The importance of mosquitoes in the ecosystem - Strange but true

in #nature6 years ago

images (1).jpeg [source] (http://Wikipedia.com

I use to ask myself what's is the importance of mosquito in the eco system because I find out no matter how you try you can never completely eradicate those annoying little creatures. from my little research here is what I found out:

I use to ask myself what's is the importance of mosquito in the eco system because I find out no matter how you try you can never completely eradicate those annoying little creatures. from my little research here is what I found out:

1.Mosquitoes are prey,and preys are very important in our complex eco system,the mosquitoes larvae in the sea bodies form those slimy greenish stuff that fishes and other aquatic creatures depend/feed on for survival. Everyone knows the importance of fishes in our diet and business. Water bodies would be empty without fishes that feed on larvae.

2.Mosquitoes aids in pollination of plants,they suck plants juices transferring one very tiny pollen from one plant to another. And we all know the importance of cross pollination.

3.Snakes, anthropoids,lizards,frogs,wall geckos etc prey on mosquitoes.

4.They were made to disturb the heck out of us. yes they are about 3500 species of mosquitoes transferring diseases to humans aside malaria there are other countless diseases transferred by mosquitoes.

According to WHO every year more than one million people die from mosquito related illness worldwide. So therefore mosquitoes help in population control. YES!!!!

So what's is the best method in the prevention of mosquito bites. Across the country the cost of mosquito insecticide is becoming unaffordable, aside the price,prolonged usage of insecticide is detrimental to health(I am not De marketing insecticide o). To me the best mosquito prevention method is the use of treated mosquito nets.

Sometimes I also take my time and physically eliminate them with my hands before sleeping.

Keeping the gutters and our environment clean is another way to eliminate mosquitoes. 


 

 

IMG_20180701_114049_730.JPG

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://9jacable.com/2018/07/15/importance-of-mosquitoes-in-the-ecosystem-by-chiomadim/