What happened?!

in #nature6 years ago

IMG_1070.jpg

I just, JUST, 3 days ago posted a picture of my unique birdhouse. Post is there for you to see. Now look at it today! What happened to it?

Our son and I decided it was either a big bird, a really pissed off bird or a really big pissed off bird.

Consensus so far is woodpecker. Your thoughts?

Sort:  

Bloody hell something had a go at it , it’s possible it was a woodpecker, if you like bird boxes check out some of my latest posts , cheers mike

Hi @nananini, my vote is for woodpecker. In Massachusetts they can grow as big as 14'', they are really powerful.

But there is a real tree right next to my beautiful birdhouse. I just couldn't believe it.

14" is good size. Pretty sure what I see around here are not that big. But powerful.

Guess we need a camera. :)

It could be a squirrel. I have had issues with squirrels trying to eat the wood around windows and gutter areas to get inside.