A trip to the amish market

in #nature7 years ago

      It has become increasingly rare that my wife and I would both be free on a weekday, and as a result we are often unable to do various activities which are only available on certain days. Today is one of those rare occasions and we accepted her mother's offer to visit the local amish market together. The sick, sad irony of the situation is that I am fasting and will be until Sunday, so no food for me. What’s worse is that I have committed myself to one month eating raw vegan. None of the smoked turkey legs I love so very much. Man, can I pick a week to start getting healthy. The amish market is like an amusement park for foodies. It is a microcosm of smells, sights and culture.
We arrived at the market and I made my way to the herbs, fresh and dry.

I ended up walking away with one of everything: Parsley, Cilantro, dill, watercress, mint tea, chives, sage, thyme and rosemary.
I also came across ground turmeric, ground ginger , spearmint leaves tea and honey ginger green tea.

Of course I took the picture of the turmeric like a crazy person...

      I finally got all my new stuff home, got it all about half way processed and realized I hadn't taken any pictures. Oops... So here's what I got.
Dried teas after getting them into jars.
These were taken after I had removed and hung the parsley and cilantro, as they do not regrow from cuttings.
      
Finally, I pulled all the best candidates for regrowth, hung the intact stems and paper bagged the loose bits to make teas and spices.


Finally, it was time to get everything planted and watered up. Of course there is no surprise, I forgot to take pictures of the process. Here is my small setup in my home office.

And, the finished products.

Everything looks limp and sad right now because they need time to fill back up with water and start growing some roots.
That's all for now, updates later!
Now, to start the Sabbath


All photos are my own

Sort:  

Wow! Nice job! I don't have a green thumb at all, everything I plant dies.

We will see how all of this goes, haha. This has been the first year I've successfully grown anything and I couldnt be happier. Hopefully I'm not getting too big for my britches. Cheers!

Congratulations @descot90! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!