You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Couldn't Believe What I was Reading!

in #nature4 years ago

I also see no real reason to kill them, although that is a Hawkmoth caterpillar and they probably feed specifically on nightshade family plants so cannot simply be relocated. Caterpillars that size are pretty voracious and can completely strip a plant of leaves, I get the odd one on my tomatoes from time to time but I leave them be. There are enough bird and insect predators in my garden to control them

Sort:  

Thats a good way of seeing things, let nature take its course, there is no need to kill something just because..
There is that many getting killed that it is so sad that as humans we just see something we don't want and end it's life.
There are places that take caterpillars in this country so if we found something we can always send it them.