Nanomancer art competition - building a legend on Steem / 300 Steem total reward

in #nanomancer7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6881.JPG

Nanomancer character outline

Nanomancer is a humanoid being from an ancient, technologically advanced civilisation. Their species, known as the Hythsen Marr, were extremely long lived and completely dominated their region of space, subjugating to one extent or anouther, all other intelligent species. With total dominion came emptiness and boredom. Factions within their society began to fracture and make war upon each other, committing unspeakable atrocities by exploiting their technological knowledge.

The Nanomancer was particularly gifted with nano technologies, particularly nanorobotics. Whilst experimenting, he discovered the means of making stable gateways in space time. He began to open gateways and search other worlds for a new place to live, having decided to wipe out the rest of his species and anything caught in between. The prospect of taking his knowledge and finding a new realm to dominate, without the incessant distractions and potential threat posed by his peers, greatly appealed to him.

Once he discovered an appropriate world, he unleashed a plague of nano robots that would turn any organic material to elemental dust. He set free his doom and without a backward glance, stepped through to his new world, the gateway closing behind him.

The new world was unusual in that a pervasive energy field, never before encountered by the Hythsen Marr, enabled matter to be manipulated with thought. He immediately began exploring the possibilities that afforded him. Able to control his nano robots with his mind made them vastly more effective and versatile and he immediately began influencing and exploiting the indigenous population.

Ironically, the energy field that give his own knowledge more potency, gave the inhabitants unexpected resilience and even after 1000 years, total dominion was frustratingly far from complete. He contented himself with the knowledge that his mark on the world was very apparent and despite being thwarted on several occasions, at least he could indulge his diabolical pursuit of knowledge. It was the inhabitants that had named him Nanomancer. It was a name that filled even the strongest with dread.

World Outline

Before the Nanomancer arrived, Gethyra was a vast world of blue skies, blue seas, green and red forests, vast mountain ranges and inhabited by Giants, Elves, Goblins, Trolls, Dwarves, Humanoids, Dragons and many others. The planets inhabitants, over generations had largely formed a peaceful balance, the Dwarves most likely to cause trouble and instigate disharmony. All the inhabitants utilised the energy field in different ways to enhance themselves, the environment, their technologies and their culture.

After 1000 years of war with the Nanomancer, things had changed. The world had been scarred by energy and matter manipulations (or magic,) nano robots and war. The weather was more extreme, the skies and seas altered, darker. The worst effect was arguably what had happened to the inhabitants. To one degree or another, they had been forced to learn some of the Nanomancer's technologies. Not a single species had not begun a process of technological revolution and begun to merge with those technologies. They had become cyborgs. Hardening themselves mentally and physically during the long endless war with their implacable foe.

Competition Rules

Please create a rendering of the Nanomancer. He is alien and dark. Dread should be the first thing that pops into your head when you see him :)

The competition will run for a week....and the winner will be announced shortly after.

I will decide the winner but I am certainly open to whatever feedback is given.....everything is subjective though and to ensure we can progress, i'll make the final decision. I hope there will be plenty of scope for everyone to earn something regardless.

edit - I've decide to increase the competition reward as this is the main character and to hopefully add greater encouragement.

The winner will be awarded 200 Steem (50 Steem to 2nd and 3rd place) and will allow exclusive use of the image for me to determine....thank you :)

Please could you make the entries in your own post, with 'Nanomancer Art Competition Entry - Nanomancer' in the post title. If you want to also put a copy in the comments of this post, please do but please make it as small a version as possible. Please put a notification of entry into the comments in this post.

Hopefully this is the start of an adventure we are undertaking together. I hope it's fun and enjoyable. If you want a little help with styles I have in my mind at the moment, think Bladerunner, Matrix, Judge Dread, Mad Max, and Lord of the Rings all mashed together ;) Perhaps that doesn't help.....ahhh well. We are doing this together so I'm open to literally everything changing.

Good luck everyone!

IMG_6879.JPG


Happy Steeming

Sort:  

Competition reward increased to 300 Steem in total!

No not to late at all! Thank you for your entry @inber.

Here's my submission! Click the illustration to see the full body render and my process. Thank you so much for putting this on @benjojo, I had a blast with this character!
Nanomancer enters Gethyra

Thankyou for your entry @fumansiu

I'm just so glad I didn't miss the cut off :) I only just saw this in the morning so I've been at it all day XD

This is beautiful

Thank you @libert, glad ya like it!

Greetings @benjojo, here my interpretation of the character that I hope you like

Visit my post here

Thank you for your entry @osmerj

Hey @benjojo, Here is my entry drawing for Nanomancer. This was hand-drawn and rendered with color pencils. I hope you like it.

Nanomancer-Composite-SteemPowerPics.jpg

My process post:
https://steemit.com/drawing/@steempowerpics/nanomancer-art-competition-entry-nanomancer-rendering-by-steempowerpics

Thankyou for your entry @steempowerpics

Hi @benjojo I present my design to participate in your contest.


Here the link.. Nanomancer. Greetings..

Thankyou for your entry @oscarcc89

Just did this for fun :) My interpretation of nanomancer avatar!

Thankyou for your entry @jznsamuel

I made this using avatar maker 😂

Forgive me if that doesn't feel right ^^

Thank you for your entry @libert

Click the thumbnail for more of the image thumb.jpg

Cheers and much LUV,
HR

Thank you for your entry @artwatch.

This is my entry for this contest, I hope everyone likes it. And I am so thankful to you @benjojo for this great opportunity.

https://steemit.com/nanomancer/@cryptonet/nanomancer-art-competition-entry-nanomancer

I'm very sorry but it appears you have lifted the image from elsewhere....is the character your artwork? If it is not your artwork then I'm very sorry but I cannot accept your submission.

Nope, I have taken it from pixabay. It's doesn't come under any copy rights and can be used for commercial purpose. In fact, many artists use the pictures from there for their art. Apart from this, I spent a great amount of time to change the color shade of this character and the background I created to match with this picture, I guess this is also an art for sure. Only this character means nothing. All the picture synchronization matters and I spent a great deal of time to make it.
At least take it into consideration. I request.

I can appreciate that you spent time and I accept the images are free to use but this is not in the spirit of the competition. The competition is to design an original character. I really hope you will consider submitting something that is entirely your own....there is still plenty of time. The composition is certainly interesting and I like the direction you were thinking in.

Something original from that guy? He enjoys spinning his content from other sites as well....

The content I write is not from the other sites my friend @fingolfin. It's the idea which I get from other sources. From that idea I create something new, something interesting and something readable. At least I made it more interesting. I take that idea from an under rated place to where it can help people. This is called innovation.
Now tell me something, have born with all the ideas in your mind which you have worked on till now. Obviously, you observed things, you took idea and then you make it work even better. There only 1% things in this World which is new, remaining 99% are the alteration of something. People loves that. Thousands of books with different covers and all get sold. The idea is same but the language and logic is new plus added opinion. If it is really easy, then everyone would have done that.
You're so welcome to create some great content by taking some idea from another source and use it accordingly to make something interesting.
Just visit my profile once, it's far better than those who just click pictures of food and unnecessary stuff. At least I am trying to inspire people and giving them something interesting to read.
I am not judging you brother, I am just trying to make understand not to judge anyone in an instant.
You're welcome to visit my profile by the way, I'd love to have your views on it if it can help you or if it interests you.

I've visited your profile. Some of your articles are just straight copy/paste where as others are spun from different sites. When you do that, when you take something that someone else has written you need to link to the original source.

Okay. It's completely your wish. Though I am really grateful for the appreciation @benjojo.

Good luck, looking forward to seeing some of the creations!

Me too! I really can't wait! I do hope I've managed to pique the interest of at least some of our artistic Steemians!

I'm not an artist, but this sounds fun!

Cool! I'm glad you think so.

Loved the description and excited to see the entries... I wish I were good at art, but for now I'll encourage some of my friends to participate :) All the best!

Thank you that's very kind of you. The more the merrier :)

@benjojo is there a particular software you want us to use? I usually make my art on my phone.

Not at all. I don't think there is any reason to restrict the kind of art or manner in which it's created. Someone could do a pencil drawing and upload a photo if they like. I hope that helps :)

Within the context of the project, ideas and characters can be revised, refined etc. So a pencil rendering of the Nanomancer for the purpose of Themis competition could become a digital piece further down the line.

Cool :)
Thanks for clarifying ☺

I have made an art work. Should I submit that here or Should I make a post first and then provide it's link here ? @benjojo

Make a post, comment here and include the link in the comment. Thank you.

Hi, I want to say thank you so much for your help, You are so kind, I will pay you back some how, Thank you again :) oh should mention you made me cry like a baby, :)

You are welcome. You don't have to pay it back, it was a gift :)

Thank you so much, you are so kind, :)

@ghostcode maybe you can do this with your rendering skills.

Thank you for letting your friend know bud!

Well, that was a bleak read @benjojo Nice dark theme. I fraking love it!! Well I'm glad I stumble on to this today as I've allotted the next 2 days for artwork as I haven't found any new time in the past few months to work on anything new. Stoked even just for the fun of it.

That's great! I can't wait to see your art!

Wasn't able to start yet had too crazy of a week. @benjojo is the deadline tomorrow? Perhaps I can get something done by tomorrow night.

That's ok. If you would still like to submit an entry, I will accept it until the end of today....I'm on UK time.

Hi, can you do all kinds of art? That is, drawing, video, gif or image.

I'm not sure how you would create the character with video or a gif but I'm open to being surprised! As long as the work is yours then it's up to you.

Hey @benjojo, I'm cutting it close on time - but I will have my submission in to you later today.

That's fantastic! You are doing fine, the competition isn't even over until tomorrow.

Excellent, thank you.

Hi there, I really love the premise and I'm working on something for you. If I submit before midnight tonight will you still consider my entry? That's in about 6 hours for me. Obviously I'll upload sooner if I finish early.

Just wanted to check and also say awesome idea!

You are all good, I'm happy to accept entries through today :)

Much thanks, I've gotten one in to you. It was a lot of fun to work on :)

When is the last day for this competition?

Hi, this competition is now closed. I'm very sorry if you've made something for it. There will be other competitions. Feel free to make a post about your entry and link a comment with a thumbnail version in here if you like?

Thank you @benjojo Followed. Will do. Thanks!

A word full of meaning. Can be fascinated for the reader and luwabiasa.follow me @imranroza