You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music Monday - The 60s and 70s

I agree it is somewhat disrespectful to show up hammered like that. IDK if Joe could of played better or not. He sounded awesome! When he first stepped on stage and was slurring whatever he was trying to say we all looked at each other in disbelief and shook our heads, but when he started playing the crowd went wild. HE WAS FANTASTIC.

I imagine it's tough being on the road all the time. A friend of mine was in a pretty successful speed metal band and we were talking one night, he said, "Everyone starts the tour fresh, healthy and feeling good. By the time it's over everyone looks ill, tired and like death warmed over." He said he loved the first couple weeks of touring, but after that you just want it over.

So much talent lost over time. Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, Janice Joplin and so many more from that era. I often wonder what Jimi would of been like in his old age had he not died. Would he still be touring? What kind of music would he be playing? How much bigger of a success would he have been? IDK, I'm probably over thinking it, but the guy was definitely my guitar hero growing up.

I'm going to have to look for that Clapton movie now. I'm huge fan of the Cream days and a lot of his older stuff.

Sort:  

I can understand that touring is tough and messes people up, but they ought to get support from those around them. I've read a few biographies about life on the road. It's a crazy life, especially if things are going really well. Still happens now in some cases.