The Fierce and the Dead album launch

in #music6 years ago

I posted yesterday about being in Camden for a gig. After I'd posted that I met up with my friend John. We planned to meet at a pub he knows, but it turned out they had run out of beer! There are plenty of other pubs around there, so we found one that wasn't too noisy so we could chat. The first one we tried was packed and had loud music. Machine Head were playing at the Roundhouse, so there were a lot of their fans around.

After a beer we got some curry from a market stall and still had time for another pint before we needed to be at the venue. This was The Black Heart which is tucked down a side street. Outside we found some of the band chatting with punters.

I've met guitarist Matt Stevens several times at his solo gigs and with the band. He used to do stuff with an acoustic guitar and a loop pedal, but I formed The Fierce and the Dead a few years back to take his music to another level. It's all instrumental with a lot of power to get you moving.

Selfie
Myself, John and Matt.

There was a dingy bar inside with the gig venue upstairs. It's all painted black and looks a little rough and ready. The stage was probably no bigger than 12'x8' with the four of them squeezed in. Support was by Mark Buckingham who provided their album artwork. Apparently it was his first ever gig. He reminded me a little of Marc Almond with a quite theatrical style that made use of some props.

Support

We didn't have too long to wait for the main act. There must have been around 200 people squeezed into a space no bigger than my house. I was near the front with a PA speaker just above my head. I bought some earplugs as I expected it to be loud. They played most of the new album as well as some old favourites. I've seen them described as post rock or math rock, but it's just good music to me. Kev on the bass lays down some great grooves and drummer Stuart is just a demon. Their music is remarkably varied.

TFATD

Near the end Matt broke out some beers. I think he was a little nervous and seemed quite humbled by the reception. They have another London gig later in the year. John and I may well be at that.

Beer

Earlier in the day I received my copy of the new album. I went for the special edition with a disc of demos and a signed print.

Album

Here's one of the new tracks. They've done a couple of animated videos for this album. I expect that may be cheaper than live action and there won't be a big budget for promotion.

This is an older track. It says 'lyric video', but there's only two words and that was the only singalong of the gig.

Rock on!

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

That was a great evening! Awesome music from a quartet of lovely gents. And a pleasure to see you as always, Steve.

Likewise. Good to see your account active at last.

The gig I attended last Wednesday had the artists drinking beer throughout the show and dumping it next to their feet. I was wondering if this was part of their 'payment'?

Did the guitarist remember you from the last gigs you saw him at? Its always good if they remember their fans.

I've seen him a few times, so he at least knows my face. These guys didn't have a beer until near the end. They need their wits about them

Didn't know them....Again some new music discovered :)

In the play, Macbeth, the word blood is used more than a 100 times! I had the same feeling with the word beer in this post. Seems like you had a good time!

I only had two pints :) It was great fun. Such a good atmosphere there

1 beer, 2 beers, (he broke out) some beers :)

Beer beer beer! It's really about the music

But they do go well together :)

Looks like a great time.. but how the hell does a pub run out of beer ??😂

I guess they can get busy on a Friday and maybe they were due a delivery. Still sounds like bad planning.

Hello @steevc, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hi steevc

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)
**LEARN MORE:** Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

The album will certainly be a very successful musical indeed
I wish you every success and success

To be candid, I am not familiar with the music but the animated video above is pretty cool. May I ask if there are other videos on YouTube to look out for as I am curious to listen to other sound by them?

I'm not surprised you have not heard of them. Just search for them. They have others linked from their site. Just follow the links

What good music! I feel like I've missed listening to real music

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc with support of @curie.
You may consider voting for the Curie witness; All witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations, including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Hey, @steevc this is wonderful post.thanks for share.this post resteemed.

Please Stop - @alizafatima99

You just said "thanks for share","wonderful post" and in your your last 100 comments you used 44 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 11 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 50.80% and Bot: 6.20%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

wonderful post...

Please Stop - @aiduzzaman

You just said "wonderful post" and in your your last 100 comments you used 45 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 0 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 56.50% and Bot: 1.60%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.