blockchain details...

Is there currently a quick-start guide for people like me?

If not, may this inquiry be inspiration to put one into action.

as this is just starting out, and mostly serving a very small niche who's already into Steemit and the technicals of it, it'd be great to get together some info simplifying the process of getting up and running for non-Steemian artists explaining what the platform is, how/why they'd benefit from joining it, and how to get started quickly & easily.

of course, adoption rate is key to this project's success. such a "DSound for dummies" overview would surely help that...

Sort:  

Right now my introduction post is the closest I have to your suggestion:
https://steemit.com/music/@prc/introducing-dsound-a-decentralized-sound-platform-using-steem-and-ipfs
But your idea is interesting for future implementation, thanks a lot! ;)

ok. so I just attempted uploading my first track to Dsound. Denied.

I get the message, "Can't upload the file. Please check your IPFS settings."

As mentioned, I'm not fluent in the technical details of blockchain stuff. Thus, I really have no fucking clue how to even begin interpreting this message.

I'm accessing the site from Safari... does this perhaps only work with Chrome or other browsers?

Do I need to install some other software to enable IPFS?

Absolutely stuck.

And, I just checked the IPFS settings from the top right drop-down menu, says it's offline, and linking through to the document - though with no background in computer coding, running nodes, etc, I'm really confused as fuck looking at this - and am sure I wouldn't be the only one who decides to quit here rather than try figure it out.

Not expecting you to walk me through the entire process here, as that is my responsibility to figure out at this point. However, just offering this as user feedback.

As much as I wanted to try get this running, looking at these tech instructions makes my head spin. As the site states, "We are working to make this process as easy as possible." Though just wanted to provide this perspective from an actual user to give an proper of what a huge obstacle this is to growing a userbase of musicians/DJs/producers until a simple, straightforward process is introduced to help the site's users get their content uploaded as easily as Soundcloud...

Thanks a lot for your feedback! It is very important to have your information so that I can focus on the right stuff to make it better! :) As you may imagine, I don't control the IPFS network and there maybe down times or some network problems that will only manifest in certain parts of the globe and not in others... This will only beat soundcloud ease of upload when everyone will be able to run their on IPFS node. But that is still to come. I am working on a desktop app that will configure and run IPFS without any user intervention. You will just download it, install it and you're good to go. That is the objective to stop having these problems with public gateways to IPFS, which may have peak times and prevent people from accessing them. Thanks for your understanding and keep tuned for the release of the IPFS helper app (doesn't have a name yet...) ;)

Ok, so for clarification:

Would I have gotten the error message because the system was down and it should usually be straightforward and simple to upload?

Or is one required to actually install an IPFS node first in order to upload?

Yes, it should be straightforward to upload, even without IPFS installed locally.
No, you are not required to install IPFS locally, although it is recommended and would represent a smoother and faster upload experience...
When I have the IPFS helper app I'll post about it and you all may experiment it if you feel like. ;)