Kiwinie Travels Hive Intro : There and Back Again

in #myhiveintro4 years ago (edited)
Hello Hivians! I know it's been two years since I first introduced myself but allow me to present myself anew since many things have changed (I believe so). But before I begin, I'd like to thank my dear friend, @ybanezkim26, who has been very encouraging of my writing endeavors and supportive to reach out to this community again. So here I go, welcome to the new me!

Beige Journal Workshop Collage Instagram Post.png

I am Queenie, a proud Cebuana engineer, who is currently trying her fate in the land of the long white clouds - New Zealand. I guess now by all means, I shall adopt the pen name, "Kiwinie" from now on (pun makes sense?) to make these series of posts memorable for you and me.

These past two years have been instrumental for me to figure out my pathways in life, and I can't wait to share them with you on this platform. Also, as you can easily figure out, my future posts will most likely be about this beautiful country, my travels, and generally the life I'll be building here.

So, what brought me to New Zealand?

As a fan of the Amazing race, I remember that one moment in Season 30 where the contestants witnessed the stunning view of the overlooking Letna Park in Prague. That was one of the many times I encouraged myself to reach that far too.

At this point in my life, I am very fortunate to get a chance to rudder my own fate. I am currently pursuing further studies in New Zealand to acquire proper qualifications and land a good job after. I chose New Zealand because I believe this is the safest place for me to start a new life as a migrant. The peaceful ambiance is a plus factor as this will help me focus on my career and my life goals in general. Well, on top of those, anyone can be easily be bewitched by its natural beauty.

In one of my future contents, I'll share the steps I took to get all the way here and answer the common processing questions getting abroad.

How is the NZ life so far?


The weather is crazy!

First and foremost, the weather here is the most impossible to read. Even Ka Ernie Baron and Kuya Kim will have headaches reading the charts. I have seen the extremes of the Philippine weather from typhoons to biting summer heat, but New Zealand is more sporadic than one can imagine. One can experience a sunny morning, drizzling by the afternoon, and get super cold by the evening. That's all one can get in a season only.

Nonetheless, I can't help but enjoy the good days still.
summerlove.png


Body clock woes

When I arrived here in February this year, the time difference was 5 hours from the Philippines. So if I follow my body clock back home, it should be understandable that I am still up by 4 am here. In my first days, I still found myself video calling my family at 3 in the morning trying to squeeze up updates within the day.
However, one amazing thing I found out around that period is that the sunset around 8:30 in the evening. How cool is that? Imagine having longer days in months which means you could essentially do more things! I remember I still got time to jog around 8 in the evening just enough to see my tracks.

jog.png


The Taste of Independent living
Admit it, living with parents and siblings most of your life, you can't help but wonder how life would progress should you decide to live independently. Well, for sure, I'm not the best person to heed advice from, but for me, this is the biggest commitment in my life so far. It's honestly tedious to wake up at least 2 hours ahead of school to prepare breakfast, think about what you'll eat the next days, or adjust budgets to make ends meet. These may sound unpleasant, but I can't deny that I'm having the best time of my life as an adult as well.

Living independently also means going to the groceries on my own and picking ingredients for my meal plans myself. Oh how I gush every time I see greens on stalls and my fridge.
food.png


"It's not always rainbows and butterflies."

I cannot claim that I'm living my ideal NZ dream so far as, along with other international students, I was caught midway by the global pandemic. I was fortunate to be part of the last batch of international students to enter the country before the borders tightened.

In my six months here in the country, the third portion of those was consumed by the lockdown. Yes, that meant heaps of online classes and assessments in most days, which made me almost forget that I'm living in my dream country.

Being an international student also puts tremendous pressure on me, juggling both my studies and part-time jobs to sustain my living here. Apart from these, fighting off mental battles brought about my homesickness, and the paranoia of the virus put an additional burden on me. I have even bought an expensive mobile plan to be able to reach out my family and friends back home.


"I can be anything I want."

I got this wisdom from my classmate while we were introducing ourselves. His rationale was since we are all starting a new life here, we must be optimistic in achieving anything that we envisioned to be. Indeed, this rings sense as this allows us to start on a clean slate and remove all the presumptions in the capabilities.

Albeit hard, life must go on. Going through all of these hardships makes me think otherwise that I should be making the most out of everything in my dream country. Who can stop me? Well, the pandemic, obviously, but theoretically, there should be none!

socials.png

I am meeting a lot of new people, reaching beautiful places (mostly for free), and, most importantly, surprising myself from time to time with small discoveries. Little victories still come a long way for me.


All of these must be more than a handful for you now, but keep reading on my posts as I share glimpses of my simple living here in my new world. Kia Ora!
last.png

Sort:  

Welcome!! Another Pinoy! You guys are springing up like mushrooms on Hive, in a nice way of course, not poisonous 😊

I'm sure with Kim's guidance you will do well here. And we can expect to see write about your New Zealand adventures very soon?

Thank you! I'm fortunate to have a good mentor like Kim. This makes it easy for me to express myself here. Can't wait to build a stronger Pinoy community here as well :)

Welcome to Hive et!

Thank you for the support, et! Wouldn't be here without you!

Congratulations @queenielee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup
Project Activity Update

Shared to Twitter:

Omg hi sis! Can't wait to read about how you got there already.

Hello sis! I guess we belong all the more! Can't wait to see your adventures too :)

Welcome to Hive!

Thank you for the warm welcome!

Kia ora! Nau mai haere mai ki Hive Blockchain!

It's good to see a fellow NZ'er here.

Be kind... keep safe :)

Kia Ora! Hoping to build a stronger community here. Be safe, likewise!

Doble ingat kung nasa Auckland ka. Kia kaha!

Thanks! you, too leoneil!

Welcome to Hive. Good luck with your studies and adventures in NZ.
My wife and I love the country. Our third and last visit was a bit more than 2 years ago but we'd love to go back again.

Thank you for the welcome! Please let me know if you'll come back. I'd like to meet you guys, too!

Welcome to NZ not a bad place to be locked down though ae!

Yes! Be safe, too! thanks for the welcome :)

What an epic comeback :) Just gave you a follow and I am looking forward to reading more about your adventures in the Kiwi Land :) Welcome to Hive.

I can't wait to tell about my adventures too! Thank you for the warm welcome :)

Welcome 🤚🏾

Thank you for the warm welcome :)

No problem 👍🏾 your welcome

Check out my community called stars you are welcome to join

Hello Queenie, welcome to the Hive 😊 I am looking forward to reading about your adventures and life there in New Zealand. It is a country we have once dreamed of living in but didn't get the chance to do, so we just keep coming back. It may not be easy but you are most definitely in one of the best places to be in right now in this covid situation. Kia Ora

Thank you! I'll try my best to feature my adventures here. I hope you're doing well with your loved ones :)

With pleasure, have a good evening 😊

Welcome to Hive @queenielee! Grabe mani si @ybanezkim26 makadala ug mga recruits oy hahaha. Glad to have another Filipino traveler on board. I am glad you were able to migrate before the lockdown. Things are not doing really well in motherland as you may have heard of.

I will be expecting to see more of New Zealand from you soon. Take care and I hope you enjoy yourself as much as I had in my first week here.

Hmmm. Grabe na jud ang compliments ba. Mabuhi na jud ko ana. 😂

Thanks for the kind words, Jose! I'll see you on your next adventures, too.

Well welcome back and please i welcome all newcomers but since you are here in the blogs aswell i will send you the same messages, and when you need me let me know,

Well welcome back and please i welcome all newcomers but since you are here in the blogs aswell i will send you the same messages, and when you need me let me know,

Well welcome back and please i welcome all newcomers but since you are here in the blogs aswell i will send you the same messages, and when you need me let me know,

Loading...

Dear Rudder of Her Own Fate, Queenie, is there anything you have not done yet with that cute smile of yours?

Welcome to Hive @queenielee! I'm excited to see New Zealand thru your posts. 😁

Thanks, @wanderful! I'm excited for your adventures too!

Nasayup ka ug tag.. 😀

hala haha. lols. i'll see you in your next post @wandergirl 😄