The MAGIC of MUSHROOMS

in #nature6 years ago

Morning steemers,
We have had a lot of rain in Brisbane lately and crossed with the fact that I like to leave some leaves in garden beds at clients houses, for various reasons (I will do a whole post on why soon!)
We have had an explosion of mushrooms working their magic to help break down the leaves and mulch, they will turn this into plant available nutrients.

IMG20180313135710.jpg
glasses are placed to help show the size
IMG20180313135718.jpg

Now I know these are not identified but I simply haven't had time unfortunately. I have a 2 week holiday in a few days and work is stacked up like you wouldn't believe!
I think they are worth sharing even without ID..... Anyone know what they are?

IMG20180302152242.jpg
IMG20180302152246.jpg
IMG20180302152304.jpg
crazy looking bunch!

Thanks for stopping by again steemers and,
Happy gardening,
Sam.

Sort:  

The upper and middle one sure look like macrolepiota procera, and they'd be perfectly edible then. The bottom ones might be a type of honey fungi or similar deal... but too few details to call them for 100%.

Thanks man I will look into that, legend!

Those aren't macrolepiota procera. The stem is different. I'd guess they're from the chlorophyllum genus. Check if they bruise red when cut. Spore prints would help too. Be careful, there are poisonous mushrooms in this genus.

I'm not too sure about the second ones, but they're definetely no Armillarias. My guess would be some kind of lyophillum, but more information would be needed. Not sure if I could properly identify those, I haven't researched those kinds that much.

Cheers I found out we dont have Macrolepiota procera in Australia so I was leaning towards Macrolepiota dolichaula but that didnt seem to fit either. I will look into the Chlorophyllum spp. and get back to you all.
Thanks for the help!

I've got a hunch that it's Chlorophyllum molybdites. ;)
Check if the spore print turns out green-ish, as far as I know it's the only mushroom in that group with this colour.

Not sure though if you have more species over there than we do in Europe though. I haven't even heard of M. dolichaula.

Mysillium breaks down the organic matter to form hummus. The mushrooms are the fruits of the Mysillium beneath the leaf litter.
I love how the whole cycle works.
nice article dont work to hard

If it wasnt for fungi we would be swimming in leaves :-)

We need a steemit Paul stamets!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.55 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.11
Server time: 22:19:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 145.65/200.00
Total Photos: 23
Total comments: 25
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank