Watching the Moon Eclipse Phenomenon In my village - the beliefs and myths about the eclipses in the Aceh community

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

image

As we know a few weeks ago at the end of January 2018 a huge natural phenomenon that lunar eclipse has occurred and can be witnessed in almost half of the hemisphere. The incident became very phenomenal due to three natural events where the lunar eclipse, supermoon and bloodmoon occurred simultaneously on that day. And the event became very special because it happened after 150 years ago.

So almost all the people of the world want to see first hand the rare phenomenon. As happened in my village. The eclipse that occurred in my region that starts around at 07.30. All the people are enthusiastic to witness it because the phenomenal can be witnessed directly from their homes.

image

Including me and the family was waiting for the lunar eclipse and witnessed directly from our home at that time. When the eclipse happened my family all gathered outside to watch it, as if we were witnessing a very good drama at that time. We are the people of Aceh where the majority of Islam at that time was urged to perform the lunar eclipse prayer and remembrance zikr at the time.

This is condition in front of my house when my family and neighboards watched the eclipse.

image

image

So when the eclipse occurs, the sound of the call to prayer and dhikr echoing in the air sounded clear.
While watching the lunar eclipse of one of my pregnant sisters being banned by one of our neighbors to witness the lunar eclipse. Because some communities in my village still believe in some beliefs or myths about eclipses that pregnant women are prohibited to live eclipse directly because it will have a bad impact for pregnancy. But my sister did not offer the ban. My sister does not believe in the myth and keep abreast of the eclipse process.
The incident reminded me that some of the people of Aceh still believe in ancient myth and still growing in our community. I remember some myths my parents told me about lunar eclipses like:

  1. The sun and the moon are fighting until the moon is not bled, if the moon is dark the sign that the moon is losing and who is watching to pray for the moon to be released and the moon shines again.
  2. For pregnant women are prohibited from watching directly or directly staring at the lunar eclipse because it is believed to be harmful to the fetus who is conceived, if you want to see in encouraged to see through the reflection in the water.
  3. When the eclipse process happens it is forbidden to ria and join the mourning when the moon seems to have lost and pray for the moon and the sun to soon be separated.

Here is the trust that existed in the people of Aceh until today is still growing although some have no longer trust him.