My 2018: A Tour around my town: THE HEARTBEAT OF THE NATION

in #my20186 years ago (edited)

image

As it is often referred to, Benin City, the capital of Edo State, Nigeria. The heartbeat of the nation.
Hi, my name is Emmanuel I am a Nigerian. Today I shall be exposing my small hometown to the steemit community. Enjoy.

I will go straight to the point.

Benin City is located 40 kilometres north of the Benin River, 320 km east of Lagos. I said I was going straight to the point. Benin City is quite historic. The Benin Empire was quite pre-colonial. In fact, it was one of the oldest but highly developed regions in coastal West Africa as early as the eleventh century C.E. In 1897, she was however taken over by the British Empire.
I don’t want to bore you with these stories any longer than I might already have.

The national museum is so full of terracotta sculpture. As a matter of fact, the whole city is renowned for casting of bronze.

I was able to take some photos. (I paid heavily to take them)

image

Sincerely I learnt a lot from these art works during the tour. The art works are not just made for the fun of it. They tell stories of hardships, victories, torments, cultures, traditions, and festivals.

This one almost brought tears to my eyes.

image

It depicts the hardships faced by the Benin Empire during the British rule, when they were used as slave

Moving on, the food

I won’t say so much here. Trust me, Benin delicacies are the best. The colour is so enticing, the aroma is an attention seeker. Okay I said I wasn’t going to say much. Just look.

image

Continental dish below

image

The dressing

Benin people are usually known for the way they dress. We are experts in bead making and as a result, every Benin attire must go with beads. These pictures were taken at a traditional wedding ceremony held some days ago in the heartbeat of the nation.

image

image

image

Benin City has a very bright economic life featured with several open air markets. We grow our own food. Ranging from yam, rice, fruits and grains

image

image

We have prestigious universities. Amongst them is The University Of Benin. I graduated from there.

image

image

We are a happy people. We try to survive. We work hard. Our children are not denied their fundamental rights such as educational rights.

image

We are the heart of a great African Country – Nigeria.
We are the ‘’heartbeat of the nation’’.

Special thanks to @blocktrades for their SP delegation to @anomadsoul. Special thanks to @steemitworldmap.

This contest was initiated here

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by emmylord from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.