You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Winter night.

in #nature4 years ago

We have had constant rain and over cast conditions its seems for the last week and a half. Summer is to light for night photography, and winter is to cold, so now is the time, (Fall), for it, but so far a big fat zero for where I live in Alaska.

May I ask what kind of camera device and settings did you use? They look great. I like the red barn one, the green glow looks real good.

Sort:  

Thanks @bashadow for pleasant comment. Same problem over here the most days are cloudy. Pure luck with clear sky and high solar activity at the same time. How many degree north you live? Alaska should give opportunities for picturing the Northern light.
I use a a Sony alpa 5100 a pretty simple camera. The camera must have manual setting and focus. Settings for these pictures (iso 2000 f/3.5 6s)Tree-pod is also necessary.

Kenai, Alaska area, about 60N, I think. We do get the northern lights, but now is the best time because it is not super super cold yet, we are still above freezing and no snow yet. thanks for the camera settings, I have the Nikon 7500, so those setting s should work for me also, at least it gives a starting point for me. And the tripod yep, got that too, now just need the clear skies, and the lights.

Here's hoping for a few lucky days, before it is to cold to stand for long outside.

Good luck with the Aurora hunt.