Esteban is learning piano with an ipad 🎹

in #music β€’ 3 years ago (edited)

I used to play the piano as a kid and was quite good at it till I started having boring old piano lessons in which I had to practice endless scales. After reaching grade 3 I lost interest and haven't much played since then. So I was reticent when I downloaded an app to teach Esteban but was immediately surprised at how much more effective it is than my teachers of old!

IMG_0438.jpg

He progressed so very fast in the first few days, learning how to read five notes.

Naturally the free app locks you off after a certain point and asks for money. Since he seems to enjoy it so much I paid for the unlocked version this morning and he has been playing for the last hour, letting me know instantly it was worth it. Despite being €135 a year.

IMG_0436.jpg

The app listens to the notes he plays and gently corrects him.

IMG_0442.jpg

Each section builds up to a song which he gets choose. He practices until he is content and then plays the final song along with the app. And I must say it sounds really cool!

Today he has been playing songs using both hands, with some quite tricky left hand chords. And I am seriously impressed by how fast this little boy learns.

For those of you wondering, this is the app we are using.

Screen Shot 20210220 at 12.40.35.png

Love & Light everyone 🌱

Sort: Β 

So cool! My five year old is interested in playing but I didn't know how to teach him. An app is a great idea. I'll check out the one you're using. Thank you 😊

I think you will be impressed by how effective these apps can be for such things.

Good luck!

Ohhh... We have this app too. I recently bought a keyboard for the kids and while I know nothing about it, theybhave shown great progress with the help of this app.

Excellent!

We also recently bought the keyboard. For Christmas.

Very sorry for all the piano teachers out there, but this app seems perfectly good as a way to get kids interested in reading music.

Go Esteban!!!
I also used to play piano back in the day. Would LOVE to get one again, but I too also hated the lessons. I always enjoyed learning by ear the most. Woukd come home from college and sit for hours playing. It was complete therapy. I hope he finds a true connection to it, the piano is a beautiful instrument.

ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

It really is therapy isn't it. Same for any instrument really. Even the drums!

I look forward to buying a real piano so that I can dive back in where I left off all those years ago.

Best wishes to you Jaynie :)

Me too!!! Would absolutely LOVE to get another piano.

Wow! Amazing!! This will put piano teachers out of business one day!! LoL

I wish I had the time to learn to play the piano too! Glad to hear that this little kid is so full of surprises!

Have a nice weekend!

If you ever find some free time I highly recommend taking this up!

You will be surprised how much you love it ;)

Yup! I really want to do something with my hands! The piano would be hour for me! It will calm me down!

Wishing that he will grow from strength to strength 😘

Much appreciated :)

Sending hugz

Awesome! If I would have something similar for Spanish ( acoustic ) guitar, back in the days when I had classes ( two decades ago ), it would have saved me from two years of suffering weekly under a boring music teacher, who only taught me the classical way ( reading sheet music ) and never really taught me to improvise, learn chords or actually enjoy playing guitar.

I guess that happens when your parents send you to a place called muziekschool ( music school )


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

haha! Yes, it's funny how school is so good at making sure we don't embrace our creativity, no matter what form it takes. Unschooling and self teaching is the way forward!

Am sure there must be a Spanish guitar app out there somewhere...

haha! Yes, it's funny how school is so good at making sure we don't embrace our creativity, no matter what form it takes

True that. I even remember how I had to drop drawing class after year 1 of high school. It was only for the first year.

Am sure there must be a Spanish guitar app out there somewhere...

Probably. I gave my guitar to my brother in law though ;>)


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Oh, woow sooo cute pictures @samstonehill. I also like to play piano 🎹, when I was in school. Really,loved your post.✨✨✨

Thanks for sharing this fabulous post.πŸ₯°πŸ˜πŸ‘Œ

Have a Great day!

download 1.png

Do you still play?

Yeah, sometimes and I love music 🎢😍✨

Cool!

I love to dance to loud music at the moment. Shortly after breakfast ;)

Nice brother - I am driving the music community here and welcome all your music related posts there if you want.

Appreciate the reminder and great that you are man behind this one now!

I will try and remember to post in the right communities in future....

Yes Yes great, thanks buddy!