Top 10 fave MANIC STREET PREACHERS songs

in #music6 years ago

manics.jpg
Manic Street Preachers are back! They never really went away, as Futurology stated. The new album Resistance Is Futile is out now but as I'm yet to hear it fully I thought I'd think of my ten favourite Manics songs of all time so far. Couldn't be limited to just 5 with their back catalogue! It was difficult enough as it is.
Manic Street Preachers are (L to R): Sean Moore (drums), Nicky Wire (bass), James Dean Bradfield (guitar, vocals). Richey Edwards (guitar) went missing in 1995.

10] Theme From M+A+S+H (Suicide Is Painless) (1992)


Whilst it is a cover, it is probably the first time I heard of the Manics. I can't think of any band better to give it that rough feel of mild despair and resignation.


9] Your Love Alone Is Not Enough feat. Nina Persson (2007)


Both the Manics and the Cardigans were some of the better bands around in the 90s so this was a nice tie-up. Punchy and big pop rock.


8] I'm Just A Patsy (2007)


From the same Send Away The Tigers album as the above, this is one of those tracks that reminds you how the MSP guys will write about things very few could ever go near. The idea that Lee Harvey Oswald actually killed JFK is laughable yet the authorities still cling to this lie.


7] Die In The Summertime (1994)


"Scratch my leg with a rusty nail. Sadly, it heals."
Such a Richey lyric. How a song about such bleakness and fragility could be so anthemic is why they're one of the best in the business. (I filmed the above video!)


6] (It's Not War) Just The End Of Love (2010)


I happened to actually be living this at the time so I could relate the hell out of it. "You've got the looks, but I've got the scars." Oh boy. And it's just so epic sounding. Love the above live version. Is Nicky Wire ever on the ground?


5] There By The Grace Of God (2002)


Well this is different but no less sublime. A sad, moving song about James Dean Bradfield's mum's battle with the big C.


4] Faster (1994)


Another Richey masterpiece of lyric writing. Coupled with angry, angular sounds going on, the result is a forceful piece about the human condition. And contains the absolute genius line that is "I've been too honest with myself, I should've lied like everybody else!"


3] Motorcycle Emptiness (1992)


An absolute classic, possibly many people's number one. Richey's obtuse observational commentary poetry combined with JDB trying to emulate Slash on guitar resulted in a killer track.


2] Futurology (2014)


From an album that is a modern classic in every sense - proving they're still as great a band as ever - the first time I heard this song was actually at one of their concerts and I knew straight away this was a banger. Nicky Wire singing the chorus is a refreshing addition to a moody yet atmospheric tune.
"We've all failed ourselves, we've done the best we can."


1] The Masses Against The Classes (2001)


And at number 1 is a song that actually did get to number 1 in the UK singles chart. Why is it top (or bottom, cos it's a countdown) of this list? "I'm tired of giving a reason!"
It's straightforward, to the point, has a blistering guitar solo and a Noam Chomsky intro... what more could you want?

That's my list, and it is just, like, my opinion maaaan.
Here's a Spotify playlist for it: https://open.spotify.com/user/judeoneeight/playlist/6BY5SWJMKF77zX0kDlGGLM
Stay beautiful.

Resistance Is Futile is out now.
http://www.manicstreetpreachers.com