Mushroom picking – I got 99 problems but a birch ain't one

in #nature6 years ago

Dear nature-loving (or hungry) steemians!

Last week I went in the woods to pick up some mushrooms (not the special ones of course...) and I have to say it was a blast! When I was a child I always went for a walk in the forest with my father to collect mushrooms in fall but since he passed away I never tried it again. So last week was the time to check it out again! Earlier that week it rained a bit and on the weekend the sun came out again: perfect conditions to find some mushrooms!

So me and my partner in crime @valentinE189V jumped into the car and started our tiny adventure. We drove out of the city and then realized that we didn't chose any forest (it was a pretty spontaneous idea) so he told me to check out google maps to find a wooded area. As you might have recognized in some of my previous posts I'm a little chaotic from time to time. Especially if I'm in a hurry. And since there was a lot of traffic on the road Valentin told me to hurry up so I told him to leave the highway without knowing where we were. Luckily for me there really was a forest not far from the motorway departure. So we parked the car and jumped into the undergrowth.

We didn't have to walk for long until the first few mushrooms popped up. We inspected them closely and then realized that none of us knows a lot about collecting mushrooms. Since they looked good we cut them off and took them with us. I checked them afterwards in an app and found out that they were pretty toxic so I instantly threw them out with a panicked scream.

We walked for about two hours and found a lot of mushrooms which were identifiable and edible so while I've hidden myself from spiders and birds (yep, I'm one of those psychos who's afraid of birds...) behind Valentin we picked a whole basket full of red-cracked boletes and we even found a cauliflower mushroom and some bay boletes.

Back home I forced poor Valentin to clean the mushrooms and I prepared some pasta with mushroom sauce.

I was still a little warily so I sent a message to a friend of mine and told her that she should call an ambulance if I don't answer her every hour. Big fault: I'm a sleepyhead and fell asleep on the couch after eating so she was a little bit worried. Luckily she didn't call an ambulance. Well, when I think about it I might have to chose another friend to watch out for me next time.

In the end nothing bad happened, it was a really tasty dish and a wonderful day out in the nature. I'm so gonna do it again!

Sort:  

That meal looks delicious. Should have chucked a few of the magic variety in there too..... you know, for flavour 😉

Wow! You really had an adventure mushroom picking with those that ended up with a healthy eat. 😃

Never mind the mushrooms, did you get to chase any squirrels? I love chasing squirrels!

I didn't see one sadly... I have a special relationship with squirrels since they destroyed my tent once by having their breakfast above it and throwing down the leftover pine cones... so, go chase 'em! 😂

I am still pretty little, and them little buggers are fast!!!

I can't catch them, but I will chase them away from your tent anytime!!

Congratulations @nolalumo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nolalumo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!