AWESOME PLACES WITH AMAZING PEOPLE - A FROZEN OZARK WATERFALL WITH @MERICANHOMESTEAD!!!

in #nature6 years ago

These are the cool, random things that you just have to stop to check out!


While heading back from @shalomacres with @mericanhomestead, we had an amazing opportunity. We had passed this place on the way down, and @mericanhomestead promised that we could stop on the way back. Sure enough, he was a man of his word.

"QUICK! PULL OVER!"

A lot of the Ozarks are made up of rock and clay. Neither of them absorb very well, and water is usually running somewhere. When it rains, a bunch of streams suddenly spring up and the former springs often become rivers. The springs that can be found are common, and in winter, amazing sights like this can be seen.

While this "frozen waterfall" wasn't the only one we saw, it was the most magnificent of the ones that we happened to pass. Thankfully, it was also the one that we happened to stop at. Here are a few of my favorite photos from our time there.

HOW BIG IS IT?

It was actually a pretty good sized rock formation, and the icicles were big enough to do some damage if they fell on you. While we explored, we were also careful.... after all, we've got wives and children at home to take care of.

I did climb up to the top to get another angle on the whole thing, but I took the long way around. It was a very interesting place full of wonder.

At one point, I thought the icicles might fall and injure me, but it was only a test... it was only a test. No actual icicles really fell on me, and I was not injured.

Another cool thing to check out was the formation on the bottom, where the water dripping from the icicles had formed something that almost looked like "cave popcorn," for those of you who are familiar with that particular cave formation. Anyway, random moments like this with good friends are always an adventure, but they are a huge blessing when they are unexpected and unplanned.

We had a great time and are pleased to be able to share it with all of you too. It just goes to show that you never know what you are going to find out there when you are traveling in the world. I'll share more about my time at @shalomacres soon enough, but I wanted to share these great photos of this amazing place with you all first. Keep an eye on @mericanhomestead too. I know he took some photos, so we will have to see what he does with them.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-an-awesome-place

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

beautyfull place

This place is nice but dangerous ,It is considered an awesome adventure and may be a tourist area ,It is beautiful to stand under the cave popcorn and frozen waterfalls

wow, that is amazing! it may be even more beautiful in real life, thank you for sharing!

Exelente post.!

Soy nuevo en Steemit, sería de mucha ayuda si me sigues y votas en mi blog. @Fyahconde Revisa mi contenido ... poco a poco lo iré cargando más y más.

Éxito y Mil Bendiciones para todos.

Careful of those icicles!

Wow amazing pictures 😍😍😍

I made a similar post a little more than a year ago, but your icicles are more impressive.

amazing place ! How much temperature in winter ?

Wow! Very cool! A very similar situation.

Very good shot @papa-pepper. They remind me of my textbook pictures of stalactites and stalagmites . Such a beautiful place to see.

hahah , "cave popcorn," cute and funny description ! i really enjoy , but some times scare :) i felt they may have fall !
have fun
and good luck with your trip

AWESOME adventure - AWESOME pics - INCREDIBLY happy to hear that you linked up with another Steemian in person to enjoy yourswlves.

That is exactly why Steemit is and will be loved by so many - Rock On @papa-pepper !!

cool the water drops under looks like a clouds that you can see when flying .. I mean when traveling in the air :) .. first thing i imagine after seeing the "Cave popcorn" but i'm not familiar of the cave popcorn..

I've never seen natural ice water except inside the fridge hahaha..
Beautiful photos I always like to see funny crazy smile in the pictures like what I do.. :)
w3.jpg

LOL - yeah, this was a little better than the icicles in the fridge. Thanks!

True... thank you for the reply.. :)

thats freaking awesome @papa-pepper ! thanks for sharing your adventures with us in such amazing places! Bit scary this pic under those gigantic "ice knifes" hahaha ! keep it up mate! your loyal supporter @albertoyago! Cheers!

It was a bit scary, but we were safe. Thanks.

Awesome ! Subhanallah !

Those are indeed amazing pics @papa-pepper! I never thought that a waterfall will actually freeze.. and you are certainly correct by saying you never know what you experience if you don't travel the world. I have been instilling that in my children and I hope they follow my advice. Oh by the way I'm over here in Europe Switzerland a matter of fact, is there anything over here you guys would like to have pictures off?

I'm over here in Europe Switzerland a matter of fact, is there anything over here you guys would like to have pictures off?

Wow! What a question! Hmmm.... How about @kus-knee? LOL - Just kidding. Why don't you share whatever catches your eye and intrigues you? Thanks @caribbeanmon!

Very good photo, very amazing, you look professional

And we ran away from cold to Asia :)

wooow Frankly speaking, I feel Freezing Because I am in a hot place now, and I didnt see natural Ice for more than 3 years now which really makes me eager to get time and energy to go somewhere close to me that could be like the place where u are.
I just want to see real God made Ice and feel cold and wear lots of clothes.. I believe this could fullfill some happiness for me.

I'm glad that you liked it. Thank you!

That is Marvelous. Thanks for shear to us.

amazing seen you have captured...
really its amazing place

@Pappa-pepper
You have just showed us that the extreme cold can be a Freezing Artist, creating its own water falling Ice Scupture!

I am glad you took the photo of your self to see the size of the beauty.

From the Ozarks to the frozen pop corn at the bottom, was all very descriptive drawing my imagination.

Thank you for your time and energy to bring this to us!
Your making frozen Steem work for you.
Brilliant.
L

Cool! I'm glad that you enjoyed the post!

Wow its so beautyfull i would really like to go their.

muy buenas imágenes y bellas en verdad es increíble el poder de la naturaleza y sus maravillas

This is amazing! Haha nice shots and nice nature ! I think you are talented!

Wow! Awesome! Good jobs, Bro!

omg!! frozen waterfall?? This is so beautiful, just when you think you've seen it all, nature just surprises you with more. More pictures please and have a wonderful time..

Great Captures & Post!
Nature is so amazing.
Thanks for sharing and steem on!

Thank you for checking it out!

Wow. Its amazing view.

Wow .this is really beautifull ..i hope i travel one day .because there are alot of things i would love to check out ...especially the iced water fall

There were quite a few on the drive.

Photography about nature is really the best.!

Oh wow its wonderful and amazing view of this place i like your post .. this se post of the steemit....
Also upvote my posts

It was a wonderful place to visit. Thanks.

that was amazing yet scary photos @papa-pepper

You are making a great article I wish I could become as successful as you and get a voice for me

You are heading the wrong direction if that is your goal.

It's awesome photo...

Brrrrrrrrr it is very cold poor fishes in the water, how they lived or not have fishes.

No fish here.

Thank you so much.

they died since the snows started in this world.. :) :) :) :0

I imagine it is snow a lot in every part of the world, tell me how are the weather in philipinas.

The weather in Philippines are beautiful ..
just like this very sunny :)
w1.jpg

it was like I could actually see some water drip from your photos... Getting cold by looking at it though! Nice

This trip was awesome, @papa-pepper! It is really nice when you can share experiences such as these with friends. The photos are great, showing those gorgeous icicles and pop corn ice.

Thank you. I'm glad that you enjoyed it!

Incredible images @papa-pepper Nature produces some awe inspiring sights.

It is such a cool place.

That frozen waterfall is super-cool! Awesome set of pictures, and a really neat adventure!

OMG. This is amazing!

Nice find...and great pics!

Very cool! thanks for sharing!

Aren’t you glad you weren’t impaled by a wall of ice spikes!!

The frozen water is rely amazing, lovely pictures.

Where are these scenes in which country

Some beautiful pictures, thank you for sharing them.

You are lucky to get a spree with such a scenic beauty of nature , literally you had so much of adventure, nice writing, adoration for your work

There are 3 pages
Pages