UNIQUE FROZEN "SUNDOG" THIS MORNING

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

I had heard of these, but they are very rare to see,
especially under these conditions
~ Paradise Found

I was driving this morning and was preparing to exit the freeway, when I noticed something ahead that looked very odd. The sky ahead had a frozen mist, like a fog over the area ahead of me. It looked pretty cool, so I grabbed my camera and readied myself for a few photo's.

Hazy sun I photographed quickly while driving


I need to set the stage a bit more for you, as this morning was bitter cold. I had just noted the temperature was -10 F at the time I was driving, and the foggy look ahead looked like a movie scene. Like a frozen mist hanging in the air, blocking the view. There was a water tower, just off the highway, and you couldn't make out the city name painted in huge letters on it, because it was so hazy.
Ok, back to my story, I readied my camera and snapped a few quick shots, especially at the sun, as it wasn't clear to see and very hazy. As I was about to set my camera down, I noticed something else, off to the side of the sun. Yes, it was a rainbow, very cool, click click, my camera whirred as I snapped a few shots of this. I thought it unusual to see a rainbow under these conditions, bitter cold (-10), frozen mist, and early morning.

You can see the "sundog" to the right of the hazy sun


So when I get home I start searching for "frozen rainbow." and I come across something else called the "sundog." Here is what I learned about this strange occurrence: Sundogs form when light from the sun is scattered and refracted through the atmosphere. The sunlight is refracted horizontally off those low level ice crystals, and that produces the color spectrum in line with the sun’s elevation on the horizon. Sundogs appear along the 22° halo and disappear as the Sun rises.
This was a pretty cool thing to stumble across this morning. It happened so quickly, I could have missed it. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. Thanks for you time!!

Thanks for visiting, please follow, comments are free.


Sort:  

This is how you get in a car accident!nice shots. :)

wow, amazing!

Hello, thanks for sharing your beautiful journey. you have really clicked something very unique. I have seen this frozen rainbow for the first time. and I loved it. Can I save your frozen rainbow photos with due request :) ?

yay what a wonderful experience that was! glad you were fast to capture it!

Yes pretty cool. Never to old to learn.

This is absolutely gorgeous and very special. You don't often get to see these kinds of phenomenon. Thanks for being at the right pace at the right time to capture this to share with us.

a bright morning makes us happy and excited.
nice post kawan ..
we all misunderstood. Please accept my apologies in advance

Great photo. I am glad you captured the elusive sundog.

Whatever people call it in terms of Science, but for me its reflecting as beautiful magic of nature and it also reflecting as flying bird. Thanks for sharing.

Have a great day and stay blessed.

Wow, that's really neat. Thanks for sharing! @ironshield

That is so cool. :D I love the different shades of blue and green in the pictures. :D Those are my two favorite colors. :D

Wow that's simply awesome to see incredible views

I absolutely love the shots. Honestly, i never heard about "Sundog" until you told me. I searched google on the same and there were amazing nature pics about it. Thanks for sharing this <3

This amazed me!!!!!!!!!!!!! FIrst time I actually saw something like this thanks papa bear @paradise-found

amazing photos, Papa bear!
love it. I see miracle there.

Wow some great captures by you there its nice :)

Wow! Again typical you! No one ever captured so many great moments while driving the car :)

Very cool . as someone live in a tropical country . i hardly come across anytime of cold weather. really missing a big part of life sigh

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 4.30% vote... I was summoned by @paradise-found! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 2.06% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @paradise-found!

good thing that you captured its beauty sir! :)

I wrote a post here https://steemit.com/sundog/@jonshock/when-your-crystals-are-like-plates-you-get-sundogs explaining all about the sun dog. Let me know if it is useful.