Nature walk in small regional park

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Went on a nature walk in a small regional park near my home. I wanted to identify some native plants and start to better understand the local environment outside of the ubiquitous landscaping in the housing developments. It was a lovely walk. Saw so much wildlife. A turkey hen and her brood of 6 chicks. Some young cottontail bunnies. Falcons. Grouse. Flycatchers. A large red tail hawk. A seasonal creek with minnows and a large partially submerged branch whose leaves were being scavenged by several crawfish. Bees working some blossoms. It was a great afternoon with my 18 year old son.
IMG_0954.JPG
Majestic Oak.

However, I failed my goal of taking up @mountainjewel on his proposal to connect with nature "Start small. Identify one plant that you walk by every day." I realized I need to commit sometime on education first. Taking pictures of plants and searching on internet is not proving effective. This plant looks very similar to dill but is proving surprisingly difficult to positively identify online.
IMG_0653.JPG
I'm going to continue on this project. More to follow.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-03T03:21:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 97.50/100.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks like a really enjoyable place for a walk. Nature is the best place to clear your mind and find the true inner peace within ourselves.

My favourite place for finding inner peace on walks is the sea shore @roverone. But I suppose that counts as nature too! 😁

I lived on the coast for the majority of my life and cannot deny their is something about the sounds sights and smells that can truly due that. I miss the ocean dearly. I am inland for now..

I've been living on the coast for a long time now and don't think I could bear to move away @roverone.

The other evening, after a really hot day, the sea mist crept up the road while we were out. I loved coming home to that sea smell. It was gorgeous. 😊

Oh how envious I am, @gillianpearce ! Once the sea touches your soul it remains their for ever. I miss the early mornings on the beach, watching the fog burn off to reveal the beauty of the day.

Indeed @roverone. I am fortunate indeed to live here. I love it!!! 😊

Yes it was a very nice, peaceful time.

I have the same problem identifying flower and plant at times! I just don't know what to tell Google to search for, lol...The flower in second picture looks like Queen Ann's Lace, but closer look, it maybe not...

I think it might be cows parsnip. It was a very tall plant with a woody stalk.

How nice to do this with your son @steven-patrick. Sounds like you had a lovely time. 😊

I'm not sure about the plant as there are a number that look similar to that one. How tall was it?

It was quite tall with a woody stalk. Yes it was a nice walk.

Ha, ha, ha. And quite tall is what @steven-patrick, one foot, three feet? 😂

I think it might be what we call cow parsley which grows about three feet tall or higher.

I agree. 3 ft at least. I have some other plants I am still working on figuring out but the "cow parsley" was one of my prettier pictures.

I am liking the info that goes along with your pictures. I like the over the top view of that first picture. Keep up the good work !

The oak trees in northern California are awesome. I'll take some other pictures that show the landscape more.