My California: Jumbo Rock / Barker Dam, Joshua Tree National Park

in #mycalifornia5 years ago (edited)

Dont Go Off Wanderin

Hey everyone! A while back @derekrichardson invited me to camp Joshua Tree National Park for our friend Blake's birthday. The campground was known as Jumbo Rock and Derek and I wound up getting to the spot a few hours prior to Blakes arrival. We snagged 2 camping spots adjacent to each other as we expected at least 4 tents and wanted a nice big area to have. As we waited we decided to crack open a few brews while I set up my tent. I placed my tent in the second spot we had claimed. With both spots taken we had a table to hang out by as well.

I parked in my traditional manner, im fanatic about my 4x4's, no one even bothered me about it being parked like that.

Derek and I decided to scout out the location and hike around the camping spot a bit. With beers in our hand we wandered around, rock hopping about.

In Dereks usual fashion, he tries to get the best shot. I was just happy to be there.

After a little wandering, we came back to camp and that was about the time Blake showed up. He had brought a friend with him named Aaron and we all decided to get dinner on as the sun went down. The night was filled with vodka shots and good times. Blake was happy we came to celibate his day of birth. Soon I turned in to catch some sleep for the next days adventures. I also had to leave back home the then so I wanted to make sure I was also well rested for the hours of driving. During the night the winds were brutal. The next morning while packing up my tent, I noticed my tent had gotten so sideways that it snapped a section of the tent pole.

A group of people had taken up shack in a spot not far from ours while we were having dinner the night before. I had seen them leave but never saw them return back to camp so the next morning when Derek and I noticed their tent completely collapsed we wondered if there was anyone even IN THERE. The tent was literally laying flat on the ground. After we gathered our things but before setting out for the days adventures, a few heads popped out of the neighbors tent. HELL, there WHERE people in there. Derek and I said it looked like a turtle popping his head out of his shell and we both laughed. We all set off to a formation just outside the campground known as skull rock. We wandered around here a bit.



From Skull rock we drove off to a spot known as Barker Dam. Barker Dam was an old watering hole but has since dried up. The trail is roughly a mile loop from the parking lot. It is heavily traveled and often quite populated with people. This day was no different, there were lots of family's taking the loop, as well as rock climbers attempting lines all around us. We made it to the dam and I was shocked there would have been a watering hole like this in the middle of the desert.


A little blue bird came to rest near me so I snapped a photo

The way back to the car we all walked along the trail but then this is where every thing all went HAYWIRE. Somehow.....and to this day Derek and I still can not wrap our head around it, but SOMEHOW Aaron wandered off, and actually got lost. The trail is absolutely visible but when we all turned around to see if he was still behind us, he was GONE. One of us walked back to the car and waited while the other two walked around screaming out his name. I was becoming irritated because I needed to be home for work the next day. We all wandered in vain calling out his name while others on the trail looked at us in stupor.

I ended up leaving in the hopes they would find him. They had a vehicle to drive with so I took my truck back home. I came to find out later from Derek, they DID find him. He was way off the trail in a confusion, saying we had left him. This was SURELY not the case as we were all walking on the trail together when he wandered off.

I hope you enjoyed this story of my trip to Joshua Tree, and decide to visit there yourself. I also officially submit this post for this weeks #mycalifornia contest.

All photos, unless otherwise stated or sourced, were taken by @csusbgeochem1 and may not be reused without permission. Animations and cover photo created by @csusbgeochem1 using GIMP.

If you found this story interesting you can find more like it by following @socalsteemit and help us expand the Steemit community together

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=csusbgeochem1
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-california-jumbo-rock-barker-dam-joshua-tree-national-park


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Howdy sir csusbgeochem1! wow that is quite the area with some amazing scenery! I'm glad they finally found your friend, I bet he'll be more careful next time. The boulders in that place are amazing and the park would be a fun place to camp and hike, very cool post!