The largest and Magnificent Sun Halo in Bangkok, Thailand

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

sun halo3.jpg

Have you ever seen Sun Halo?

Yes, I have seen Sun Halo several times in Thailand in my old days. But, this was the largest Sun Halo that I have ever seen in my life. It was occurred in Bangkok yesterday. It’s really amazing and magnificent!

For most of you, Sun Halo maybe just simple thing that can occur naturally everywhere in the world.

But, for Thai people, we believe that if Sun Halo occurs, that day is a good and special day for us. We call this miracle phenomenon as “Phra Athit Song Klod”

“Phra” mean “Monk” or “Angel” – we respect the sun as an angel

“Athit” mean “Sun” (We call the sun as “Phra-Athit”)

“Song” mean “Hold” (not music! ;))

“Klod” mean “Monk’s umbrella” which is considered to be holy thing

(If you look at the photo closely, you may see that it may look like “The sun holds the umbrella”, especially 2nd pic.)

Therefore, Sun Halo or Phra Athit Song Klod is a good sign of prosperity! It’s sacred!

We were all excited about this! My friend and my sister sent me some wonderful photos of Sun Halo to share with you here! (the first photo was from my sister, the followings were from my friends)

sun halo1.jpg

sun halo.jpg

sun halo2.jpg

sun halo4.jpg

I also experienced the Sun Halo by myself! My photos may be different from others….as I’m just the one who love to take photos and not professional photographer!

(If you can notice, the orange reflection on the high buildings in the last 3 pictures were from the sunlight which were created by Sun Halo! Really amazing!)

sun halo5.jpg

sun halo6.jpg

sun halo13.jpg

sun halo14.jpg

sun halo15.jpg

sun halo11.jpg

sun halo7.jpg

sun halo8.jpg

sun halo9.jpg

Hopefully, you enjoy watching the photos of the Sun Halo or Phra Athit Song Klod from various places in Bangkok!

Sort:  

really nice thanks for sharing

You're welcome! Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm glad you like the pictures! I followed you now! ;)

Those are amazing shots of the halo. We call it a 'sun dog', and it usually means rain is on the way. Thanks for sharing them with us, and I hope they didn't all get too wet. ( :

You're welcome! Oh! It's a nice name, "sun dog"! Yes, the rain followed later that day! It's a cool and good day indeed! Luckily, I did not get wet at least! Thanks so much for sharing your experience with me! I'm glad you like those pictures! ;)

Very pretty, and glad you did not get wet. Have a nice day today, and hope it is dry, unless you need the rain ( :

Thanks a lot for your nice comment! It's a sunny day, so I stay dry now! We usually have rains in the afternoon! That'll be fine, too! Have a wonderful night! ;)

Great pictures

Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm happy you like the pictures! ;)

I never knew about this. We have standard rainbows, but not like that!! Very cool. Here is my latest rainbow pic for you!
IMG_20170619_204706.jpg

Thanks a lot for your comment and sharing this rainbow pic. with me! It's really beautiful! ;)

It's the first time I see this! Wonderful pics!resteemed

Thanks so much for your comment and resteemed! I much appreciate it! I'm glad you like the pics! ;)

You're very welcome, my friend @tangmo!
Steem on and enjoy the week-end!

Steem on and have a pleasant weekend, too! ;)

Thank you! :)

You're welcome! ;)

meep

Wow amazing my dear friend Up&Resteem

Thanks a lot for your comment and resteemed! I much appreciate it! I'm happy you like the pics.! ;)

So beautiful , gods creations

You're right, God creations! I'm glad you like the photos. Thanks a lot for your comment! ;)

I've never seen this before! Fabulous view!

Me, too! This is the largest one that I've ever seen! Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! ;)

Magnificent. I have seen Halo before but this is a really nice one. Great blessings I'm sure!

Thanks so much for your nice comment and sharing your experience with me! All the best to you, too! ;)

Excelentes fotos me encantan

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you like the photos! ;)

I have seen this a couple of times, but it was much smaller, that looks huge!

Yes, it's really huge! Thanks a lot for your comment and sharing your experience with me! ;)

Very cool! I'm in Thailand; so this is lucky for everyone here. :)

Yes, we are all lucky both in Thailand and in Steemit as well! Thanks so much for your comment! ;)

You did very well to capture Sun Halo.
Nice photo shot. Keep it up

Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm glad you like the photos! I followed you now! ;)

welcome @tangmo
I love your photos as such following you for more....keep it up as you doing great in steemit.

I'm really happy to hear that! And thanks a lot for following me! ;)

Welcome as always...
Find time also to check my blog. Have few interesting post like the family versus office post I know you will like. Thanks...

I will check your blog accordingly! ;)

thanks...and expecting your comment...

I wish you a happy day

Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! Have a happy day, too! I followed you now! ;)

Wow! I've never seen one that large before - I don't think...

I've never seen very large one like that, too! Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by!

amazing....great shot...loved it

Thanks so much! I'm glad you like it! ;)

you welcome

Fenomenal, good post

Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm glad you like my post! I followed you now! ;)

Thank you friends, if possible please vote my blog.

You're welcome! I'll check your blog accordingly! ;)

Thank's my friend

Cool pictures @tangmo !
I've actually never seen a Sun Halo before. Never knew they existed. Thank you for sharing. :)

You're welcome! Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm happy you like the pictures! Yes, this is the largest Sun Halo that I have ever seen before! ;)

Amazing phenomena!

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you like it! ;)

k. folks. refraction, in a halo.. it's the firmament right? Pretty sure that's what we're looking at is refraction on the firmament. If not that, please explain wtf it is, no theories, mine is already the best 'theory' only 100% facts that can refute my claim.

Yes, it is refraction on the firmament! Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I followed you now! ;)

Thanks for sharing. I'd never heard of these. I'll be looking now that I know.

You're welcome! Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I followed you now! ;)

Amazing view,nice shots!

Thanks so much! I'm happy you like the view! ;)

Nice to find about your culture and believes! Great pictures!

Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm glad to know that you are interested in our culture and believes and like the pictures! I followed you now! ;)

Amazing pictures !!
upvoted :)

Thanks a lot for your comment and upvoted! I'm glad you like the pictures! ;)

Nice pictures, following you now.

Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm glad you like the pictures! I followed you now! ;)
ดีใจที่เจอคนไทยใน Steemit เพิ่มขึ้นเรื่อยๆ ค่ะ ;)

Thanks for sharing - it looks amazing! :)

You're welcome! Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm happy you like it! ;)

I admire your skills, nice photography.

Thank you very much for your comment and visiting my blog! I'm glad you like the photos! I followed you now! ;)

I have seen that before. Only one time though. you captured the one over the building beautifully.

James Jackdrew

Thank you very much for your comment, sharing your experience with me and visiting my blog! I like that picture, too! I followed you now! ;)

These images are amazing dear friend @tangmo, mainly the first one is incredible, congratulations for these beautiful captures, thank you very much for sharing

You're welcome! I highly appreciate for your nice comment and resteem my post, as always! The first one is my favorite, too!

Have a nice night! ;)

Congratulations @tangmo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much for your great report on the reward! I much appreciate it! ;)

very cool, I've never seen one in person

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you like it! ;)