The hard way to connect a second monitor

in #mytechlife53413 years ago

The hard way to connect a second monitor

The contractor came out and spent 45 minutes trying various ways to get the second monitor to plug in the computer, but nothing they did worked. I went back to a newly-arrived box of parts from another department, found a DisplayPort to VGA adapter, and set up the second monitor. The user accepted that she may only ever have one monitor, but asked me to take a look when I came back. She managed to find one of the many Dell E2009W units laying around, and also grabbed a VGA cable from the cable bin. I looked at the back of the computer and found that it had a DisplayPort in addition to the VGA port. It has one VGA port on the back, and no other obvious way to get video out of it. When I come back every year, everybody is always glad to see me.