DSound: The launch, what's new now that the 1st alpha is closed and the FULL decentralization of it

in #music7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemian friends!

I wanted to thank all of you that jumped right in and uploaded content to DSound! It was amazing to see great sounds being added on such a cadence! :)

There are really a lot of creative people in STEEM community. My thanks to all of you who believed in this project and embraced it right away!

logo-big.png

The Launch

In every first launch of a new project there are bugs, crashes and complications that make our live as developers really crazy. With DSound it was really smooth, I have to admit! It had a few bugs, of course, we cannot predict everything at our test bed, but I think it went really well and, on those small bugs we found along the way, I had all the people on my side trying to help. This is so fantastic!

Yesterday I considered this first version 0.1.1 closed and this is the official first alpha version of the project!

With all your help I could fix all the major problems in DSound and have a minimum viable product usable by all of us.

Thanks so much to all of you who helped me and put your time trying DSound! :)

What changed behind the scenes

DSound got a server of it's own. Initially it was published in my development server, but now it was moved to its own space in the web.

But that is not all! DSound new home is only a bypass to an IPFS node that caches versions of DSound project and shares them on the IPFS network.

This makes it possible to access DSound in various ways, from many IPFS nodes around the globe. So DSound now is fully decentralised and impossible to stop! :)

Ways to access DSound

The regular way will always be:

https://dsound.audio/

But you can also access it through IPNS (Inter Planetary Naming Service) which glues perfectly with IPFS like this:

https://ipfs.io/ipns/dsound.audio/

or

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipns/dsound.audio/

This means that the domain dsound.audio exports a link to an IPFS peer that hosts the latest version of DSound, and through IPNS it is possible to reach to that peer, by appending /ipns/dsound.audio/, to any gateway in the world! Isn't it awesome?

But both these ways require the use of a domain name, and if there is any kind of pressure from installed corporations to stop DSound, the domain name will be the easiest way to try to stop it. What can we do about it?

Full decentralized access

There are projects already on their way that try to solve this problem, like Namecoin, but right now we will need to go the IPFS way...

So to access DSound from the nearest node that caches the latest version of the application you can use:

https://ipfs.io/ipns/QmbjdbW7D3Zc6AhiF8yQ4P6qpPmtiEZiJ8NS8Z7CVFgcFX/

or just append /ipns/QmbjdbW7D3Zc6AhiF8yQ4P6qpPmtiEZiJ8NS8Z7CVFgcFX/ to your favourite IPFS gateway.

This link will allways point to the latest version of DSound.

Access specific versions of DSound - Full power of decentralization

Each version that is closed is published recursively to IPFS, as a directory in a web server. So each version will have its own IPFS hash and will be accessible as long as there is still a node in IPFS network that caches or pins it. Wow! :)

This means that we will be able to track versions and even check differences along the evolution of DSound project.

So below there is a list of DSound versions up to now and their respective IPFS hashes and links. I will make another post to hold this information permanently on STEEM so that we keep a record of all the versions and as a reference if something happens with the domain or the hosting of DSound.

DSound Versions on IPFS

VersionIPFS Hash link
v0.1.0/ipfs/QmSMruoCXkLJDvcrP8127YUkkjndkpw384SP2r7e98UayK
v0.1.1/ipfs/Qmf6b4SyFi1wYV2zQBVtRL9woAvGYFin2AQiRMe5ff4Hx7

To get any version just append the IPFS hash to https://ipfs.io or https://gateway.ipfs.io or your favourite IPFS gateway.

NOTE: Version v0.1.0 is not showing anything, because of a problem with relative links, but it is there forever on IPFS network...

This is just the beginning... DSound rocks! :)

Sort:  

Do you considering adding steemconnect v2 to your service?

As far as I know steemconnect is centralized, or am I wrong? :) DSound is fully decentralized, that is why I didn't implement search with centralized server...

I apologize but, I still can not upload due to a network connection your site is saying yet I have had no problems uploading any where else so I do not know what to do with this issue, I would love to be able to use the site, and I am not great with computers yet, so if it is something on my end I do not know how to fix it.

Can you please get on steemit.chat on the #dsound channel and post your problem there? It's better there to try to figure out what's happening...

Great work indeed, I have been following DSound keenly and is pretty impressed with the way its growing. Drop me a line on [email protected] I have a proposition I would like to run by you :)

the music began to play only half an hour after publication
https://dsound.audio/#/@romanskv/silent-joy

not enough loop mode or I can't find it

the music is playing after 5 minutes after pressing play, I may have heavy file

The IPFS network has it's own life... Maybe you got some problem between your pc and the node that had that song, or some other network issue. I now opened it in 15 seconds... :) It will get better in the next version with streaming...

thanks man this has been a awesome and easy app. Cant wait to see where it all leads. good things here

Thanks a lot for your support! :) Let's see...

Thanks so much! It's great! I've already uploaded a few tracks. One song today, actually, - if anyone wants to check out my epic / creepy rock song "Stalker". Thanks! :-)
https://steemit.com/dsound/@emmacairo/stalker-emma-cairo-432-hz

Cool!!!
Just tested it - works like a charm.
https://dsound.audio/#/@rainer.kormann/paradise-found-prolog
(german language)

Great! Thanks a lot! :)

Man this is so cool, I've introduced a few freinds to dsound and realy hope they start using it with me.

Thanks a lot! :)

Sounds interesting.
A bit too technical for me.
I eagerly await DSound bein made as simple to use as uploading images to steem are right now.
(it's not is it, or have I missed something)

Sorry for the technicalities... :) The idea is to show everybody that this project is here to stay and will be unstoppable as it is completely decentralized now. Any of those links goes to DSound even with its server shutdown. Isn't this absolutely great? Relating to the integration with Steemit.com, time will tell. Hope that we can work together to make it happen in the future. Many thanks for your words! :)

I think it's great too.
but like i said in my trucking days.
"I'm a DRIVER...not a mechanic!"

as a singer/songwriter always looking for a better way to get my music out there, I must say this is so encouraging!!! Soundcloud hijacked my music then broke the compression code so it sounded like crap when they eventually sent it back to me....uuuugh I was totally discouraged. I am so excited to try this new platform, and socially conscious too?! NO WAY DUDE!!!!

Thank you! :) Please try it and I am sure you'll love it! ;)

Great News - Thanks. Keep on!

Okay so, I am an artist and I do not know the first thing about ipfs, but am highly interested on getting my music on dsound, I already signed up and everything. But my question is do you ever have to use ipfs, or can you always go through the internet to get to it?

Okay now both my songs only play my first song, this is highly weird, I do not know what why it is doing this.????

You don't have to use IPFS to start with DSound. Although it is recommended. But I'll do an app that simplifies the installation and configuration, then it will be so easy that you should start using it to simplify your life... :)

Thank you very much, yea the song finally worked for me on there but something I am not doing right when exporting from lmms into .wav file and it is coming up with static in it, I fix that to some degree, does dsound take .ogg sound files? If so for the moment until I learn more it will do.. and at some point I will learn ipfs also long road ahead tho already haha! thank you again for responding!

Yes, it takes ogg files as well. Thanks a lot! :)

Yea I noticed after I changed it to mp3, I like that better anyways but when I go to publish it, it is telling me that there is an error and to check the network connection, and I honestly do not know which connection it is speaking about?? And my apologies this is most likely basic stuff...

Can you join channel #dsound on steemit.chat and we try to get it working there? Thanks a lot! :)

I really am not attempting to bug you, but I went to @steemit-chat and found dsound but now that is gone. All am looking to do is be able to post music, and I am confused to why I am unable after being able to post songs already, I do thank you for your space on this.

Please check messages on steemit.chat....
I have quite a few songs to upload and until this is figured out I am stuck, and I apologize for posting here, I went to the chat and still am waiting for your response and I do thank you for your time.

Good info @prc

super excited for this - i needed it.

Congratulations on this release. So much great stuff people are creating on this platform!

Thanks! :)

It looks great!!
But how does it work exactly? I log in on dsound with my steemit account, publish my audio there, and then go here and insert it the file/link in a post?

Thank you! :) The post will be generated for you when you publish your sound. It will have a basic layout on STEEM, but if you choose to view it on DSound, then you'll have all goodies like waveform navigation, cover view etc...

Great work! I'm already a big fan of DSound. But I have an issue/suggestion.

When uploading there is the option to enable/disable download or show buy button and give url.

I would love to have the option to change this after uploading. Is it me or is that not there now? If not, will it be there somewhere in the near future?

Thanks!

Thanks a lot! :) Edit posts will be on the next version... For now it is not available.

I just tried to upload a track and I get a 'network connection' error. I obviously have internet, but could it be to do with IPFS? I don't see any options I could change.

Do you have IPFS installed, or just uploading without IPFS locally? Please get to me over the support channel #dsound on steemit.chat and we can check it out together...

I don't have IPFS installed. Will try again and contact you if it still doesn't work

Had some problems uploading songs from mobile phone, but otherwise great application... The only thing missing is a search bar... Check out my article where I talk about DSound, DTube and SteemServer -> The Steem TakeOver! Decentralizing the Web | DSound - Sound | DTube - Video | SteemServer - Hosting

Great post. ..

It works great! I uploaded some tracks last night and with the exception of a few kinks, I was impressed by how smooth the process was being that its still so new. From one artist to another, thank you!!!

Thanks a lot for your words! :)

Awesome work on this platform @prc !

As a long time paying user of Soundcloud I have been waiting patiently for something like DSound to manifest itself.

WaitAlmostOver.jpg

Unfortunately I have encountered a lot of trouble with uploading all of my longer mixes. All my WAV files that are bigger then a certain size seems to crash during the processing part of the upload.

To check if the problem was just with uploading mixes I uploaded a preview of the track I have been producing in my Ableton workflow series for Steemit, and that worked without problems.

I tried taking my shortest chillout dj-set and convert it to mp3 to see if that would help, and it did! But unfortunately I was not able to repeat the upload with any of my other dj-mixes even if I converted them to downsize the file...

As far as i can tell there seems to be a problem when processing sound files that are longer then 1 hour at the moment.
(For me atleast with 64bit win7 8gbram i7 @ 3.4ghz)

Do you have any tips for me? Or should I just wait patiently for a upcoming update?

~ @xtetrahedron

Thanks a lot for your info! :) This version is based on a preload sound engine and that is why it takes so long to start playing large files. Similarly, the processing is also performed on memory, so big files will be decoded in memory and probably use more memory than a tab is allowed by the browser. I'll do my best to avoid that when I develop a streaming sound engine for next version... :)

same issue

Would there be mobile app for Dsound? Would be awesome if it is possible.

It's part of the roadmap... Still without a timeframe... :)

@prc yeah! Why I have never considered that until eventually now. Tend to be the animals immortal in advance of male fully commited sin??? Upvoted.

some feedback:

I'm a DJ/producer who is interested, though not so technically-inclined on the matter of these back-end blockchain details...

Is there currently a quick-start guide for people like me?

If not, may this inquiry be inspiration to put one into action.

as this is just starting out, and mostly serving a very small niche who's already into Steemit and the technicals of it, it'd be great to get together some info simplifying the process of getting up and running for non-Steemian artists explaining what the platform is, how/why they'd benefit from joining it, and how to get started quickly & easily.

of course, adoption rate is key to this project's success. such a "DSound for dummies" overview would surely help that...

Right now my introduction post is the closest I have to your suggestion:
https://steemit.com/music/@prc/introducing-dsound-a-decentralized-sound-platform-using-steem-and-ipfs
But your idea is interesting for future implementation, thanks a lot! ;)

ok. so I just attempted uploading my first track to Dsound. Denied.

I get the message, "Can't upload the file. Please check your IPFS settings."

As mentioned, I'm not fluent in the technical details of blockchain stuff. Thus, I really have no fucking clue how to even begin interpreting this message.

I'm accessing the site from Safari... does this perhaps only work with Chrome or other browsers?

Do I need to install some other software to enable IPFS?

Absolutely stuck.

And, I just checked the IPFS settings from the top right drop-down menu, says it's offline, and linking through to the document - though with no background in computer coding, running nodes, etc, I'm really confused as fuck looking at this - and am sure I wouldn't be the only one who decides to quit here rather than try figure it out.

Not expecting you to walk me through the entire process here, as that is my responsibility to figure out at this point. However, just offering this as user feedback.

As much as I wanted to try get this running, looking at these tech instructions makes my head spin. As the site states, "We are working to make this process as easy as possible." Though just wanted to provide this perspective from an actual user to give an proper of what a huge obstacle this is to growing a userbase of musicians/DJs/producers until a simple, straightforward process is introduced to help the site's users get their content uploaded as easily as Soundcloud...

Thanks a lot for your feedback! It is very important to have your information so that I can focus on the right stuff to make it better! :) As you may imagine, I don't control the IPFS network and there maybe down times or some network problems that will only manifest in certain parts of the globe and not in others... This will only beat soundcloud ease of upload when everyone will be able to run their on IPFS node. But that is still to come. I am working on a desktop app that will configure and run IPFS without any user intervention. You will just download it, install it and you're good to go. That is the objective to stop having these problems with public gateways to IPFS, which may have peak times and prevent people from accessing them. Thanks for your understanding and keep tuned for the release of the IPFS helper app (doesn't have a name yet...) ;)

Ok, so for clarification:

Would I have gotten the error message because the system was down and it should usually be straightforward and simple to upload?

Or is one required to actually install an IPFS node first in order to upload?

Yes, it should be straightforward to upload, even without IPFS installed locally.
No, you are not required to install IPFS locally, although it is recommended and would represent a smoother and faster upload experience...
When I have the IPFS helper app I'll post about it and you all may experiment it if you feel like. ;)

I have a question, how do you take down songs you have put up, for some reason one of my uploads doesn't play but the .wav plays in windows media player, so I do not know why it is not working on dsound?

Right now you can't. Edit and delete will come in a next version. Thanks for your understanding! :)

Also I converted the .wav to mp3 and uploaded it to soundcloud and it worked completely fine so I am confused as to why it does not play...????

@prc Great submit. Hardwork pays a lot more so preserve Functioning tough!.

I see that Steem is getting awesome and more awesome every day. Thanks for creating an audio platform. I got a small problem, I tried to login using my private posting key, but it says ' Cannot read property of Undefined posting.'

Thanks a lot! :) Please try again to login, it may have been something temporary... If not, join me at channel #dsound on steemit.chat and we try to solve it there. :)

hello, i got same issue with message saying : " Cannot read property 'posting' of undefined
" when entering the non encrypted version of the private posting key.

Great job! Resteemed

Congratulations @prc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow! Very interesting. A useful tool for audio, I'll check what I have in my library ☺
Thank you!

Thanks for your work @prc ,this projects is a dream come true for me, i was uploading song since the very beginning, I put to work the ipfs node, so, i just put to share my music from my pc directly, the thing is that i upload all in raw wav files, so, is very slow to another computer to play my music, because i have 600 kbps to upload speed, so i decided to upload only in lossy formats to make possible to anyone to listen my things. I just wonder if there are some way to have some group of people hosting all the ipfs dsound data base to make the system more faster, i guess it gonna reduce the desentralized factor, but if more people have a node with all the database in a memory (like @ipfs01 is doing with dtube) this increase the speed of all the page for all the people. For this i invite to all that have good speed connection to think about the benefit of help this project to grown up faster, blessing and love to the community .

Thanks a lot! :) I'm working on it to have a few nodes with mirrors... But the project and community has to grow and become sustainable. Let's see the evolution. Relating to the slow start of the playback, next version will have streaming for playback, so it will be a lot faster... Thanks for the feedback! :)

great, that will be great! thanks for your work again! and one more question, do you gonna implement some kind of playlist management in the near future?

Yes! That is also part of the roadmap... :)

Congratulations @prc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Piccata? Titicaca! I am Cornholio! I need piccata for my bunghole!

Congratulations @prc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just uploaded a song. LOVE IT.

Thanks! :)

leave a message and an impression ... do not you hold a love to someone because it will kill you ... drifting in solitude for too long ... and difficult to love others .... move on steemian love .. greated @ academix87
https://steemit.com/dsound/@academix87/hidden-love-cinta-terpendam-created-bye-academix87-voc-arr-de-anthony

Really interesting sound...

Do you think with dsound there would be a way to make audio comments and reply to posts with voice. I love the human voice and think having the ability to record my voice and talk directly to a post is very powerful. I experience an amazing community on anchor.fm but the app has now changed into more of a radio and podcast platform and the conversation aspect of it was stripped out. They could not find a way to make money with us just talking to each other. Now that I find the steem platform I think this idea of having a voice conversation can find a home on the Blockchain.
My idea is to have a mix button so when you want to reply with voice to a post you record the audio then it do the major sause to put on dsound and post in audio file link to reply. This can make a post the start of a conversation and the replies can go on making it a place to discuss with the voice instead of typing. The power of the voice to Cary the meaning is much more interesting than a text reply.

Thank you for your hard work on this project I am telling all my friends that love sound about the project.

That's a really interesting idea. I'll think of it and see if it fits... :) Thanks a lot for your words!

@prc Hi, please, send me a reply (minasnar) in chat. I wrote you about this amazing idea.

so cool a platform for musicians that supports musicians

Thanks! :)

Hey man! how does the IPFS settings work? I could not upload anything for IPFS error, I could not see any instructions for that, please help! thanks

I wish that dsound was a bit more clear about licensing. users should be able to choose a license when uploading, so I know if the download is for personal use only, if it could be re-used commercially, or any restrictions the creator might want to use.... I am with @MSP-Waves radio is the reason i ask, and am curious about if a show host is allowed to use some of this music on the air.

http://creativecommons.org has good examples of some licenses including free culture licensing. I would like to see it tied with them, as they keep a database and it would help increase exposure for the artists, if you integrated with them.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment