#MyFight. Giving back to the community! Write me your story! This is my story, Blurry World

in #myfight7 years ago

 2015 

I’m here to tell you the truth. Tell my story, tell you I’m worth it. -Witt Lowry.

Now you probably thinking what the hell is this going to talk about, he’s going all sentimental and shit. Well in case that was your thought, your right. I’m going all Sentimental now and that’s out of character for me. The only reason I am sitting here is because I must get this off my chest. Keeping all these feeling bottled up is no use.  So now prepare yourself, this is not a story about cancer, or lost parents. This is basically my life with keratoconus.  So, keratoconus? What the hell is that? Well my dear friend keratoconus is an eye illness. People who suffer from it often have very blurry vision (hint the title) and haves trouble seeing in general. So, as you can probably tell I suffer from this. My vision is so bad that I can’t even get a right set variable for my vision. We are working in percentages, that’s how bad it’s gotten. My vision at the time I write this is 20%. I agree with you here 20% is not much and how can you even function in your normal day life? Well I can’t. every day I wake up I see it. Every night I go sleep I feel it. It is affecting my education as well. I gave up on math, there was no way I could keep up with it when I can’t even see the blackboard. How am I supposed to do anything in life when I cannot see it? Literally I have exams soon and I’m in no way looking forward to a shit grade.  Of course, I have been offered treatments, I have been under the knife twice this year. I have acquired lenses. But it’s not helping. The lenses do not fit my eyes and hurt like hell. This illness has literally gotten to the point of me giving up on things that loved to do before. Football? Nope can’t see the ball at longer range. Badminton? Can’t see the ball when its high up. The only thing I can do now is play video games. I am not saying that video games are bad for me, it it’s the only thing that keeps me going now. The only thing I look forward to when I get home. Something so simply as going on vacation is a hell for me. Go sightseeing is a no go.  How am I supposed to live like this? What happens when I get a family, and that is if somebody even want me in the first place? I can’t even make out my child’s face. How sad is that? This are literally the thoughts that keeps me up at night. I am sorry for cursing a lot in this essay but sometimes is best to let all the thoughts out instead of keep them bottled up.  

2016 

Being diagnosed at 16 years old is hard. It’s a crucial time of your life which education plays a big role. 2 years later I’m still fighting this battle and I just need to let this out. Keeping all this bottled up for fare to long is not a good idea. I wrote this essay about a year ago when I started high school. I apologize for the bad English. English is not my main language. Please leave any comment below. Good and bad. Would love to see your opinion here.  (posted it to the official subreddit for Keratoconus)   

2017 

it’s been about 3 years since I’ve been diagnosed with Keratoconus. This going to sound so weird, but Keratoconus has helped me through a lot by now. It molded me into the person I am today. If you are reading this, and recently diagnosed yourself. Then I can tell you it does get better. It might not have seen like it back in 2015. My vision has reached 30% because of the operations. I found a pair of lenses which I could withstand in the end of 2016. I reached a goal of mine, which was getting my driver’s license. My lenses provide up to 80% vision! I’m doing okay in school and I found myself doing okay in life as well. Keratoconus made room for me to become someone I thought I couldn’t be. It made me rely on other people and come out of my isolated shell. So, the point of this looong story is, it does get better. Don’t question the illness, embrace it. Fight it. Whatever type of dieses you are fighting doesn’t matter! Fight it, fight until you come out stronger! I guarantee you will feel a ton better, when you’ve won the fight!
I’m posting this here because I want to give back to your community. You helped me through a tough period of my life. Even if this gets ignored by the majority, I still have hopes that it could someone out there. So, remember, whatever demons you are dealing with, fight em! Don’t let then win. In the end, you will end up stronger and on top!  If you feel like giving me your story that would be awesome. I'm quite  curious  and would gladly read through your story, as you've done with mine. If you do choose to write one here on steemit. Use the tag #myfight. I would look through it everyday. Remember i will not judge you, only try to help you in some way :)

Also i'm sorry for my english, as stated in the story. English is not my first  Language. 

Sort:  

This post received a 1.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @zeros! For more information, click here!

Thanks for sharing your story. I have it too. I did a post about it just now. I didn't use your tag, but I don't have a lot of posts up.