Eurovision AFTERPARTY: What is your favourite entry of 2021, or from past decades?

in #music3 years ago

Eurovision - you either know what I'm talking about or you don't :-)

In short it's a yearly contest in which each country sends one song (often selected in a national contest prior to the European one) and compete against each other. Songs can either be in the national language or in the more 'universal' English, songs can be more 'pop/rock' minded or very much embedded from folklore, history and culture of that particular country - and when so many languages and cultural mixes that Europe holds compete against each other you can see why the Eurovision Finale is more or less: CHAOS and extremes.

It's a messy and imperfect yearly musical event where Europeans can be very proud or embarrassed for their country for one evening :-)

I'm not going to go to deep in all the discussions surrounding Eurovision, but there are many controversies surrounding it - from which countries do and don't compete each year, to it being too 'queer' (which is why Hungary didn't compete this year) and it being too political and non-political at the same time.

I just want to have an afterparty - because somehow I enjoyed Eurovision a LOT this year

I'm not a loyal Eurovision fan - some years I end up watching it (maybe because friends watch it and invite me over to watch), some years I don't even know what song has been enter from my own country.

But this year Eurovision was held in my own city, Rotterdam, and so I couldn't really miss it - everyone in my city was talking about it and having some sort of connection to the event. It was held in The Netherlands because during the last contest the Dutch entry won:


[By the way, the time The Netherlands won before THAT song it was decades ago, and the winning song looked like this :-) Much has changed.]


So I watched :-) And it was fun. The show was very tight, the images from my city made me proud, and the songs were more or less good or even great.

And so, if you watched last night as well, I would love to know which song you enjoyed the most!

My personal Top 3



Lithuania made me smile and was just fun without being overdone - Made me smile, also approve of the message ;-)

France was STRONG as hell - it helps if you understand the lyrics but I believe she was able to bring the message regardless.

Kind of a fan of this singer now! Very unexpected entry for Portugal as well :-)

Furthermore I loved Switzerland, Russia, Belgium and probably a few more as well.

Anyway, enough about me: what was your favourite entry of last night, and maybe let's go even further: what has been your favourite entry from the past decades? I would love to extend this Eurovision Feel Good a little while longer!

Sort:  

I didn't watch it, but your post made me curious and I had a look at some of them. My favorite were Ukraine, then Finnland and on the third place Italie or Iceland.

Ukraine was brilliant and actually I noticed that 'the day after' that's the one I play, together with Lithuania :D I think in a week there will be a few left that I keep on playing, probably those were the better songs in hindsight... Those evenings are filled with adrenaline and maybe not the best time to choose :P

Glad you found a few you enjoyed! Italy was definitely a great one, not an undeserved winner, although not my personal number 1, definitely top 5.

I loved Iceland ofcourse! But Germany didn’t do it for me, can’t even explain why :-)

Oh come one, it is super kitsch! So terrible, it is so good!

Hahaha - yes, it was kitch and I loved the uniforms a LOT! Again, I can appreciate the genre but it didn't make me a fan this time :D The Icelandic act grabbed me immediately!

i kinda like these that don't take themselves and the contest to seriously :D

They are definitely my favourites when they do that... I hate the ones that are "Ibiza" party ones with people forgetting to put pants on before going on stage.

Yes, especially the Icelandic one was on point! Nice tune and they were so funny :D

I liked Switzerland and Malta a lot... but also Iceland, Portugal and France... But I will never admit liking France. I just can't

Switzerland was ah-ma-zing! Iceland, Portugal and France too. Malta didn't do it for me but many did like it so I might have missed something :-) And yeah, well, France... I don't like French people but there are French people I like ;-)

Malta was all about the charisma of the singer. She was cheeky and fun and happy... Don't remember the song much ;)

Right! Yes, she was strong and I loved her smile :D

I don't normally watch it, but you guys pulled off cracking show last night. I like Norway actually, pity not many others did. Malta and France were also good.

Commenting from Billy no mates UK 😭 😭 😭

I didn't 'get' the Norwegian act, it reminded me of The Backstreet Boys and all the other boybands in one act :') But it doesn't matter, there's always something for everyone :D Especially France was superb! And yeah, I wasn't impressed by the UK's entry but zero points? Really? The Netherlands had zero points from the public as well but this was a very historically significant song, partly sung in a language that wasn't allowed to be used for a long time! To now have it heard on such a big stage... But can't really blame many people across Europe not understanding the significance. Well :-) I had fun watching!

can you believe that this is the same person that was performing for serbia? shame she really has a good voice.

I couldn't even remember Serbia's song, but OHHH, it was the Hurricane act! Damn. That was horrible :') She is a GREAT singer though! Thanks for sharing her 'actual' music, she's great! Next year she should perform as her authentic self :-)

unfortunately i think she sold her soul

Iceland was probably my favorite and then Ukraine – love that pagan vibe they have going on, the singing feels like it's talking to my ancient ancestors living inside me, haha. The commentator said something that the style is typical amongst some Finno-Ugric groups, that might explain.

Was nice to see that Finland had a decent song there – the 6th position was the second best performance ever after Lordi.

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 38000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 39000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP