Blue Moon, Blood Moon, SUPER moon! Info and Pictures!

in #nature6 years ago

As most of you know this morning Wednesday, January 31st we experienced something here in America that has not happened in a long time! It was the first total lunar eclipse since 2015 and the first Blue/Blood Moon visible from the U.S. since 1866!

Here is a shot from the Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles! rsz_griffith_observatory_los_angeles.jpg
Image SOURCE

A Blue Moon is when two full moons happen in the same calendar month; lunar eclipses occur when the moon passes into Earth's shadow; and supermoons happen when the moon's perigee — its closest approach to Earth in a single orbit — coincides with a full moon. In this case, the supermoon also happens to be the day of the lunar eclipse.

According to NASA the moon was around 223,068 miles from Earth, compared to the average distance of 238,855 miles.

I always have enjoyed taking pictures of the moon, here are a couple shots have taken over the last year. I left these pictures large so you can see the details better!
IMG_0110.JPG

IMG_0139.JPG

However, this time around because it was kind of cloudy and sitting low in the sky I was only able to capture a couple of decent pictures.

Here is what I was able to capture this morning here in Central IL, under not so good conditions. Again leaving the pictures larger so more can be seen!
IMG_7147.JPG

IMG_7150.JPG

Now the moon is starting to go down behind the trees!
IMG_7155.JPG

IMG_7163.JPG

IMG_7167.JPG

IMG_7169.JPG

IMG_7170.JPG

All statistics in this post come from HERE



Here is my other post from this week in case you may have missed it, please take a look!



Sola.JPG

You can also find me on Sola, the Twitter replacement, under username simms50, https://sola.ai/simms50

Your upvote is always appreciated.

Please resteem and leave a comment below!
Shalom(Peace)
1-Small.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures from a great spot!
+1 follower and Resteemed.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

@echowhale team swimming by with your upvotes
@echowhale
@echosupport
@babyechowhale
@carterx7 and @angrydolphin will be doing the same shortly

Reviewed and upvoted

Those are really good pictures. It was cool to get to see it. thank you for sharing.

Did you have clear skies? How much of it could you see before it went below the horizon?

Yes the sky was very clear. Here is one of my pictures.

DSC00497.JPG

Nice picture!!!! Thanks for sharing it!

No problem.

Wow! So brilliant, @simms50 !

I wish I could have seen it but it was all cloudy in Germany!!!

xx
@elenahornfilm

It was supposed to be all cloudy here but it cleared out for me to get a least a couple of "decent" pictures. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

thank you for this post ! The moon is magical !

Glad you stopped by! Thanks for leaving a comment!

Nice pics!

Thanks! Were you able to see any of it?

That was this morning?! Shoot, I thought it was tonight. Whoops! Cool pictures. Trees always seem to be in the way of things happening in the sky!

Sorry you missed it! I agree about those trees, sometimes they get in the way of a good picture!

I tried to get some pictures of it here where I am but my smartphone does not take pictures like this very good, sometimes none of them are very good. LOL. It was a beautiful moon and a moment I may never see again.

Well if anything at least you were able to see it!

Thanks for sharing your photos! I love the combo of the moon/trees and eclipse! We didn't have a great way to photograph the lunar eclipse - houses in the way. Also I was getting ready to go to work! I live in Texas.

@violetmed thanks for the upvote and commenting! The camera was having a hard time adjusting for the clouds and so it would not focus really well. Side note for me is that I need to figure this out, there is enough camera settings ONE of them as to work! I was glad though that I was able to get some shots through the trees and they came out surprisingly well. I know there is going to be another lunar eclipse next year around this time, maybe I will have those camera settings ready to go by then! Question...were you at least able to catch a glimpse of the moon?

Oh yes @simms50, I could see that the moon was partially eclipsed when it was setting that morning about 6:30 a.m.

Too bad you were not able to get a shot of it but at least you got to see part of the show!

Great catch and nice write up!

Thanks @aunt-deb, I need to work on the camera settings some more. When there is no clouds and the moon is nice and bright the camera has no problem focusing....I didn't fare so well for this event! Where you are were you able to see it?

Moon pictures are difficult. Camera settings can be tricky. Combine the two and you have a challenge. You did great!

We had too much cloud cover. You could still tell it was brighter out than usual even so.

Thank you simms50 for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 3.00% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?