Music Monday - The 60s and 70s

My musical interests are all over the place, lately though, I’ve been all about the classic rock. This was the music of my childhood. Although I was a child of the 80s we sat in the park drinking beer and throwing a frisbee or playing hacky sack listening to the music of the 60s and 70s. IMHO it was a free'r more carefree time in America.

The Chamber’s Brothers – Time Has Come Today

Not only does this music bring back a certain nostalgia of better days in America, but I also think a lot of it still resonates with modern day events.

Barry McGuire – Eve Of Destruction

I’ve been getting back into my guitar a lot lately. I haven’t played much in the last 15 years or so. One of my favorite guitarists of all time has to be Jimi Hendrix.

Jimi Hendrix – If 6 was 9

One of the best concerts I seen growing up was Joe Walsh playing at Melody Fair. It was a small venue outside of Niagara Falls NY. The venue was circular and the stage rotated so basically everyone had a great seat. Joe Walsh came out so drunk you couldn’t even understand him when he talked and he had to sit on a bar stool so he didn't fall over, but man when he picked up that guitar he didn’t miss a note and his singing voice was incredible. About 3 songs in he had to make them stop the rotating stage because he thought he was going to puke or fall off his bar stool. So after every couple of songs they would rotate the stage a quarter turn. It really was a great time though!

I’ll leave you with some live footage of Joe Walsh. This song kind of sums up how I’m feeling each time I scroll through my Twitter feed or turn on the news. We are living through some incredibly crazy times, and I think things are just going to get crazier.

Joe Walsh – Turn To Stone

Well hope you enjoyed this music Monday post. I’ve been posting classic rock for the last two weeks now. Next week, I’ll try and change things up a bit with a different genre. Wishing you all a great week ahead.

Sort:  

I was watching a documentary about Clapton (Life in 12 Bars) last night. It covered the period when he was drinking a lot. He would swear at the audience and sometimes walk off after half an hour. That is just disrespectful to his audience. You say Joe played well, but could he have been better if he was sober? It's amazing some of these guys survived. Real shame Hendrix didn't.

I agree it is somewhat disrespectful to show up hammered like that. IDK if Joe could of played better or not. He sounded awesome! When he first stepped on stage and was slurring whatever he was trying to say we all looked at each other in disbelief and shook our heads, but when he started playing the crowd went wild. HE WAS FANTASTIC.

I imagine it's tough being on the road all the time. A friend of mine was in a pretty successful speed metal band and we were talking one night, he said, "Everyone starts the tour fresh, healthy and feeling good. By the time it's over everyone looks ill, tired and like death warmed over." He said he loved the first couple weeks of touring, but after that you just want it over.

So much talent lost over time. Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, Janice Joplin and so many more from that era. I often wonder what Jimi would of been like in his old age had he not died. Would he still be touring? What kind of music would he be playing? How much bigger of a success would he have been? IDK, I'm probably over thinking it, but the guy was definitely my guitar hero growing up.

I'm going to have to look for that Clapton movie now. I'm huge fan of the Cream days and a lot of his older stuff.

I can understand that touring is tough and messes people up, but they ought to get support from those around them. I've read a few biographies about life on the road. It's a crazy life, especially if things are going really well. Still happens now in some cases.

Congratulations @the-bitcoin-dood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 850 posts. Your next target is to reach 900 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

You’ve got great list of songs!

Thanks, glad you enjoyed them!

❤️❤️❤️


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here