You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Music Monday - Feeling Those Goth Vibes in the Month of October

in #music4 years ago (edited)

I had to wiki Switchblade Symphony as I had never heard of them. They are from the US and that's probably why.. during the 90's this was not my kind of music.. it's only in the last few years I started appreciating it.

Speaking of covers.. I prefer The Mission (UK)'s version of the Aerosmith classic 'Dream On'. Again.. Aerosmith were never the force in the UK that they were in the US. As a consequence I heard the Mission version first.

Sort:  

Nice track, thanks for sharing! I think that's the first I've heard of that band. So much music to discover out there, I love it!

I prefer a lot of the stuff that came out of the late 80s and early 90s in this genre. I was more of a heavy metal / punk rock kid around that time but worked in a goth nightclub so a lot of that music really grew on me.

I'm surprised you have not heard of the Mission. They were formed from fragments of The Sisters of Mercy when the band dissolved after their debut album. You will hear similarities in the music. They were the most successful goth band of the times (UK), (late 80's - early 90's), and had a string of singles and albums.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Mission_(band)