Chasing Dreams

in #music6 years ago

reverbnation.jpg

I wish I had a clever phrase to begin this post with, but I couldn't think of anything all day. That being said, I wanted to take a moment to talk about chasing dreams. While I was unemployed I did find some time to read a few articles on regrets. And from all of those articles there was one key theme in them; everyone regretted giving up on their dreams.

In the past I was recently asked what motivated me. At first I didn't know how to answer it because unlike a lot of people, my motivation isn't money. My motivation is music. And I mean that quite literally when I say it. Since graduating college, I have spent as much as I could on the equipment I needed to create the music that I wanted to.

Last week, one of my closest friends asked me if I ever regretted it, and I said no almost immediately. I'm nowhere close to where I want to be with achieving my dream, but I don't regret a single investment I made in it.

I released a brand new single yesterday. I saved up literally every cent I could so I could copyright it and release it. I even had it reviewed on Reverbnation to see what people thought of it because when I finished it, I knew I had something special. And they have an amazing feature where if you receive a score of 7.5 or better you get to be featured on their home page. My song, Time, got a 7.5. I even got a message stating that I would be featured and to be on the look out for a message saying when the date would be.

I told everybody. Here was this song I worked on every day for months before I got it perfect, and then it earned a high enough score that I will be featured because of it. To some, this may be a small victory, but to me, it's the biggest deal in the world. I'm going to be featured on an international website and I can't wait to learn when the date is!

Sort:  

we are all chasing our dreams though our reasons are not exactly the same. but keep cranking out more music :D

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).