Cooper's Hawk Video

in #nature7 years ago

There is a birding hot spot right in the middle of Sarasota, Florida called Pinecraft Park. Birds like this park because it has many pine trees and is next to a waterway called Phillipi Creek. Many people think that birds are everywhere, but they mostly congregate in areas that have the habitat they prefer.  This usually includes their favorite tree, shrub or grasses and most of the time being near a water source is essential. 

The Cooper's Hawk is found throughout the United States, but here in Sarasota you don't see them that often. I was very happy when I spotted this one at Pinecraft Park. Hawks are a little harder to get on video as they don't like human interaction. Most raptors can see in infrared, so you can't hide from them, they will see your body heat. 

 

Copyright 2017® Mark Vance Photography

I am an award winning filmmaker. Many of my short films have been shown in film festivals all over the Untied States. Several of my bird videos have been used by the Natioanl Audubon Society and seen on TV shows in the United States and Canada. 

I went to California State University, Northridge and majored in TV and film production. I grew up in Hollywood, California and made super8 films with Frank Darabont who wrote and directed "The Shawshank Redemption" and created "The Walking Dead" for TV. Also, working on the super8 movies was my friend Greg Melton who is the Production Designer on "Marvels Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.".

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Raptors see in infrared lol that is awesome. Explains a lot. Because they seem to stay clear of human.

This post received a 4.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @markvance! For more information, click here!