Natural Medicine Sessions: Microdosing with @alchemage

We're so pleased to introduce @thetreeoflife as our resident interviewer! She's a big advocate of natural medicines and has been the victim subject of Natural Medicine interviews before, and loved it so much she volunteered to do some interviews of her own. This week she's interviewing @alchemage, who recently joined Natural Medicine with a generous delegation.

INTERVIEW SESSIONS.fw.png

If you haven't encountered @alchemage before, we highly recommend you engage with this wonderful Steemian. He's working toward a bachelor's degree in biochemistry, with projects in nutrition and chemistry. You'll find the mage musing on all sorts of interesting topics with insight, intelligence and interest. No wonder @thetreeoflife chose him as her victim subject!

download1.png

TOL: So! Microdosing! This is a hot topic nowadays, and the idea of using psilocybin mushrooms as Medicine seems to be catching on. First of all, could you tell us a little about microdosing for those who aren't familiar with the term? Many are likely familiar with recreational or spiritual use of psilocybin, but microdosing seems to be accomplishing more than a temporary expansive state. What are the benefits of microdosing vs macrodosing?

Alchemage: To begin, microdosing with psychedelic medicine means to use tiny portions of the chosen psychedelic in amounts which seem to show no significant changes in the psyche. This amounts to about 100-200mg (0.1-0.2g) for psilocybin mushrooms, and about a quarter of a dose of LSD (~38 μg). I’m not familiar enough with other psychedelics to know their dosages for microdosing. As for what the benefits are, let me explain a bit about the mechanism of action which allows these psychedelics to affect us. Our brains send signals through the mind and body through the use of compounds known as neurotransmitters. These compounds fit into tiny receptor sites on the outside of the cell bodies, in turn causing a change within the cell creating the signal response. Serotonin is one of the main neurotransmitters used by the brain which has a large role in our happiness as individuals. Molecules like LSD, psilocin (the dephosphorylized conjugate to psilocybin), mescaline, and DMT all mimic the eurotransmitter serotonin. By fitting into the serotonin receptor site, a cascade effect is then felt throughout the body. Specifically, the main receptor activated is the 5HT-2A serotonin receptor. Activation of this receptor site dampens the default mode network, among many other things. The default mode network is associated with daydreaming, thinking about the past/future, thinking about the self and others, and other internal thought cycles. An overactive default mode network has been correlated with cases of depression and anxiety. So, by microdosing with psychedelics which activate the 5HT-2A receptor, one is effectively working to simulate serotonin’s affect on the mind and body. While macrodosing will overload the receptor sites and cause them to be withdrawn and degradated in the cell, which leads to a tolerance build up, one could potentially microdose psilocybin every day. LSD, we are just discovering, creates a “lid” on the receptor which in turn causes the LSD to stick to the site, which over time is then withdrawn and degradated in the cell. This means microdosing every day with LSD has potential drawbacks as one must wait for the receptors to replenish themselves.
Does that answer the question? Lol.. I tend to babble some times.

image.png
Psilocybin can really help individuals push the Pause button on the "ruminating" part of the brain

TOL: Please, babble on! I have also heard that microdosing psilocybin can really help individuals push the Pause button on the "ruminating" part of the brain, which I think is part of that overactive default mode network you speak of. I can really see the benefits to moving away from being "caught" in the over thinking, over functioning mind. What you mention too about the difference to the receptor sites through macrodosing vs microdosing is really fascinating. It makes me think about the correlation of homeopathic remedies as well, where we take tiny amounts of things to create a healing, medicinal effect to enact change or a desired state in our minds or our lives.

What benefits have you personally received from microdosing? And would you recommend microdosing to someone who suffers from anxiety or depression? I personally could really see the potential benefits of more connectedness to the world and the self while still being very functional, and not feeling the effects that psilocybin are more known for. But I would love to hear your perspective and experience on their use as a tool. Do you use it for healing, personal growth, or as an antidepressant?

Alchemage: Quite so, the "ruminating" pause button you mention is exactly what I was describing with the dampening affect of the default mode network. Though, I'm not so sure I would liken it to homeopathic treatments, as homeopathic treatments involve repeated dilution to the point where no molecules of the original compound exist in solution. Homeopathy works off the idea that water/alcohol retains memory through vibration, but there's no way that it could ever possibly affect the brain the same way as a microdose as the brain requires molecular receptors to send signals which homeopathic remedies just do not possess.

I personally microdose using psilocybin and use it for all of the above - healing, personal growth, and antidepressant. I experience chronic Post Traumatic Stress Disorder from several different traumatic experiences throughout my life which has lead me to experience severe anxiety and depression. Psilocybin mushrooms help me keep my internal musings to a minimum, which in turn allows me to focus on more meaningful things, and to not be too distracted by my inner dialogue when conducting daily tasks. I've been microdosing for only a few short months now, but the effects are certainly noticeable. I would certainly recommend using psychedelic microdosing to anyone who experiences anxiety or depression who has not previously attempted such. I would also like to mention that like any route of healing, using these microdose medicines alone is not going to bring about a whole and complete healthy self. These drugs are not miracles in that one can take it once a day and everything is a-okay. The benefits I receive from these medicines is coupled with weekly therapy sessions, which can often be quite intense, and daily mindfulness practices. Healing is not easy, and the path to health is arduous. One must put in the work in order to receive the just reward.

TOL: I'm glad you mention adjunct therapies and practices to the benefits of microdosing. I completely agree, I don't think any medicine out there is a panacea. It always seems to come back to how deeply a person wants to explore the self and their own awareness. Medicines are amazing tools, but they can only open the doors, each person has to choose to take the walk and make their personal discoveries. With that in mind, are there other conditions you feel microdosing could be beneficial for? Or, do you feel that any particular therapies or practices lend to healing better when combined with psilocybin microdosing? Also, you mentioned that psilocybin could potentially be taken daily as a microdose. Do you experience any decreased tolerance while daily dosing? And is there a dose cap where tolerance would be less likely?

Alchemage: Absolutely, self-exploration is necessary to finding health. There is so much that lies within the sub/unconscious mind that can only be discovered by going into the cellar with a flashlight. And without recognition of these facets of our psyche, we are bound to act out their influences without knowledge of their root cause.

Well, as with any medicine, it depends significantly on the person. I've been told that some people successfully use microdosing to curb their ADD/ADHD, while for me it does nothing for my attention focus. A friend of mine uses it to help reduce the muscle spasms he experiences from Tourette syndrome. There are many things that these medicines can be useful for, but we don't really know a whole lot of them, and the ones we do know we don't know a whole lot about why, all because of the strict era of prohibition we are finally exiting.

As I mentioned previously, I have a counselor that I visit weekly, and I practice mindfulness techniques as often as I can throughout the day. I think that meditation and mindfulness are two really helpful practices that can be easily combined with microdosing.

Before answering the next question, I want to state that I am not a doctor. I do have a background in biochemistry, but I have not gotten a PhD in said studies quite yet. As well, I mentioned the prohibition state we are leaving, this has restricted studies severely, and only recently have we been able to have any significant research done in the field of psychedelics and psychedelic medicine. That said, my mention of dosing daily with psilocybin comes as a theory of my own. Microdosing does not overload the receptors, or should not if using small enough dosages. Thus, a tolerance should not develop. I personally have only just started over the past couple of weeks daily microdosing and have felt no reduced effects. My friend I mentioned with the Tourette syndrome has been daily microdosing for months and was telling me just the other day how much it has improved his life. As for a dose cap, I'm really not too sure. If daily microdosing, I would suggest starting with no more than .1 and seeing how that affects you, then go from there. There's really no way to know for certain until more research is accomplished in this field of study.

TOL: It's fortunate, especially in light of prohibition, that there is enough anecdotal experience with psychedelics that people interested in using them as an alternative to other medications have some good information to use as a starting point. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge about microdosing, as well as your personal experience. I think a lot of people could benefit from knowledge like this.
You are right that medicines affect different people differently. In my own experience, I have tried microdosing and found that I was very sensitive to psilocybin. At very low doses I could really feel the effects of the medicine. Others I have talked to though say they need higher doses to really feel the benefits. As with any other medicine though, I'm sure much of the effects have to do with other medications, supplements, or foods we are consuming at the time. In your opinion, are there any particular medications or supplements that may make microdosing psychedelics less effective? Or on the flip side, are there any particular substances to avoid while microdosing? I understand there probably isn't a ton of formal research on the combined effects of psychedelics with other medications. However, I could see how many people who would be interested in treating anxiety, depression, or other illnesses may already be taking other medications or supplements. For instance, I know people who take GABAergic compounds to treat anxiety (such as valerian root) who would also be interested in microdosing. Not to pick your brain further, but what are your thoughts on this?

Alchemage: Compounds that will make these medicines less effective are any antipsychotic, benzodiazepines, and sedatives. Ones that will make them more effective are monamine oxidase inhibitors, MAOIs, harmaline is a naturally occurring MAOI. Valerian root having sedative properties would most likely cancel out the effects of the psychedelic, but I don’t know for certain. And ask away! I’m not a people person, so my best conversations are informative conversations.

TOL: Thank you @alchemage, you've truly been a wealth of information, and I very much appreciate your personal perspective on microdosing as well. It's such a fascinating topic, being able to use these substances as a method or tool for wellness. Is there anything else you'd like to share with us in regards to microdosing? Do you have any advice in particular you could offer to someone who is interested or just starting out their own microdosing journey?

Alchemage: You are quite welcome, it is my pleasure to share any and all knowledge. Frankly, I feel very privileged to live in a state that has decriminalized personal use of illicit substances, in turn giving myself and others the opportunity to see how these medicines can benefit our lives. My only advice would be to start with .0.1g or less, and start with the whole three day schedule most espouse as the regular microdosing regimen. Pay close attention to how your mind and body react over the time between dosing, perhaps keep a journal. After a few weeks, if you feel the need, you can increase the dose amount and/or frequency as you see fit, but always start low and infrequent to get a baseline. And remember, it’s a microdose, chances are that the changes will be very subtle.

TOL: Also, I realize we have focused more on psilocybin. Haha but do you notice in your experience with psychedelic microdosing that any type (such as LSD or DMT) is more particularly helpful? Is one type easier to dose than another? I know in many places, supply is a real consideration for making this a viable option long term as well. If comparing the options, what are some things you would consider in regards to this?

Alchemage: I only have personal experience with microdosing with psilocybin, so I cannot really speak much on the others outside of theoretical and others’ anecdotes. As for supply being an issue, grow your own mushrooms. It’s extremely easy and inexpensive. DMT extraction is fairly simple as well. Both of these routes have completely legal ways to purchase all the materials required, the legality issue comes when you grow/extract. Mushroom spores can be purchased legally for “microscopy use,” and DMT plant material can be purchased as a natural plant dye. Mescaline can be grown in a cactus sold at many nurseries, even Home Depot often sells a variety with low alkaloid content. LSD is the only one I can say is truly a supply issue, as the chemicals required to produce it are heavily restricted. However, you can literally YouTube how to grow or extract the compounds I mentioned previously.

TOL: I have also heard that using psilocybin mushrooms can actually repair damaged brain cells. If so, is this true of microdosing as well? There is some evidence too that points toward psilocybin also connecting parts of the brain that usually don't talk to one another. I'd love to hear your opinion on it!

Alchemage: I have no knowledge of psilocybin repairing damaged brain cells, but one of its features is that it increases connection density, so it would not surprise me that it may repair damaged cells. I know about as much as you have stated in your question about the connectivity between non communicating parts of the brain, heh. I know it happens, but that’s about it. My neuroscience is very limited heh.

TOL: No worries! Thanks for your Insight :-) I have two more quick questions and then we will have to be done whether I like it or not LOL as I believe this interview is being published tomorrow :-)

You mentioned your friend who uses microdosing to help control his tourettes tremors. It brings up a related question: It is known that psychedelics have a tendency to lower the seizure threshold. What are the effects of microdosing on this threshold, if any? Also, do you recommend sticking to one consistent strain of psilocybin, or is a little bit of healthy experimentation more beneficial?

Alchemage : Sounds great! I look forward to it! I was unaware that psychedelics lower the seizure threshold, but it makes sense to me that it would do so. That said, I would have to assume that there is still some affect on the threshold even with a microdose, but it would be minute in comparison to a macrodose. Again, I am no doctor, and from a quick query it seems there is only anecdotal reference to this, though quite a bit. There are certainly enough anecdotal references to warrant further research into this phenomenon.

Psilocybin is psilocybin is psilocybin - the different strains of cubensis are all extremely similar in their effects. The only real difference I've noticed in strains is in how they grow. Certain strains mature faster than others, while others are more resilient to contamination than others. Different species, however, such as the Psilocybe cyanescens, seem to have a slightly different effect, which I can only assume is attributed to other synergistic compounds grown in the different species. Species outside of the P. cubensis are a bit more difficult to grow yourself without some developed background in myco-cultivation, thus, for an individual looking to get into microdosing with limited access might want to look into P. cubensis, perhaps do a bit of research on which are more contaminant friendly for the first few rounds of cultivation. From my experience, the contaminant resistant strains are more often much slower to reach maturity. And really, unless you are getting your spores from a reputable source and growing them yourself, you have no idea what strain you are genuinely receiving. Just like cannabis in prohibitory states, strains of cubensis are often sold under names that they are not because certain strains have gained notoriety just through gossip, such as the Golden Teacher cultivar.

TOL: You make some excellent points. I don't know about you, but I'm really excited to see the new direction of psychedelic medicine, and also where these kinds of treatments take us as individuals and as a collective. Thanks so much again @alchemage for taking the time to chat and answer my many questions! Haha I've learned a lot, and it's been just a really nice experience chatting with you. Are there any resources or photos you'd like to share with the readers?

Alchemage: Again, you are very welcome. The only thing I can think of off the top of my head is this:

It is the first of a short series of how to grow mushrooms which can be applied directly to the psilocybe cubensis.

We hoped you loved this interview as much as we did. You might like to check out https://thethirdwave.co/ and anything by Paul Stamets, if you are interested in more interesting conversations about mushrooms. He's a mushie expert, and is very pro psychedelics.


Have you had experiences with microdosing? We'd love to hear from you, either in the comments or in our little Discord Community.


image.png

image.png

Please consider delegating to @naturalmedicine by clicking any amount below. The minimum entry for membership is 10SP, and helps support and celebrate your work with natural remedies, healings and nurturings on this gorgeous blockchain!

10SPII20SPII50SPII75SPII100SPII200II300SPII500SPII1000SP
heartlogo.fw.png

Sort:  

This is a fascinating topic, and I 💜💜💜 that we’re having this conversation.

I’m curious @alchemage whether you have any experience or biochem knowledge about Hawaiian Baby Woodrose seeds.

I’ve had this at ‘normal’ dose for recreational purposes, and reflecting on my experiences with that have wondered about microdosing with this.

I’m also curious your thoughts on combining microdoses of these with other herbs... in TCM we always combine medicinals to create a formula. So I’m thinking combining psilocybin, HBWR, and dopamine tonic like Mucuna Pruriens (Cowitch or Velvet Bean). I’d love to rap with you about this and talk shop more....

What is it that you want to know about HBWR? From my understanding, the seeds contain d-lysergic acid amide (LSA), an ergoline which can be used as a precursor for the synthesis of LSD and a decently active psychedelic. As for microdosing, I think that might be difficult without having a stable purified extract to be able to appropriately measure a dose. The alkaloid content is so varied that it would be difficult to guess the right measurement, and I have similar qualms with cacti microdosing.

Creating synergistic mixtures is a great idea, IMO. This is the first I’ve heard of the legume you’ve mentioned, but after reading this article, it sounds like you’ve got a nice little concoction going. Though, because of the LSA, it’s something you wouldn’t want to consume daily as you would end up overloading the serotonigenic cell receptors, rendering the medicine useless over time.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3942911/

I feel like it would be a great combination, the microdose psilocybin with velvet bean. My hubby takes these together a lot, I can ask him how he feels about the combination.

That would be great. Mucuna is such a potent Ayurvedic Medicine, I used to use it when I was a practicing herbalist, it’s one of the ones I’m surprised never got imported into the TCM materia medica, given so many were imported into China in the early days.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome and informative interview, great job @treeoflife and @alchemage. I have eaten magic mushrooms a number of times with many different results. The most enjoyable times have been on a very low dose which resulted in great bouts of laughter, these were very heart opening occassions.

I have a friend who is deep into the growing and experiential study of psilocybin. She recently shared a theory with me - that the fungus was literally opening up connections in the brain. Created a 'hyper-connected' state. Symbolically we could correlate this function to how the mycelium gives a deeper connection layer to tree roots. That is in essence what this spirit does, it makes sense to the shaman aspect in me!

Psilocyben specifically (other compounds haven't been studied in this manner as far as I'm aware) has the effect of increasing neuron density, so her hypothesis is correct! The mycellium network that connects living beings is extremely fascinating. I had a friend run some experiments with mycorhizzal fungi in bio class that were pretty amazing in how the fungi were able to connect several plants as "one."

Wow that is quite amazing that it's backed up by science. To have 'empirical evidence' is very important for most people in gaining trust of something. Personally I have kind of stopped looking for evidence for things that I know experientially or intuitively to be true, yet I would say that this attitude is not common. Ideally I guess science will start to move into consciousness and metaphysics, to find proofs for what experientially can be known. Probably is happening already.

I have heard some strange and beautiful things about fungi working for the ecosystem. Pulling dead fish down into the ground and placing it into the roots of a tree. Recently I listened to a podcast explaining how the trees literally share nutrients amongst each other - and the mycelium network makes this happen. Trees and fungi seem to be forest farmers 🍄🌿

Really it blows my mind to think about it. How these organisms naturally and spontaneously create self sustaining and self correcting systems. They only need time, and they naturally balance, grow, and diversify. In harmony with the natural forces of life, fungi and plants are on another order of existence!

It's interesting you say that @phillyc, mushrooms are known to be purifying in general, all types of mushrooms, their inherent nature is one of purification. Thanks for sharing this connection! Wonderful insight there. As you know already, other examples of purifying practices are yoga, meditation, qigong. 🙏 Also quantum healing, and the relationships we perceive and cultivate through shamanic practice.
Mycelium is it's own neural network, and there's a huge amount of information that points toward mycelium literally being the neural network of the whole planet. 😊

It would certainly make sense if mycelium was the planets 'brain', I have contemplated this at times. Metaphysically we can say that both plants and fungi live in accordance with the law of least resistance. Their inherent way of being forms these awesome systems. What this means is that they will naturally take on the form and function which life is inclined to organise its self into naturally. Life evolves into intelligence and higher consciousness, it is harmonious to pursue this and it is out of harmony to stagnate or degrade back into previous forms of consciousness. That's seeing our place in the scheme of things.

🍄🍄🍄

In the case of planet Earth this is some kind of micro or macro cosm of the neural network. Life always has this tendency to build in complexity and diversity, ultimately creating a highly dense network of connectivity and symbiosis. We could say that us two leggeds have embodied this in our brains but are still figuring out how to implement it on the macro scale. The conundrum of free will I guess, each has to make their own choice to be a part of the wider network - yet somehow still honor their individuality.

👹👼👽

Then we look at nature, or maybe eat a few mushrooms. And the whole thing seems to make sense, or perhaps we just laugh at ourselves and burst the bubble of our own seriousness 😏😏😏

@phillyc please join us next week for the radio show if you can. We would love your insights.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will try to make it 😉 there's an intention Healing group I work with on Sunday's that I'm fairly committed to ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

That sounds almost as important 😉😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Great information here. I think it's great that you are using microdosing alongside therapy and mindfulness techniques. I've used tapping along with psychedelics very effectively, both full doses and microdoses. The integration of whatever is happening into your life is probably the most important element and having processes that you can use to support this is essential.

Ooh I think we have the next topic for the Natural Selection chat show maybe..... a conversation on entheogens and medicine .....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks ! I’m really interested in how you’ve used tapping integration with psychedelics. Definitely would be a great follow up interview!

Great - I'm up for it!

Since I missed out on chatting microdosing with you this time @eftnow, I'd love to catch you for a piece on integrating mindfulness, tapping, and other skills in conjuction with psychedelic use. I 💯 agree, when microdosing we are afforded an opportunity to really get some new habits integrated into our lives. It's a chat I'd love to be involved in :-)

I'd love to do this. I've done a couple of articles on this on Steemit a while back. Definitely up for doing an interview on psychedelic integration.

Terrific! Looking forward to it 😊

I'm super interested in this due to the anxiety I suffer. However, last time I macrodosed shrooms, I got uber anxious and ended up stroking my friends possum skin all morning and trying not to have a heart attack, breathing mindfully so as not to lose my shit (I was no stranger to them either, and it wasn't so much the experience itself that was anxious inducing, but the chemical reactions going on). I wonder if that's just different reactions as you say or whether it's the dosage that is pertinent (I suspect the latter).

You were absolutely not babbling - this was so interesting and informative @alchemage and I really enjoyed it. I have read a bit about this and am glad to hear first hand that it is has had a good effect on you so far. All my blessings - ruminating is tough work and exhausting, so I'm glad this has given you some respite. xx

Oh no, that sounds like a really tough experience! Dosage very much has a lot to do with anxiety, but our mental states have a much stronger affect on such with the psychedelic in hand. If we have unresolved issues underlying in our psyche, psychedelics will put them in the forefront to be dealt with. This is the key to psychedelic trauma therapy. A psychedelic will force you to relive your traumas until you are able to reprocess them in a healthy manner. IMO, this is why so many people get anxiety and paranoia from cannabis. There is so much fear bred into our society, from terrorism to being stuck in a paycheck to paycheck cycle and more, that it unconsciously trickles out in the presence of a psychedelic. Most of the time, we are unaware of the unresolved issue and so that anxiety becomes overwhelming in the worst way. This is not to say that these drugs don’t cause anxiety in general, but rather that this generalized anxiety becomes much worse with underlying issues at hand. This is also why I do not believe in “bad trips.” I call them tough experiences, and that is because you are being faced with a side of yourself you’d rather not deal with. Often, we run from it and try to fix it rather than dive headfirst into the abyss and resolve the malfunction in our psyches. Neither way is wrong, but one way leads to release and contentment, while the other leads to attachment and comfort.

I am glad you enjoyed the interview, I had a great time conversing with @thetreeoflife! Thank you for the kind words. I hope you can find a way to get control of your own anxiety. <3

I had always had enlightening and beautiful experiences in the past and never had any bad ju ju. Clearly I'm trying to sort something out.. it's a process. So glad there are people to learn from here! I'm definitely a head first girl. I'd rather grapple than hide. X

Posted using Partiko Android

Psychedelics are very obscure in that manner. I used them for years in copious amounts and never experienced anxiety or paranoia, but then one day it all changed and I became extremely sensitive to these compounds and how they affected my chemistry. I'm a headfirst individual myself. Its difficult, but so much more rewarding, imo.

So funny story I was pulling this post up to share the link with a friend and it opened to a comment field I never filled out, in response to your comment, so I read it again and I saw your comment about stroking the possum and literally almost died. Hahaha and suddenly I remembered that I was in the middle of the last time I almost died from your possum comment (and apparently thought it was so funny that I forgot to finish my comment) and now here we are. Lol

That's my story for the night. Lol

You make me laugh so much. I love you!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

The last thought I remember before falling asleep yesterday was that I need to start microdosing mushrooms to easily form new habits and become more productive.
Thanks for the knowledge from the interview!

I heard that evolutionary speaking we as humans would have been eating (microdosing) shrooms and getting our good source of b12 quite regularly and naturally historically so I'm all for it all though I don't regularly microdose myself, I'd advocate taking them from time to time!

The Stoned Ape theory put forth by Terrence McKenna certainly suggests that a macrodose in developing primates was what set us apart evolutionarily with consciousness.

Congratulations @naturalmedicine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you selecting me to be interviewed and taking the time to put this together in an easy to digest manner. It is my pleasure to be a part of this initiative. Keep up the great work!

You are welcome!!!! Xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

another fantastic interview and @alchemage has such a wealth of knowledge, I really enjoy watching his vlogs. You guys should maybe do video interviews xxx

@trucklife-family time in tomorrow 10 am AU time on NM!!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is all new for me but thanks a lot for the info. Perhaps in the future, anyone can talk about ayahuasca?

Perhaps @metametheus @alchemage @thetreeoflife this should be one of the topics we throw in the ring for the next radio show?

Posted using Partiko Android

It would be a good one to discuss. I have never done ayahausca, so I cannot really speak on it much outside of the pharmacological aspects. Even that, each tribe is so varied in their constituents its a vast generalization. The only things that I can definitively speak upon in ayahausca is the vine and the leaf. I would certainly love to see what someone with more in-depth understanding than I has to share on this topic though!

Perhaps the pharmacological aspect would be a cool topic in combination with it? @riverflows

oh let me find someone if she wants?that would be cool.

What a wealth of knowledge! I could mostly relate with microdosing and homeopathic remedies which my husband use to have a whole kit of that we used for certain remedies. My husband did DMT in microdosing but that was super powerful for such tiny amounts. I tend to shy away from psychedelics for I tend to like my feet very firmly planted on the ground but this microdosing sounds good to give a boost to the serotonin levels. Thanks for sharing this wonderful information!

Excellent read (well I read half and than I listened to the rest of it in TTS!)...
Thank you @alchemage for all this info from your experience and thank you @treeoflife for some excellent questions.

My wife and I were just given a vile of mushroom extract just last month and we haven't touched it yet!!! I personally am a little scared, I mean I like mushrooms for fun, well I used to and I also used to LOVE LSD but now I'm scared of it.

Mushrooms I can deal with in very small quantities, I guess by taking just a tiny bit at a time to feel just a little euphoric and awake for a party or something.... but no more. With acid I could never feel like I had control of the dose so I don't touch it anymore it makes me feel paranoid. But Micro-dosing is a completely new thing to me since hearing about it only about a year ago.

I'll have to go back through the interview to see the dosage you recommended and research more on-line too, especially growing my own!

Thanks again for a super interesting interview you guys!