How Harvest olives for olive oil.

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!
My origin is from Kalamata, Greece which is famous for olives and olive oil.
Of course I have some olive trees and today i will show how we harvest olives for olive oil.
IMG_20171230_150545.jpg

First of all we strew olivenets around the trunk of olive trees in the order that the olives do not fall onto the ground.
IMG_20171226_110348.jpg

IMG_20171226_152613.jpg

Then we cut branches from the tree and baste them on the machine.
IMG_20171226_124835.jpg

IMG_20171226_123312.jpg

IMG_20171226_123427.jpg

We collect the olives, remove the most of leaves and put them in sacks.
IMG_20171231_152908.jpg

IMG_20171230_125750.jpg

IMG_20171226_152519.jpg

Finally, we transport these sacks to the oil mill to produce the olive oil.
IMG_20171230_154433.jpg

IMG_20171231_162712.jpg

Stay tuned on next post I'll show you how the olive oil is produced from the olives.
All pictures are by @nikoleondas!

Thank you
@nikoleondas

Sort:  

I am very interested in learning more about olive oil. Perhaps in future posts you could talk about how a novice like me could determine the quality of the oil, how long olive oil can be stored and what are the best conditions for storing it.

On the next post I will show how the olive oil is produced and later maybe I prepare a post with some tips about olive oil.
Thank you for your comment.

You are right @onceuponatime, I am interested in finding this info too!

See, great minds do think alike :-)

hehe Efharisto!

That's Greek for "Let's drink some ouzo" right?

Actually, it's more like "Let's drink some retsina."
I am not that into Ouzo, though I bought one bottle of Ouzo on my last trip, so I think I will give it a try!

The purple stuff is supposed to be special (according to my brother).

Wow who knew olive harvesting had such a delicate process! Makes me appreciate

Ιt's quite hard work but it is compensated by the taste of the olive oil!
Thank you for your comment.

auta einai!

Να' χουμε λαδάκι!

How long is this going to take place on earth ?
Is olive ever going to end ? Or it will be full of olives on the planet ?

As much as there is nature and humanity there will be olive oil.
It is not petrol oil that will come to an end at some day.

Um.. Right.

You have olives as beautiful as at home in Provence France !!

The olive tree is a blessed tree!

I did this last year to help out my dad.. but we didn t have this machine..everything was manual..and i decided that this year i would be ill during the harvest period!!

Haha! don't you play it ill cause you will not have olive oil for your tasty foods.
I remember when I was child we didn't have this machine and everything was done by hands with the 'magic' wand. It was harder than now so you have a point.

I couldn't think of how this is done. Thank you @nikoleondas

Now you know and next year come to help me. ;)

Ha ha ha ha Dear @nikoleondas it would be my pleasure.

How many bags of olives and oil does one tree give generally?

A good question... I have harvested from one tree three bags of olives but there are big trees that can be have 4-5 bags. Each bag produces 7-12 Kg of olive oil depending on the quality of the olive, the area that is the field and the harvest period.

...but the usual is from a kilo to a bag.

That....is a surprising amount of olives per tree. I hope you get some choice oil from the press.

Xaxaxa.. mporei na ekanes skliri doylia alla to ladaki to vgales gia to xrono... kalofagoto.. 😀😀😀

I just love the kalamata olives
so cool you are from there
cheers @nikoleondas

Stay tuned on a next post I will show you how can are made Kalamata olives.

Ευλογημένο το λάδι και ευλογημένος τόπος η Πελοπόννησος! Ανυπομονώ να πάμε μαζί με τον πατέρα μου την επόμενη εβδομάδα στο χωριό για να μαζέψουμε και εμείς! Εμείς έχουμε 100 ρίζες στην Ηλεία και πραγματικά το λάδι αυτό είναι το κάτι άλλο!

Ωραίος, μέχρι 100 ρίζες καλά είναι, παραπάνω είναι βάσανο.
Καλή σοδειά.