You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: F

in #nature5 years ago

Interesting post @abitcoinskeptic about one of the many remarkable events we can watch in the natural world. In this case, one which collides with man's creation ... At least a considerable effort has been made for a (somewhat) peaceful coexistence between the two ...

Do you happen to know the story behind the sign being in both English and Chinese? In all my years in Canada, I don't recall seeing anything like that. By law, most information was in English and French.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It is great to see man accommodate nature. However sports fishing is worth millions.

I actually saw quite a few Quebec fishermen. My guess is they have licenses and their French books if they don't understand English. There were pamplets in French at the office.

The sign is also in Chinese because they have a bad habit of fishing without licenses and often don't even try to follow regulations. They claim poor Enlgish language skills are behind this when caught.

Actually, the majority of non English or French speakers in Canada are Chinese, so just by numbers alone it makes sense. I have friends in the ministry who back up these claims. Unfortunately it leads to racial tensions, but conservation is much more important than political sensitivities.

Very interesting @abitcoinskeptic. I was wondering what might be behind a sign in Chinese, as it is unusual. Now I know!

Yes, certainly in Ontario everything would have a French version. Out West, where I spent most of my time, there was often some pretty spirited conversations about this ...

Do you have ties to Canada? Or were you just there on vacation?

Posted using Partiko Android

I see more French displayed near the Quebec boarder or in certain communities with large French populations, but they always have information when asked.
Out west Chinese would definitely make more sense. The French have had over 260 years to learn English, but it keeps them happy. I used to speak the language but forgot from lack of use. I have strong ties to Canada and grew up there.

Okay, very good @abitcoinskeptic. On this ...

"I have strong ties to Canada and grew up there."

... have you ever written any posts about moving from Canada to South Korea? If so, I'd welcome a link and would enjoy reading it. I've "met" others here on our Steem blockchain who've made similar big moves in their lives and I find the stories behind major decisions like that to be very interesting.

"The French have had over 260 years to learn English ..."

Yes, true, but I have actually sat in conversations there in Canada where those in attendance from Quebec would say almost the exact opposite ... 😉

I have French speaking people in my family and as mentioned I learned it and forgot most of it because it served no purpose in my life, especially after moving to Korea.

My opinion has always been that French should only be required for federal or provincial and municipal in Quebec and New Brunswick

I haven't actually talked about Canada on Steem much, but I plan to in the near future. It's a complicated topic and my feelings on it waver constantly.

I've only actually written one post about being Canadian, but the topic is niche being related to expat voting rights. I may do something about the upcoming election or maybe a few about my experiences.

https://steemit.com/politics/@abitcoinskeptic/disenfranchised-regaining-my-democratic-right-to-vote

Thank you for the link @abitcoinskeptic. Took more time than I typically devote to any Steem activity these days (too many other higher priority issues competing for my time and energy ...), but I have invested it this morning in a reply to the post for which you have provided me this link.

And upvoted your comment here, since that post is past payout ...

Enjoyed the exchange!

Thanks. I just noticed it and it's quite a large comment so I was saving that reply for last. Although it is expired, it is still very relevant giving the Canadian election was just called a few hours ago and our rights aren't something we can just forget about.