Homemade Vegan Pizza | All ingredients made from scratch

Hi, Foodies!
Today I made vegan pizza, since I had some silken tofu left I made cheese the same way as yesterday in my Vegan Creamy Garlic Cheese and other cheesy recipes post. The only difference is that I used less garlic in cheese.

IMG_20210119_150930_1.jpg

I even found a can of Dark Staropramen beer in the pantry. That was a surprise. I'm not a big fan of drinking alcohol but, the flavors of this Czech beer complemented the pizza incredibly.

I have a big garden and I'm self-sufficient with food, most of it I freeze and can and today I will describe recipes for homemade tomato and chili sauce.

First I would like to talk about pizza dough. There are many recipes for it and my favorite is yogurt dough. I used vegan yogurt, you can find recipe for it in my previous post.
Pizza dough likes resting, so I would recommend preparing it a day ahead, wrap it in a stretch foil and keep it in the fridge overnight.

Ingredients for the dough:
0.5 kg of flour
2 dl of water
20 g of fresh yeast
1 of teaspoon sugar
1 dl of vegan yogurt
0.5 teaspoons of salt
3 tablespoons of olive oil

In a tall pot, crush the yeast and mix it with one tablespoon of flour, sugar and 1 dl of warm water to form a yeast. Let the yeast rise in a warm place.
Sip flour into a large bowl and make a hole in the middle. Salt the flour along the edge and pour the yeast and some of warm water into the bowl, into the hole- we call this volcano. Let it rise a little again in a warm place.
Mix 1 dl of vegan yogurt with 1 dl of water and warm it up a little. Mix yeast and flour with a wooden spoon, while slowly adding warm water and yogurt mix.
IMG_20210119_113533_1.jpg
Once you form a ball, transfer the dough to a floured board and knead it with both hands. Knead the dough until it separates nicely from the board and hands.
Cover it with olive oil and wrap it in stretch foil. Put it in the refrigerator overnight or at least for two hours.
IMG_20210119_114041_1.jpg

Ingredients for pizza toppings:
homemade tomato sauce
dark olives
green bell pepper
red onion
oregano
hot chili sauce

IMG_20210119_141413_1.jpg

Just cut vegetables in any shape you like.
Take the pizza dough out of the fridge and put it on a floured surface. Shape it any way you like (I used a round shape) with your hands.
IMG_20210119_143351_1.jpg
Coat it with tomato sauce, place your toppings on it and put some vegan cheese on top. Sprinkle with oregano and put it in a hot oven for 10 minutes or until nicely baked.
IMG_20210119_143526.jpg

IMG_20210119_151839_1.jpg

Recipe for homemade tomato sauce:
10 kg of fresh, ripe tomatoes
70 g of salt
2 bunches of fresh basil

Wash and dry the tomatoes with a kitchen towel. Cut into quarters or chunks. Put it in a large, deep pot. Add half the salt (35g) and two bunches of basil and mix well. Cover with a cloth and leave for 12 - 16 hours at room temperature. This way, the tomato juices will drop and the basil will add a wonderful aroma.
Take the basil out of the pot and discard (or better yet, use it in some other dish). Place the pot on a high heat and wait for the tomatoes to boil while stirring regularly, then reduce the heat. Cook on low heat for 2-3 hours, leaving only a third of the amount. Stir occasionally. Add the rest of the salt (35g) to taste, if you like, depending on your taste.
Preheat the oven to 100 ° C, place clean jars and lids on a tray and place in the oven for 15 minutes.
Place a fine sieve over a large bowl and pour in the cooked tomatoes and stir well over the sieve.
Pour filtered tomato sauce into hot jars or bottles. Close the jars with a lid, wrap in a larger blanket and allow cooling it slowly. Then store in a cold and dark place for up to a year or prepare a dish.

IMG_20210120_112037_1.jpg

Recipe for hot chili sauce
150 g of chilies, hot peppers or jalapeños
1 small onion
1 red bell pepper
a clove of garlic
2 tomatoes
4 tablespoons of olive oil
3 dl of herb white wine vinegar or apple vinegar
3 dl of water
a tablespoon of sugar
a tablespoon of salt

Finely dice chilies, hot peppers or jalapeños, onion and bell pepper.
Heat up olive oil and fry vegetables on medium heat for 5 minutes. Add crushed garlic and diced tomatoes. Cook for another 10 minutes, on low heat, with a lid on and stir occasionally.
Add vinegar, water, salt and sugar and boil on low heat for another 20 minutes, with a lid on, stirring occasionally.
While waiting, heat up the oven on 100 ⁰C and put in clean bottles or cans. To get them sterilized they need to stay in the oven for at least 15 minutes.
Transfer your hot sauce into a food processor and blend it well. Sip it trough cheese cloth and boil it up again.
Pour your hot sauce in hot bottles, close them and put it back in the oven for 40 minutes, or boil them in a water bath for 40 minutes.
Keep it in a cold and dark place (in the pantry or a basement).
This hot sauce will stay good for a few years, if its processed and stored in a right way.

Sort:  

I would love a bite of that pizza. Great instruction and very nice post!

I will not lie, I do not regret a single bite. 😋
Pizza is a real comfort food.

Sign me up for a slice... or three. 😜

Posted using Dapplr

Come over to Balkans! 😃

Wow @blackberryskunk, you really are cooking up a storm, this looks amazingly good and all from scratch! Just wow!

Thank you. 😊
I love to make my recipes from scratch, it is a way to connect with my food on an energy level, because we shouldn't take food for granted, it's a great gift of nature. 💚

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Congratulations @blackberryskunk! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

That last picture!!! Are they all your homemade pickles??!!!! 😍😍😍😍😍😍😍 that is so cool!looks all so delicious 🤤

Those are pickled vegetables, vegetable mushroom and fruit sauces, purees, jams and jellies (I couldn’t get it all in the photo).
I make them every season out of my garden harvest and foraging the forests, some of the fruits I also get as a payment, for helping farmers in their orchards and vineyards (we produce a lot of wine around here). I must say it takes a lot of time, I usually spend early mornings for gardening during the summer and I cook and can it during the night while it is not too hot to do it.
My mother use to can food a lot, as a child I always wanted to help, and she explained the process to me while doing it. I inherited a lot of knowledge and recipes from her. I somehow energetically feel that we are still canning together.

I don’t know where are you living but I think you are living a very rich life!!! It is my dream to be able to have a piece of land and grow all the fresh produce... canning or pickling the extras... the fresh produce we get from grocery stores are full of chemicals and ripening during the days that is being transported everywhere. How much nutrients really left after... it will be my retirement goal to do what you are doing today!

In Balkans, I do live rich up here, but I also had to give up a lot for it and its not so easy living off the ground, but I use to be really depressed when I lived a fast life in my past, I really feel like being one with nature, gifted with all the beauty helped me to get better.

yesit definitely is hard work. We only have a very small garden when the harvest time comes I feel overwhelmed. I can’t imagine with your farm the scale is so so so much bigger, the amount of time and physical effort you have to committed to... thanks for sharing your experience with me, I hope you will find the balance with the joy from the natural and hardship you have to bare through when living off the ground. I think life is like that, every step we choose there is something to give, some people pay the price to live in the high stressful environment for very superficial stuff... I think you are living with true wealth and like you said it also has a price to pay. It’s very nice to meet you in here and I really enjoy your posts ❤️

Wow, that is quite a cupboard you've got going on there. Well-equipped indeed! !ENGAGE 50


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I try 🙏🏻

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow - look at your amazing cheesey pizza! It's incredible. I now have a MASSIVE craving for it!!! I mean, pizza is one thing vegans miss, right? And using your own hot sauce - wow! Bonus HIVE for you!

Sorry I missed it when it first came out. Sharing it on TWITTER now too.

A little tip for your help this week with the market shenanigans.

@riverflows x

I missed cheese on pizza for a long time, until I find out that there are vegan cheese recipes with ingredients that I can afford. I couldn't eat pizza without a hot sauce.
Thank you @riverflows.