HUGE WAVES ON GOLD COAST! HEAVEN FOR SURFERS!

in #nature ā€¢ 6 years ago

Hello to everyone! I actually wanted to write a second post about food which should include lunch and dinner but what I'd seen this weekend had changed my intentionšŸ˜€
So this post will be about the biggest waves I've personally seen for more than 5 years of living in Australia.
Last Sunday I scrolled my news feed and saw a photo taken at Snapper Rocks in Coolangatta (it's on the border QLD and NSW states) and I was truly impressed. Here it is:
snapper.jpg

As soon as I saw it I decided to drive there to see that and take pretty much the same photos by my own. Unfortunately I wasn't lucky enough on Sunday because waves became smaller after lunch when I came but it still was cool to watch how lots of people surf there.
snapper 1.jpg

snapper 2.jpg
snapper 3.jpg

When I saw a surfer standing on the rocks where waves break against them I was shocked, it's anyway quite scary and dangerous. A moment after he's just disappeared in white foamšŸ™ˆ I thought he probably could be washed away by a wave but he deliberately jumped into the ocean with his board what was pretty risky on his part. So a bit later I saw him catching a wave with other surfers, he definitely knew what he was doingšŸ˜€
surf.jpg

On Monday morning I had couple of free hours and I was exactly in Coolangatta so I bought my morning coffee and headed for the beach with the hope of seeing the massive swell. I had some problems with finding a space to park my car because lots of ares are closed near the beach as they are prepping for Quicksilver Pro 2018 that will be held here 14-25th of March, so don't miss it if you'll be on the coast these days! Finally I got to the beach and what I saw was truly amazing - huge waves, hundreds of surfers in the ocean and even more watchers like me on the beachšŸ˜€
under palm.jpg
wave 1.jpg
wave 2.jpg
boys seats.jpg
The best spot for watching "the boyz seat"

Definitely those days only professionals could surf there on epic swell with confidence. Pro surfer Dean Harrington who surfed there with 2012 world champion Joel Parkinson said ā€œItā€™s the best itā€™s been in years, itā€™s as good as it getsā€
27972603_10155782327492702_2596957586224718433_n.jpg

Sort: Ā 
Ā 6 years agoĀ (edited)Ā 

Good for me, that I left so many perfect places to visit for next time ;)

Congratulations @katiabelan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @katiabelan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!