🎶#MUSICWAYBACKCHALLENGE DAY 3 🎶

in #musicchallenge6 years ago (edited)


Today was one of those days that I wanted to say so many things, but had no words that appeared on the screen, watching the cursor (aptly named if you ask me), flickering,along with the memories. This time of the year is incredibly difficult, I had and lost this amazing dad and I find myself thinking about him in June... often. As I was thinking about this music challenge, I thought how well suited this is to my current situation. EVERYTHING I know about music was cause of my dad, so the days leading up to his anniversary why not write, inspired by the man that spent Sundays, record player and albums in living room, preaching about the most important religion he ever worshiped: Music -So welcome to my CHURCH.

queen intro.jpg

What can I, what can anyone tell you about this band, Freddie, that has not already been said, written, made into movies? Only my experience of when I heard them the first time. My dad had this album cleaner, this lil red velvet rectangular brush, that he would gently run across the shiny black vinyl disk in his hand, he was almost solemn when he did it, almost like he was unlocking a secret, I guess when you think about it the person that shared Queen with you for the first time certainly must have felt like a magician. So if you are reading this and have never heard them before, man I am envious there is something incredible about hearing greatness like this for the first time:

Ooh, each morning I get up I die a little
Can barely stand on my feet
Take a look in the mirror and cry
Lord what you're doing to me

I was 14 years old, younger than his collection, and he shared with me the story and then the music of when he was about my age now (20 something). He had this Datsun bakkie, sky blue and in his 20's the back of that bakkie had seen it's share of action, my mother made him sell it when they got married, she called it the shagon-wagon, but before her, before any of us this bakkie was his version of a knight's trusty steed. He would park this bakkie underneath windows (yes Steemit my mother also fell victim to this longhaired muso routine- hence I am here), and then he would take out his 12 string guitar and he would serenade in his words "to the gooses". He always shamelessly smiled at his shenanigans, but I am my father's daughter so who am I to judge, I was in my own share of backseats of musos.

Now round the time he was a young man and still living with the old folks and his father I must add was a principal to one of those schools you send you children when they harm animals, steal old lady panties to sniff or stab people with sharpened toothbrushes. Sometimes if you were very misbehaved they put you in one of them fancy jackets that allowed you to hug yourself for a really really long time. Now having a dad like that meant having serious balls if you thought sneaking in after curfew (it's hereditary okay?), was a great idea and HE DID!

So after a tumble with Mary or Sarah or Jane in the back of his sky blue bakkie, confident and in desperate need of a shit, he decides to role himself some wackybacky and to light up, as one does, on the throne. Normal people read on the toilets before screens were invented, but he had headphones with a really long cord and decided that at this very moment what could be better than blasting QUEEN in his ear canals, getting blazed and getting down to business all at once. The man was comfortable, seated, in the middle of his nature's call and dragging deep, when the bathroom door flew open - tum tum tuuuuummm : Yup, the man of the house himself. When my father told me this story, I swear I saw Nam flashbacks on his face as he recalled "being donnered within an inch of his life"(donnered is Afrikaans it means getting fucked up beaten), he said the funniest part was that he only realized afterwards that he never plugged the headphones into the record player. He had full volume turned that song the FUCK UP and blasted his religious, saintly parents to hell and gone whilst smoking a J, unplugged headphones on his ears, shitting. I don't recall him every being a bad story-teller, my dad, but this story above all others still run through my mind when I think of him. So what was the song you might ask?


Even Princes of the universe got the shit beaten out of them it appears.

💜 Rules and Guidelines 💜
➿ Choose one song from your high-school/college years.

➿ Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.

➿ Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.

➿ Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated

➿ Mention one person who should do this on each day.

➿ Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post

➿ Follow @greek-trail for great content made by our fellow Greeks!

Sort:  

hehe! what a funny story! your dad sounds as naughty as you are . x

Well of course, I had to carry on the great family name :D This memory lane is so wonderful right now I am blasting Queen myself, don't have a J though :(

What a great story of your father. Sounds like my kind of guy. By the time I was that age I had a Barracuda. Ahahhahaha What girl could turn that down? I mean, it had an 8 track 4 channel stereo!

I had the red brush thingy that I put one drop of the magic fluid on before I put it on the turntable and oh so gently wiped the album before I dropped the arm. Queen was indeed part of that library.

I am sorry your father is not still around to laugh at life with you. He learned early, obviously, the secret. Life is a cosmic joke and it's our job to find the punch line.

Your comments by itself makes me wanna sit, legs crossed, whiskey in hand and listen to all your stories, I bet you have the best stories ! My dad was a pretty wonderful man, 7 years since I lost him this Saturday and I miss him like you would miss your arm if someone ripped it away from you. I am very much a jnr version of him which is why when my mother scolds and say "you are just like your father," I feel proud!

Mama Mia!! Mama Mia!! Mama Mia let me go!!!! Queen will forever hold a place in rock and roll heaven. Have you heard about the movie coming out chronicling the rise to stardom of the band? It looks interesting.

I have! AND I am so excited to see it!!

You have been selected for Sjennon Support of this week!

selected sjennon.png

You will receive an upvote from me on your posts (max. 2 per day) for the coming week! Click here to go to the announcement post.

Feel free to nominate your wonderful friends and who knows? Maybe they will benefit from Sjennon Support next week!

Thank you so much this is amazing!!!