You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DSound: The launch, what's new now that the 1st alpha is closed and the FULL decentralization of it

in #music7 years ago

Awesome work on this platform @prc !

As a long time paying user of Soundcloud I have been waiting patiently for something like DSound to manifest itself.

WaitAlmostOver.jpg

Unfortunately I have encountered a lot of trouble with uploading all of my longer mixes. All my WAV files that are bigger then a certain size seems to crash during the processing part of the upload.

To check if the problem was just with uploading mixes I uploaded a preview of the track I have been producing in my Ableton workflow series for Steemit, and that worked without problems.

I tried taking my shortest chillout dj-set and convert it to mp3 to see if that would help, and it did! But unfortunately I was not able to repeat the upload with any of my other dj-mixes even if I converted them to downsize the file...

As far as i can tell there seems to be a problem when processing sound files that are longer then 1 hour at the moment.
(For me atleast with 64bit win7 8gbram i7 @ 3.4ghz)

Do you have any tips for me? Or should I just wait patiently for a upcoming update?

~ @xtetrahedron

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for your info! :) This version is based on a preload sound engine and that is why it takes so long to start playing large files. Similarly, the processing is also performed on memory, so big files will be decoded in memory and probably use more memory than a tab is allowed by the browser. I'll do my best to avoid that when I develop a streaming sound engine for next version... :)

same issue