When I say "Music for Life!" I mean it has saved mine at times!

in #musicforlife3 years ago

20181019_175958.jpg
Running sound for local theater

More than just a "Tribe..."

I will admit, I am new to the whole idea of "Tribes" because until recently, I was attending school to earn my BAS and had stepped away from blogging and social media in general as my life took new directions. Getting married and buying a home was in there as well but like the prodigal son returning home, I came back to Steemit. Imagine my surprise to discover the entire Tron thing had happened and as a result, the HIVE ecosystem was born!

250253_1913204822500_8197398_n_1913204822500.jpg
As you can see, I was a pretty "Bad guy" for quite a few years...

Starting Over...

I had just gotten back into writing again and being active on the platform when, two days ago, I fell for the "Short Link Scam" that hit the ecosystem. Yes, I was dumb and put my master key into a fake Hivesigner page, Luckily, I did not lose much, but I did gain a very valuable lesson! Having the personality that I do, I spent the last couple of days really getting to really know the HIVE ecosystem. Somewhere along the way, I became aware of Rising Star and the Music for Life platform. For me, the name #musicforlife has a lot of meaning personally, and that is what I want to write about today.

20180926_214004.jpg
Mic-ing a drum set in class.

Childhood

In a recent post, I wrote about some of my personal history with music, but here I will go into more depth. In sixth grade, I started what would end up being two years of the school band, and disappointed I could not play guitar at my school, I chose the saxophone and hated it. When I was in my early teens, I asked for and received an electric guitar and amplifier for Christmas, and my parents were also kind enough to foot the bill for lessons, even though I was lazy and did not want to practice! Basically, I am not a musician in the classical sense at all...


My Demo Reel.

Deep Meaning...

When I tell you that #musicforlife is more than a hashtag for me, I mean it. Music has played such an important role in my life, that I can honestly say if it were not for it, I likely would not be here today. What I mean by this is that I had a pretty rough life. I do not make that statement to garner sympathy, just as a statement of truth. Abuse in several forms was common in my family, and listening to music was my way to escape it. I became aware of Pink Floyd's movie, "The Wall," around age fourteen, and bought a copy on VHS. I must have watched that movie a thousand times as a teen. I was like that with quite a few bands and songs over the years. Some of them I just related to and identified with. I would often use music as a way to speak to other people, something I still do today.

31437417_1663563877091813_4823967925243215872_o.jpg
Running the soundboard for a non-profit I volunteer for.

Wasted Time...

Poor decisions after my childhood led me to live a life of drug addiction, jail, and prison, but the music was always there. Later in life, at age forty-three, I got my life in order and decided I was going to go back to school. When the advisor asked me what I wanted to do, I explained that I was always told I had a good presentation voice, and I wanted to get into something where I could make use of that. The advisor directed me into the Digital Media Audio and Cinema Program, so I went to school to be an Audio and Video Producer. I currently hold a BAS in the field and am in the process of setting up several different media channels and ideas. I look forward to developing my network and hopefully soon, I will be able to begin working with creators to help them develop their products.

I look forward to being a part of this community and watching it grow!

Sort:  

Congratulations @nobutsd1974! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation