The Book That Began A Life-Long Journey For Truth...


Picture Source

In 2009 a neighborhood friend and I decided to read a book together, at the same time, and share our learning with each other. It was to be a small "book club" if you will - just two people, who both were interested in asking "why?" I'll refer to my friend as "Sam," throughout this post. This post is in response to the #naturalmedicine book challenge to which we have been asked to post on books that have been interesting or life changing. I've read hundreds of books and exerts since this first book I'm about to describe. I hope that sharing my story can perhaps enlist one more person to begin a personal journey of self-discovery such as I.

In the autumn of 2007, I moved to a suburban area in eastern Pennsylvania. It was a move from Tampa, Florida - of where I had resided for over 8 years prior. My time in Florida was spent beginning my career and establishing myself. I worked very hard and with little time for play or fun. I was determined to find success in my chosen career field.

By the time I decided to change companies and move back north in 2007, I was a much more established and had earned a steady and consistent income. It was about this time that I began to wonder much more about life; such as - why do we exist? What purpose could we possibly have in this human existence? Are we alone as the only intelligent life in this universe?

This is where my friend Sam enters the picture. After moving back to Pennsylvania and purchasing a house in a suburban neighborhood, my wife and I bestowed upon some friends (neighbors) that lived on the same block as us. Ironically they were similar age and all married like us. Sam and I took a quick liking to each other as we often discussed many of the same topics mentioned above. We would sit out to the early hours of the morning on my back deck, lost in time, discussing many of the wonders and theories of the known universe.

Sam was an atheist. As for myself - I was not sure what I was but I knew that "something" existed of a higher power. I don't classify as a religious person. I don't now and I didn't then. But many of our conversations would fall upon topics of religion and whether or not there is a God. Many of my conversations with Sam were centered around, "what harm can come from at least having faith in God?" That was always my stance. While I certainly didn't have all the answers, something deep inside me believed there was much more to life that simple randomness. Sam's stance however differed greatly; he was more of the belief that life was random. We are born, we live, we die.

In or around 2009, at some point, Sam began talking about a book he had heard of - "Is Belief in God Good, Bad, or Irrelevant?" The books authors are Greg Graffin, the front-man and singer of the music band "Bad Religion," and Preston Jones, a history professor at a Christian college (just so happened to be a fan of the group Bad Religion). Greg was an atheist and Preston obviously was a believer in a higher power. Much like the two unlikely friends that came together to write this book, perhaps it was equally ironic that Sam and I came across this book and decided we should give it a read, and then share our conclusions. The book is largely a collection of emails traded back and forth between Greg and Preston. Both make their case to the other on why they see things from their perspective. Neither one completely convinces the other with their perspectives. Could they both be right? What about both wrong? Perhaps one has a better argument than the other. It is up to the reader to try and decide.


Picture Source

At the time I wasn't much of a reader. I had just begun making time for things in my life like fun, travel, and other hobbies. Reading wasn't something I was particularly interested in. However, for whatever reason, something inside of me spoke and said order the book, read the book, and see where it leads you. So that's what I did...

There are many great points made back and forth within the book by both gentlemen. But some of the best parts of the book are the pages after the authors conclude their back and forth dialog. These last pages of the book contain a study guide of sorts to which a person can explore their mind and thoughts on the matter and even more. One of the questions that impressed most upon me was:

- What explanations have been offered by professional scientists and philosophers, of whom do not believe in ultimate purpose, that makes sense of the feeling that most people have around there being a higher power or purpose in life?

This question, among a few others from the study guide, led me to research topics concerning atheists that have turned believers in some form of a higher power. In my research, I came across a book written by Eben Alexander titled, "Proof of Heaven - A Neurosurgeon's Journey into the Afterlife."


Picture Source

Eben Alexander was the perfect atheist to read more about. His story is quite amazing. He was a neurosurgeon. He was raised religious, but without enough practical explanation and fact, his left brain self simply couldn't tolerate the "have faith" test. He needed more...

More is preciously what he received. Certainly not in the way he would have preferred. He came down with a bout of severe meningitis that was attacking his brain stem. He slipped into a very bad prognosis and went into a coma. His book is about the amazing experiences that his consciousness experiences while in his coma. He speaks of first entering a dark and grey space to where he felt lost and afraid. He calls this space "the eye of the earthworm." As time passes he feels a calling and a connection to a "higher place." Upon getting out of the "grey space," he is reunited with his sister that passed away years ago. He explains how he is shown all over these levels of "higher dimensions and of the absolute peace, love, and bliss he experienced in his journey. He comes out of his near death experience with perfect remembrance of what his consciousness experienced while in his coma. This was the genesis of his book.

He later follows up his first book with a sequel titled, "The Map of Heaven."


Picture Source

In this book Eben describes the different "levels" of heaven. He describes different "planes of existence," through which are accessed by understanding, love, intention, growth and further development.

Reading these above mentioned first three books sent me on a personal journey of self-discovery. For the first time in my life, I was beginning to finally feel like I was receiving answers that were beginning to make sense. Some how and in some way - what I was discovering felt "real." It felt authentic. It struck a chord with me through which I said internally - this is what I've been searching for.

From that point on I was completely changed. I had many doubts in my life before reading these books. I was born and baptized a catholic. Then my mother changed our church to an Episcopalian church before residing her faith in the Seventh Day Adventist faith. None of this ever really made sense to me. At about the age of 12 I began asking my own questions. Trying to even ask priests, pastors, and other men of faith for answers. Everything they explained to me was external and summed up largely with saying, "I just needed to have faith."

I went through some troubled years in my mid teens. I rebelled to a large extent and lost my way. For a while I even turned atheist myself as I simply couldn't find proof that there was something else to put my faith behind. In many of my writings I often say that the ultimate truth is through experience.

After reading the three above mentioned books I stumbled across many different readings about near death experiences. I was FASCINATED by these types of readings and read book, after book, after book. My library was certainly growing.

Eventually I came across the concepts of "out of body experiences. These experiences, like near death experiences, could be had without the whole "near death" aspects. That was intriguing beyond reason for me. So I came to read Robert Monroe's trilogy of books:

  • Journeys out of the Body
  • Far Journeys
  • Ultimate Journeys


Picture Source

As one becomes engulfed in readings like this as well as studies and practices, one can begin to receive even more proof and answers they are looking for. That's sort of the way the consciousness works. Put focus and intention on something and you receive more of it. After months of practicing meditations as well as out of body experiences techniques, I had my first experience.

One night I awoke to the most amazing vibrations and buzzing sounds. My body was vibrating from head to toe like it was a bell in a tower being struck from side to side. It was a full on energy force that had consumed my entire being. I laid there amused and not afraid since I had read of this process ahead of out of body experience before. Looking over at my wife I could tell she didn't feel anything. Whatever was happening was purely energetic in nature. Then, the most amazing thing happened. "I" floated upward out of my body. I say "I" because I'm referring to the true "I" - the part of me to which is real...my consciousness or soul. The vibrations slowed and stopped. As I rolled over I could see my wife and two dogs laying in bed. I also saw a cloudy image of myself lying down below on the bed as well. Everything was in black and white for me. I noticed a "glow" coming from my wife and my two dogs. But I didn't see anything coming from my body. This lasted for maybe 20 seconds before I awoke back up with my consciousness fully back inside the four walls of my body. My mind....WAS BLOWN!!!

This happened without any drugs or alcohol. All I can say is IT HAPPENED. It was not a dream and it was beyond a shadow of a doubt REAL to me. It is my truth - my experience that through study, reading, and practice led me to understand that we have a soul, or consciousness, that exists beyond our physical body.

From that point on my studies, reading, and learning has continued. I've made it my life path to continue to positively help others in my life learn that they too can turn inward and receive their truth of our magnificent existences. We are far more than flesh and blood. We exist before and well after our physical deaths.

Thank you to @riverflows and the #naturalmedicine community for this reading and book challenge. No matter the outcome of the challenge, I am thrilled to tell my story. For me it all began with a friend, Sam, from Eastern Pennsylvania that turned me on to a book reading challenge. That was the impetus that now 10 years later has me knowing and understanding more about life. I'm far from having it figured out. The journey certainly continues for me, but now with reinvigorating fever for trying to gain more experiences of truth and the ability to help others along their spiritual paths as well.

So as always my friends...I leave you with peace, love, and well wishes on each of your journeys!

Be well!

Sort:  

Awesome post! I really should find a few of those books to read.
I do believe that we are more than what we seem to be in this 3 dimensional reality, what that is, well, that's quite beyond my capacity for understanding on this limited plane of existence...

Wow, such a neat journey. I've heard of the band Bad Religion before, but somehow missed that he had co-authored such an interesting book. That's one I really would be interested to check out!

I had a near death experience when I younger, going to the light and as I got closer ther was this immense feeling of love (the terminology I choose to call it and could it have been the Christ - that is aterm associated with love) I turned back when I realized it wasn't my time and I had more people to connect with. After that I had no fear of death - it would be a merger with the light and the love. As for meaning and purpose I found that more through my meditations and teachings of the Buddha.
Thanks for sharing your story and these amazing books!

Thanks @porters. What you describe is very much what I’ve read from EVERY OTHER “NDE” (near death experience). There has to be some realization that we extend well beyond our physical lives. Some science is finally starting to be applied to learning more on this...we’ll see where it goes!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm surprised that the sciences don't accept more of our conciousness and it's more of things that are quantatative and can be measured. Good to hear that you found they are looking more in this direction!

Enjoyed this immensely. I can see you sitting on your porch with Sam musing on these deep questions we have as human beings.

As soon as you mentioned Bad Religion I went - ah! I used listen to a particular cassette of theirs probably around 1990 - No Control, with Stranger than Fiction on the other side. I loved them - and had heard he was a bit of a philosopher and intelligent guy! Wouldn't mind reading that.

I always wonder what drives us to know these things. For some, it's just not important. They don't need to know. For some, it becomes the path to self discovery and an absolute need to know. I probably sit halfway - that's my Libran nature I guess. Whilst I don't believe in a higher authority such as God, I have mixed feelings about any afterlife - hence why that book written by a neurologist really appeals to me.

What I do know is that life long learning, curiousity and questions happen often in the conversations we human beings have with each other, which includes those within the pages of books. Thanks for your beautiful entry, I really loved reading it over lunch. xx

Thanks for the kind words @riverflows. I enjoyed telling that story. I don’t necessarily think of God as a higher power, but rather a piece that is within us. We just need to travel the path and complete the journey. There is no external force that is going to save us. I believe we have to turn inward. I think we all have “godlike” abilities but have been “out of tune” with them. Slowly mankind is waking up...

Do check into Eban Alexander. His books are amazing. I’d highly recommend them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Clearly I have been living under a rock in Asia for far too long but I don't think I've read ANY of these!! Appreciating the expanded "wanna read" list and you sharing them


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Check into the books @artemislives. I’ll continue to put them and more into the books channel on the natural medicine discord. I’ve read so many...it’s consumed me l, in a good way, as I’ve been on this journey of self discovery - I can’t help but share them with others in case they’d be helped or benefit in anyway.

Posted using Partiko iOS

self discovery is always such an interesting journey, thank you for sharing

Wow!!
What an experience!!
20 seconds sounds like a pretty long time
Thank you for sharing your journey and these books that have led you here and on ;)

Congratulations @steelborne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @steelborne! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice to read about your journey @ steelborne. Thanks for sharing. I've also read thise three Robert Monroe books and many many other books during the last 13 years or so since I became aware I was on an awakening journey.

Peace and love to you brother. May we be present in each moment and may all beings be content.

Namaste
Atma

Congratulations @steelborne! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!