FIRST WATER MOCCASIN OF THE YEAR (MY BIGGEST EVER!!!)

in #nature5 years ago

This is why I'm careful when I'm enjoying time by the water!


Down in the streams and on the lake shores, there lurks a reptilian predator. With a scientific name that means "hooked-tooth fish-eater," these venomous snakes are impressive beasts to be sure. This one is the first one we've encountered this year, and I'm pretty sure that it's the biggest one I've ever encountered. Check out these photos.

THE COTTONMOUTH


Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

I love taking photos of nature. But these are the types of pictures I'm happy to let someone else get. Nice job.

LOL - I'll gladly do it for you!

It's really showing it's teeth! Holly molly! Would be such a different reality with so many venomous snakes lurking about! Can you actually relax by the water with them hiding about? I guess it's not really possible to relax by water with young children playing about. As you always need to be om the lookout for them. But, now that my kids are well grown past that stage it's back to relaxing at the beach again! Though i am always aware of the environment and sounds especially if other children are around. I love to listen to the sounds of them playing. Mix in snakes and ...... yeah, that would take a lot of getting used to!!

Wow, that's an impressive jaw! You find the best snakes.

Yeah, that Eastern Hognose we found when you were down was the best one of those we ever found!

That one is well fed.
I tend to walk like an elephant so i don't get to see many.
It's worked so far.

Wow! How close were you to the snake? It is obviously agitated. How have you taught the kids to be safe?

Posted using Partiko Android

Very, very close.... also, we've got a video planned about how we keep our children safe(r) around snakes.

Where I grew up in South Carolina, snakes were seen but the frequency you post about them seems to indicate that they are a lot more common where you are located. In northern Indiana I have yet to see a poisoness snake in the wild and I have lived here for 14 years. Do you have a special tool for handling them? Have you ever been bitten?

Posted using Partiko Android