The Mystery Of The Disappearance Of Emelia Earhart Has Finally Been Solved

in #mystery4 years ago

I've been reading about this mystery my whole life, some of you probably have too. For those of you who don't know who she is, she was a feminist icon who came to fame by breaking flying records.

She was the first woman to fly solo across the United States and the first woman to fly across the Atlantic.

She disappeared during a flight around the world in 1937 along with her navigator, Fred Noonan.

9kjo0k.jpg
source

They were in the Pacific, New Guinea... headed for Howland Island but they never made it. The official government version is that they ran out of fuel and crashed into the ocean.

But the International Group for Historic Aircraft Recovery (TIGHAR), which has spent the last 25 years investigating Earhart’s ill-fated final voyage, has another answer.

There were a couple of things that happened which caused them to get off course and forced them to make an emergency landing. I'll talk about those things later.

There's a small, uninhabited atoll (which is an island made of coral) named Nikumaroro and located 350 miles from Howland Island. In 1940 bones were found there by an expedition searching for Emelia.

Here's Fred and Emelia:

bb0fdp.jpg
source

At first they thought the bones were hers but then determined that they were men's bones.

But TIGHAR archaeologists found a campfire site which was made about the time of the disappearance. They also found makeshift tools, parts of a pocket knife and clam shells that had been broken open.

hcn6lw.png
source

Another important item they found was an ointment jar which was shaped like the one that Emelia carried with her. It was to cover up freckles. She had freckles and didn't think they were attractive.

a88n0z.jpg
source

But the big item was a section of a plane. It was an aluminum plate which was used on that particular plane to cover a window near the rear.

Here's a photo of her plane showing the aluminum patch towards the rear. This was taken by the Miami Herald moments before she took off on her last flight in 1937:

exwkxw.jpg
source

The shape and rivet holes matched up exactly and the TIGHAR researchers said that this was as unique to her plane as a fingerprint is to a human.

Here's the patch found on Nikumaroro:

ti8qb7.jpg
source

TIGHAR want to go back but they haven't been able to make it there for another expedition which costs over 2 million dollars. Lack of funds.

xyl82m.jpg
source

Another recent bit of evidence

Professor Richard Jantz, who is a professor at the University of Tennesee, a professor emeritus of anthropology and director emeritus of UT’s Forensic Anthropology Center, is convinced the bones found on Nikumaroro in 1940 are indeed those of Emelia.

vbqbjz.jpg
source

Forensic technology has come a long way since 1940 and although the bones are no longer available, there are many photos of them along with their dimensions.

Mr. Jantz analyzed them with a computer program and determined that they were a direct match for her height, weight, age and gender.

pv3768.jpg
source

Oh, the researhers who found the bones in 1940 also found part of a woman's shoe. Unfortunately the bones and the shoe part were lost in WWII.

9ir66o.png

Well guys, I'm up against the clock and this is getting long but tomorrow I have more evidence, clues, and news that the man who found the Titanic is now joining the search for Emelia's plane. If he he can't find it no one can.

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

mv4t7d.png

d25fwk.png

xsfpf7.png

Sort:  

Hi janton, that is an amazing discovery. But, the story around Amelia coming down and the events following this is intriguing. A coral reef would be a terrible place to find food unless one could catch fish etc. In those days being found in time was not on the cards. Sad.

Howdy today angiemitchell! Yes, at that time they didn't even have aircraft search protocols because there were almost no aircraft on the ships and this was out in the middle of the ocean. If that little island didn't have fresh water then their stay was a short one.

Hasn't technology gone in leaps and bounds in a short space of time?

Very true and we're getting ready to take another huge leap with the Quantum Computers coming online shortly. I'm doing a post about it.

A mystery my whole life. It was a bit of a refief when they started finding these answers. Thanks for putting them all together here!
!BEER
!DERANGED
!Trdo

Howdy Melinda! I knew you would have been interested in this story, I think it's quite amazing. And they'll find the rest of her plane I'm sure.

I think I always hoped they would find that she had lived for years surviving on a desert island.

Yes I can understand that. Their search and rescue methods back then weren't very good or they probably would have found her in time because she was alive for awhile at least. I mean, at least for days...I don't know if that little island had fresh water on it though.

I always wondered what the real story was and I haven't heard about anything you described here. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts about her. Great photos that you found Jonboy.
!DERANGED! Both you and me. LOL!

lol..thanks so much Butterfly...the story is interesting because parts of it are totally deranged for sure! But thanks for the kind words.

Ooo, that's really interesting! The mystery appears to be no more!

Howdy sir meesterboom! Yes, I'll have more tomorrow but there is overwhelming evidence. I think it's interesting that the story hasn't made headlines but I guess since they haven't found the plane there are skeptics who won't be convinced.

There are always those who will not be convinced!!

I know, I think they're called Scots! lol. Well, I think they'll be convinced in a year or two when that researcher finds what's left of her plane but today's and tomorrow's posts have more information. The circumstantial evidence is huge when it's all put together.

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 8.36% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steemplus and thank you so much for the upvote!


Hey @janton, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Howdy esteemapp and thank you for the fine platform and the upvote!

I’ve read a lot about Amelia’s disappearance and it makes sense they could have gone off course and went down in the area such as you described. I think I saw some writeup that Fred was not that experienced?

Howdy redheadpei! Yes, it's amazing that they didn't have a way to navigate back then except with the stars and sun! Pretty primitive but long distance aviation was just getting started good in the 1930's. I'm going to talk more about that tomorrow, I was running out of time and it was getting long for todays.

I haven't studied Fred much but from what I've read he was very good and very experienced at his craft. There is an article about him that I was going to read tonight so I might have more to add in that regard.

I've always been kind of obsessed with this one. Very interesting.

Oh I'm so glad you like it ginnyannette! I got more interesting information in tomorrow's post too. I think that guy will find what's left of her plane and that will shut the book completely on the mystery.
There's an amazing incident with a Florida girl that has to do with this story!

Fascinating story. I haven't followed this for many years. I was intereste in it also.

I agree justclickindiva, it is very intriguing and hopefully the next couple of posts will shed more informatin about it. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Now you have me wondering what part two will come up with, it would be great if the mystery was finally solved.

Howdy today sunlit7! Well, the circumstantial evidence is really profound when all of it is studied and put together. But I'm sure that it will not be put to rest until they find what's left of her plane and I think that will happen in the next year or two. There's more information in todays and tomorrow's posts though.

I will be looking forward to reading them and I think you are correct, there will still be skeptics until they find the plane.

If the guy who found the Titanic goes after it I think it'll be fairly easy to find. The ocean is only 600 feet there I think and unless it got swept away by the currents I think it would be a piece of cake compared to the Titanic. IF it's there. lol.

Wow! Finally,there are answers!

Howdy sir kaminchan! Were you guys aware of this story over there?

You just received DERANGED @janton Keep up the great work. Congrats, you have been gifted 1 DerangedCoin. You can redeem 20 of them for an upvote from the deranged.coin account. Redeem your tokens by sending to deranged.coin through Steem Engine with your post URL in the memo field, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Howdy sir deranged.coin! Thanks so much for the token!

O this is very interesting - I am giving his to my gr 9;s to read and do research - we actually spoke about her the other day = what a phenomenal women.

Oh that is so cool anneke! Yes today and tomorrow's posts have more information but there is so much that I am only putting in some highlights in my posts. But the TIGHAR group has done exhaustive research and I will include some links to go to.

Thanks I did see today's post as well - well done

I really hope that they find the plane Sir @janton, as that will be the ultimate answer to the mystery!
Blessings!

If I was a betting man I would bet that they find it in the next couple of years IF the man who found the Titanic gets involved.

Considering a piece of the plane was on the island, the plane should be within a 10 mile radius of the island methinks.
Let's see what happens my friend!

That sounds logical to me sir papilloncharity, I don't know how strong the ocean currents are there or how far they can spread debris but I'll be talking about that in the next post because the guy who found the Titanic is trying to locate what might be left of the plane.

Cool and thanks Sir @janton, I will have a look at the next post!
Blessings!

Interesting story there sir janton i love reading things like this better then redneck cowboy stories be looking forward to next episode 👍

Thanks sir hangin but my specialty is redneck cowboy stories so I'll probably be going back to them. lol.

I understand you can never get the cowboy out of a redneck...lol 🤣 🤣

lol. very true sir hangin. Just like you can't get the cool out of sir hangin!

Now your been extra nice that's a cool thing to say , thanks sir janton...lol 😊

Yeah I guess I did mess up on that comment didn't I? lol.

I like it when your nice to me sometimes...lol 😀

It's really sad such a woman's final hours were starvation and thirst... I had no clue about this evidence of her.

Howdy sir joelsegovia! So her story is famous even in Venezuela, how interesting. Yes they've been piecing together pieces of evidence over the years so it hasn't been headline making stories.

Nahhhh.... She is still around.

Seen her drivin' a Peterbilt on i-20 last week....

lol..she just changed to a different dangerous profession! Are there alot of women truckers?

Yes.... A Shit Ton.!!!

Is that good or bad or does it matter? Are you back on the road again yet, do you have to spend the weekend on the road?

I am stayin home till early Sunday morning. Then over to Pensacola 4 monday, then to Carolton TX 4 Wed.

Oh well that's more like it. Don't want you to get lazy or anything. If you stay home too long you might lose your rhythm. Are you a football fan?

No dig on the women drivers....

They got good ones and bad ones too...

I treat em same as I would a man driver.

Ok well I figured if they were being trained by the same stupid companies they would be just as good or just as bad as the men. I was just wondering because I drive by the peelot at our exit all the time and don't see women very often.

So you're just layin around eatin and drinkin all weekend?

Goin to Chilly's for Girls Night out at 5pm. @pooky-jax and some girls She has worked with over the years.

So I am "Trying" to starve down for it. They like it when I am home and tag along. And I do not even have to dress like a girl.....

They get together once a month, & I
missed last one.

Src. Ugly Trucker Women search..:

Man or Women...? You Decide..y9ip37.jpg

You just think You are not seeing any women drivers.... Truth be told Mr Magoo @janton Jonboy. The combination of Your failing eyesight, and the fact that most of the Women are more Manly Looking than most of these Millinial Girly Mans that are jumping behind the steer wheels and thinking it is a video game..... "True Story."

Layin around drinkin'....???

WTF.....!?!

I did take a nap in the Hamock yesterday afternoon. rnz0h8.jpg

I got 12 acres, and I use chain saws. Power Weed Trimmers and A Kabota brush hog.... You do realize I am in FLA. Right...? Where The jungle grows YEAR ROUND..!!!

No NFL anymore (National Felons League) Not since "Colon KaperPrick" and the rest of the Prima Donna Ass Clowns took a knee and hate on our countries military, the police, and our POTUS.

If I want to Watch Clowns & Monkeys behave badly, I can go to a CIRCUS or a ZOO....... True Story.

lol! Howdy today sir krazzytrukker! See, I was right, you WERE layin around! lol.

You just received DERANGED @janton Keep up the great work. Congrats, you have been gifted 1 DerangedCoin. You can redeem 20 of them for an upvote from the deranged.coin account. Redeem your tokens by sending to deranged.coin through Steem Engine with your post URL in the memo field, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Howdy today deranged.coin and thank you for the tokens!

Howdy Janton! This very interesting mystery that I never heard of and I am very curious where the investigation is going take us! Great reading for Saturday when I am doing laundry, lol.

Oh, you haven't heard of this story! I wondered if other countries had heard of it, I know it was WAY before your time but didn't know if it was known in Europe.

Now that's neat! I've come across Earhart-hunters before, but they've always somehow managed to come up empty handed. I suppose if they did happen to land, even somewhere, where evidence would have been left, it becomes possible. Neat!

Howdy sir wwwiebe! Well the circumstantial evidence is rather massive but the ultimate for the skeptics would be to find more of her plane or have the DNA testing come back positive.