My 2017: Achievements and Failures

in #my20177 years ago


2017.jpg
Source

Shouts of “Happy New Year” filled the air. In my country Nigeria, it’s a tradition to usher in the year with a “Happy New Year” shout at 12 midnight. The Churches at a reasonable distance seemed closer as voices of worshipping Christians penetrated the walls of my room.

Having had many experiences of failed New Year resolutions in the past years, I was done with the routine. It didn’t matter that everyone in the world was making resolutions for the New Year, I couldn’t care less. Quite frankly, for me, there was nothing special about the New Year. I was grateful for the gift of life; some people who saw the previous year were nowhere to be found. With being intentional, I resorted to go with the flow this year. Deep down my heart, I had a strong conviction that what would be, would be, regardless of what I wished for.


2017 2.png
Source

I was busy leading my quiet life when, sometime in February, I received news about securing admission in the University for my Masters. I had applied for it toward the end of the previous year, but it was stalling to come through. I took my mind off it as a resistance to whatever disappointment that may come with not getting it eventually. And then it happened when I wasn’t even expecting it. “This is a great achievement for the year,” I thought to myself. I embraced it with open arms. If nothing good happened for the rest of the year, I was content with this one. Having been burnt due to high expectations in the past years, I had learnt not to get my hopes high about anything.

A few weeks later, I was in an apartment I could call mine. This wasn’t part of the plan in the beginning of the year. In fact, there was no plan. I knew I’d move from where I was staying, but it didn’t seem like it’d happen anytime soon. This was another pleasant surprise. I had noticed a pattern – things seemed to be falling in pleasant places despite my indifference about the year. “Perhaps this is the winning formula. If you aren’t enthusiastic, life will bring good things your way,” I was tempted to believe. It was a welcome development. For the first time, I became optimistic about what the year had in store for me. I was determined to work harder. Perhaps if I did, many more good things would happen.


2017 1.jpg
Source

Being a freelance writer, I decided to pay more attention to my freelance writing career with the hope of securing more clients. I had it all figured out. I’d embark on a guest posting campaign. If I could do some guest posts on some major blogs, my goal would be accomplished. I spent most part of the day writing pitches and articles. After sending out the pitches, I waited impatiently for mails from potential clients inquiring about my services to pour in. Days turned to weeks and weeks turned to months, yet nothing happened. Something must have gone wrong somewhere but what exactly was it? I had no idea.

I had resorted to create a social life for myself – make new friends and enjoy the city, but that didn’t come to fruition. It seemed like everything was working against me in that direction. There were lonely days and nights, and the companionship that was non-existent. Perhaps I could have done things differently to tick that box.

As the curtains of the year draw closer, I can say that it wasn’t such a bad year after all. If there’s anything I learnt from this year, it’s the fact things have a way of “happening” at the appointed time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @everchris! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!