Journal of a RocknRolla: #1 The Hate Club pt.1

in #music7 years ago (edited)


The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.


- Friedrich Nietzsche

In The Red Room


A laptop screen randomly floating over countless of posts on social….you see hypocritical cries uttering their disapproval of yet another riot, all the “thoughts and prayers” flying left and right, damn cat videos, another post to aid people indulging their self-importance and drown in their own pretentiousness…..phonies…


- I can’t look at all this…

- Hmm, look at what?

- At social, and all this travesty of justice and people throwing their “noble qualities” left and right like they’re an act of God to this world…..

- Don't even mention, trying to stay out of it as much as I can….

- …panem et circenses…

- What?

- Bread and circuses…..as long as they’re “entertained”… as for myself I also find comfort in detachment.

- This is because we’re too cool for school.

- Indeed, my darling.


Both laugh…

- Isn't it funny that we both enjoy hating everything that should be loved?

- Whatever becomes too common, soon loses it’s originality…

- You know what we should do?…..Make our own jackets with “The Hate Club” written on the back and walk the streets….being different for the sake of being different, with no purpose, with no aim…

- I’m in….

The Hate Club vs The World


The story skips on a few less poetic remarks made by the people in a dialogue above. Remarks against where humanity is today, but this isn’t politics, I would never want for things to take that direction, this is where people truly lose their heads.

More or less, that was the story behind how I came up with the name for the band. My friend and I were a little drunk and a little high, sitting in a “red room” in Silverlake in Los Angeles….basically, we were talking shit, something all of us enjoy when in a company of a close friend.


“Be different”, - this phrase always echoed in my head, since ever I was a kid. I never wanted to be like everyone else, that seemed quite boring and predictable, seemed like you can read the situation to easily…. Which wasn't always true, sometimes I liked what others liked, but “be different” grew too deep under my skin, and became subconscious….At this point being different means not to lose myself against the endless stream of information that surrounds me.


I don’t want to reply with generic texts….. I don’t want to go through copy/paste interactions with people….
I don’t want to create music that’s been already made….
However, we are a product of past experiences, another equation that is a result of countless of other equations put together…..

But enough of this ADHD stuff. Let’s talk about the band - The Hate Club


During one of my failed management deals I was told to create a profile of who I should be, as an artist. The task was to use only 5 words and then live by it. Naturally, I came up with corny big words like “star”, “incubus”, “icon” and all that crap. Those words never worked…because that’s not what I am.


Soon I realized that as a protagonist the qualities I posses are far from noble standards you see on media and in movies….And so next time I had to describe myself I had to be honest. The Hate Club is an antihero, he’s impulsive, bipolar and narcissistic jester…..a noisy brat.
For someone that is the definition of an "icon", "star", "incubus" and etc... You can't be everything to everyone

I’d like to continue the story of The Hate Club soon in pt.2. Don’t get me wrong but it’s 3:42am as I'm writing this in Los Angeles right now.


Guess my favorite movie and write it in the comments ;)


Tip: The main protagonist uses “argot” (language understood by members of a clique) to communicate with his friends. The main hero is also a Classical music aficionado.

Sort:  

Very cool band name. I also enjoyed the dialogue. "Whatever becomes too common loses it's originality" indeed it does.

Be different like everyone else...

Uniquely the same

@corganmusic @lordmok thanks for reading. Ya, this topic is tricky...perhaps, as i unfold the story more it will all make sense..."Journal of a RocknRolla" is my public diary and I want to create meaningful and controversial conversations. Also I want to share my thoughts as is. I think the majority posts like we live on top of a fucking rainbow, man....ugh, I guess this is a place to talk shit on the world, like you would in the company of your best friends...ahh, i can keep going but i'll start deviating from the subject :D
Stick around my mates, gonna be fun
Much love
Alex Poe

Congratulations @thehateclub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @thehateclub!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 1 with $ 117,12

graci, that's pretty cool :)

Congratulations @thehateclub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!